Melted Pony Bead Hearts

HEARTS

I just can’t seem to leave these pony beads alone lately!  Since I have had great luck with making my sun catchers and future wind chimes from melting pony beads, I had a thought today and wanted to see if I could melt the beads in a cake pan – – – inside a heart cookie cutter.  I know, if this experiment failed, then I would have to throw out my two heart shaped cookie cutters, but I was feeling lucky and tried it anyways.

MELTING PONY BEADS IN COOKIE CUTTERS

I placed two different sized metal heart shaped cookie cutters inside an old cake pan, then filled both hearts with different colored pony beads.  I made sure that I filled up the hearts with enough beads to fill the cookie cutter from edge to edge.  Then, being a little nervous at trying this, I placed them in the oven at 425 degrees, and watched them closely.  When the beads were completely melted and the tops were completely flat, it was time to remove them.

POPS OUT OF COOKIE CUTTER

I set them out to cool completely.  Now, came the time to see if I could actually remove them from the cookie cutters.  Man, I was nervous, but all worked out in my favor and they popped right out!  Yeah!  I will now get the drill out and drill a small hole near the top of each heart and hang them in our window for Valentine’s Day.  Now, I wish I had a huge heart shaped cake pan to make a large heart sun catcher!  A girl can dream, eh?

HEART FROM MELTED PONY BEADS

So what do you think of these heart shaped melted pony beads?  Are you going to try to make some for yourself?  If you do, I want to see them!

SIGNATURE BOX VALERIE AT NIKITALAND

15 thoughts on “Melted Pony Bead Hearts

    • You used metal cookie cutters, right? All I did was lay my metal cookie cutters on a cookie sheet, fill them with the pony beads, and melted them in the oven. They came out with no problems! I did not even have to spray the cookie cutters either.

      • I have used some small cookie cutters too, like the small heart I made in this post. I also made a really tiny heart, and used all red pony beads and made a necklace with that heart. (I love hearts) I am shocked that yours got stuck in the cutter when mine did not! Hmmmm. Did you leave them in the oven too long?

      • I probably did because the red beads that I used was harder plastic than pony bead plastic….😰😰😰😰 So cooking too long can make them stick?

    • This craft project is so fun to do! I was amazed on how easy it is to drill in the melted plastic too! Many options for this: Make a small heart and attach to a necklace, sun catchers, wind chimes, coasters, etc. The possibilities are endless. Glad you liked it! 🙂

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

