A Pizza Pan Made Me Popular

PONY BEADS SUN CATCHER7

Just when I thought that this week could not get any better than what it was, it happened.  The Editor of All Free Kids Crafts contacted me and wanted to feature my Melted Pony Beads Pizza Pan Sun Catcher on their website!  I was tickled pink that she contacted me and this news just made my day.  Thanks Jaclyn!

I never knew that a pizza pan could make me popular, but it did!  I love crafting and seeing what I can come up with next.  It’s the thrill that you get when you try something new and it works.

Here is the link to my original post:  Pizza Pan Sun Catcher
Here is the link to my featured Pizza Pan Sun Catcher on http://www.allfreekidscrafts.com

This particular pony bead craft is extremely easy to do!  Just grab your pony beads and pour them out onto a pizza pan.  Make sure that there are no holes, just add more beads.  Pop your pizza pan into the oven at 425 degrees for a few minutes (watch through the oven door to see them melt) and when all the beads are melted, and the top appears to be smooth, it’s time to remove them from the oven.  Now, just let your pizza pan cool on top of the stove.  You will hear some cracking noises, but that is just the plastic cooling.  Once cooled, just turn the pizza pan upside down and the round disk will pop right out!  Then, if you are going to hang this up as a sun catcher, just drill a small hole at the top for a string.  Also, I made a cupcake stand too, just by purchasing a $1 glass candlestick holder from the Dollar Store and gluing it to the bottom of the plastic pizza pan sun catcher!

PONY BEADS SUN CATCHER8

So, head on over to All Free Kids Crafts today to see what you are missing!  They have tons of wonderful neat crafts for kids!  www.allfreekidscrafts.com

I just never knew that a pizza pan could make me popular!

34 thoughts on “A Pizza Pan Made Me Popular

  1. So how many packages of pony beads for the pizza pan cupcake stand? It is so cool, want to do it in pinks for my daughter-in-law’s baby shower!!!

    • I do not know how many pony beads you need as I had a huge bag of multi-colored ones that I just sorted all the colors out into sandwich bags. Just fill up a pizza pan by dumping the colors you want into the pan, mix them around so not all the colors are together, and make sure that there are no holes. The cupcake stand you are going to make sounds nice, love the color ideas!

      • Thanks for the info, sounds like it needs a lot. Heading to Hobby Lobby this weekend for the pinks, wish me luck!!!!

      • Wishing you luck! Just watch them closely when they are melting. If doing them indoors, make sure you open windows and get adequate air flow, or you can do them on the grill. You will know when they are all melted when the top has no bead bumps. The top goes completely flat. Also, if you want your cupcake platter to be a little see-thru, get the clearer beads, if not, the solid colored beads will work. All you will need after that is your $1 glass candle holder from the Dollar Store and some hot glue! I hope it all works out for you!

      • Doing this for cupcakes, doing about 50 of them, Great idea on adding clear too, I think I will mix it up!!!!

      • Hi Colleen! After you make your first melted pony bead item, you will be making MORE! It is an addicting craft for sure! Also, if you have seen my other posts, you can also use your metal cookie cutters and place pony beads in them to make Christmas ornaments or window suncatchers, and all you do is drill a small hole in the top for a piece of ribbon. Cool craft indeed, and the possibilities are endless!

    • Aw, thank you Thoughtsie! Never knew that a blogging about a pizza pa would get me so much attention! LOL for example, just yesterday alone, I got 1,684 view on my blog. Pinch me, I think I am dreaming! How are you doing?

      • I think I might burn my doggie paws as my mom has yet to invest in doggie sized hot pads and aprons. But I will share it with her and if she ends up making one I will know who to thank! 🙂

      • Ooooh, we don’t want your doggie paws to get burned! Maybe you can make one that has a doggie paw in it! Check out my other crafts for pony beads, as you can see the other things I made. I also placed metal heart cookie cutters on a cookie sheet and made melted hearts! I have the melted hearts hanging in the kitchen window!

      • Do you have pony beads at home? If so, use a metal cookie cutter and place it on a cookie sheet, lay the pony beads inside the cookie cutter and make sure you fill in all the spaces. Then you bake it in the oven. Let them cool inside the cookie cutter. Once cool, you just wiggle the cookie cutter a little and the heart will pop right out. Someone will have to drill a small hole near the top of the heart to hang it! If you have any questions, let me know!

      • I love this idea! I think my mom was doing some beading and crafts when she was recovering from knee surgery so I’ll have to ask her if we have any pony beads. Thanks for the tips! Best mother’s day ever. 🙂

    • Hey Nessy! I have made a bunch of these already. I leave a few of them in my window so the sun shines through them. They are so beautiful! And, I made one into a cupcake stand too and it looks so adorable on the table with the treats on it.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

