Pizza Pan Patriotic Platter

Oops, I did it again!  I pulled out my Pony Beads today and created a Pizza Pan Patriotic Platter.  With the Fourth of July coming up, I decided that I needed a platter to show off my goodies, like my Patriotic Strawberries, or perhaps some garnishes.

PIZZA PAN PATRIOTIC PLATTER

Just like my other Pony Bead projects, I just poured the beads onto the pizza pan and used red, white and blue beads, just perfect for the Fourth of July.  Make sure you fill up all the holes on the pan and all of the edges have a bead touching it.

PIZZA PAN PATRIOTIC PLATTER MELTING IN OVEN

Once the pizza pan is completed filled (one layer of beads only), place in a pre-heated oven at 425 degrees.  Watch the beads closely, as they will melt quickly.  Keep a fan on or open a few windows to let out the light smell from the melting beads.  (Note:  You can also melt them on your grill outside, just make sure to leave the lid open so as nothing accidentally drops into the plastic while it is melting)

PIZZA PAN PATRIOTIC PLATTER COOLING

You will start to see the beads starting to melt in the pan.  The way you can tell that your project is completely melted, is when the top is completely flat and smooth.  If you still see some bead “bumps”, then it needs to stay in the oven a little longer.  Carefully remove from the oven once the top is completely flat & smooth.  Place gently on top of stove to cool.  You might hear a slight cracking sound, but that is just the plastic cooling, so do not worry.

Once the pan is completely cooled, just turn the pizza pan upside down and the platter will pop out.  Easy, right?

PIZZA PAN PATRIOTIC PLATTER MADE BY MELTING PONY BEADS

Now all you need to do is take your Glass Candlestick that you got at the Dollar Store for $1 and hot glue it to the direct center on the bottom of the platter.  You’re done!  You have now created a Patriotic Platter that everyone will wonder where you got it….only you will know that you made it! (NOTE:  I would not suggest using any sharp knife on the platter as it will most likely scratch the plastic)

GLUE GLASS CANDLESTICK TO PLATTER

Since I had some red, white and blue Pony Beads left over, I decided to make a Patriotic Star out of a metal cookie cutter.  I just placed the metal cookie cutter in a round cake pan, filled the metal star up with Pony Beads and melted it in the oven.  Once it has cooled, just slightly pull on the sides of the metal cookie cutter to release the star and it will pop right out.  I will probably drill a small hole in the top of this star and hang in my kitchen window for a little Patriotic charm!

PONY BEAD STAR

PONY BEAD STAR MELTING

PONY BEAD STAR COOLING

PONY BEAD STAR POPPED OUT OF COOKIE CUTTER

So there you have it, a Pizza Pan Patriotic Platter and a Patriotic Star all made within a few minutes of an afternoon!  What a great craft project to share with your kids, or make one for yourself!

If you missed some of my other Pony Beads crafts, you can find them below:  

Pizza Pan Suncatcher
Pony Bead Hearts

31 thoughts on “Pizza Pan Patriotic Platter

  1. Will pony beads stick to the pizza pan, or do I need to use a non-stick pan……love this idea…
    I wish I had seen this idea a month ago as I donated 6 gallon bags of pony beads to Goodwill. I didn’t know what to do with them……sigh…..

    • No, the pony beads will not stick to the pizza pan at all, and do not spray any non-stick coating spray to the pan either. Just make sure you use a pizza pan that you will not use for pizza any longer when you make your platter, and always wash the pan well after you pop out the plastic platter. It is really a fun project to do! I bet you are going to head back up to the goodwill store to get those pony beads back!

  2. I think this is a re-8 idea and will be using this next wk. at the lake. I know the kids will love it. I also like your idea of the smaller one on top. I sure wish I had this craft last summer when we renewed our vows in a patriotic hillbilly wedding. This would have been gr-8 for the cake tray.

    • Yes you can, but if the aluminum pan has any design in the bottom of the pan, it will show up! You need to use a FLAT pan with NO marks, no knife marks, dings, etc. The plastic will pick up even the slightest flaw in the pan. The first one I did, was in a throw away aluminum pan and it showed all the bottom of the pan.

  3. Have a question would u be able to do this with like other beads ? Like some clear three prong type or some crystal looking beads?

    • To date, I have only tried melting Pony Beads. I have heard that the glittery Pony Beads though take longer to melt. If you did try out other beads, I would make sure you use a pan that you are not scared of destroying if the beads get stuck in it. I would think though that any bead which is plastic would melt.

  4. We love making crafts with Pony beads. We have done several and drilled a hole in the top, threaded with fishing line and hung outside on the trees or from the deck as sun catchers. Metal cookie cutters in any shape work and they also look great on a Christmas tree.

    • It is a really neat way to use beads! I am going to also make a smaller circle from a small cake pan and make a “second tier” to the one I already made. The possibilities are endless! Also, if you make “Cake Pops” you could also drill small holes just big enough for the cake pop sticks into the round plastic platter to hold all of your finished cake pops! What a presentation that would be!

  5. Hi there, Wally & Sammy’s mom here, that platter is just lovely!! Sorry to ask but what are Pony Beads? I’ve never heard of them but they look like a great crafting material.
    Robyn

    • Hi Mommy (aka Robyn)! Pony Beads are just little plastic beads that you can find at any craft store or purchase online that kids use to make bracelets & such. They have a little hole in the center. Double click on some of the photo’s to see closer what they look like.

    • That is awesome! Can’t wait to see what you make! It really is a fun craft to do, just remember to open a window or turn on a fan when doing this project inside too! 🙂

    • I am planning on it! We have an eBay store, but I just need to get more Pony Beads! I am glad you liked it! You should try making it, as it is really easy and only takes a few minutes to do.

  6. Very patriotic! You’re all set for the forth of July! We were in Irvington Virginia one 4th of July and I couldn’t believe the fireworks. The who town was decked out and it looked like a Norman Rockwell painting.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!