What’s In Your Halloween Treat Bag?

With Halloween quickly approaching, we are all scrambling around trying to find the money to purchase the gobs of candy we hand out to our trick-or-treaters, because money does not grow on trees ya know.  We know that purchasing enough candy for the two hours of fright night is hard to judge, and the last thing you want is angry kids who are told that you ran out of candy.  YIKES!  (if that happens, get ready to get your house egged!)

Yes, it happens.  You mis-calculate the amount of treat bags every year, and I created a little something to help you with your candy consumption.

candy-counterOk, now that you have your candy under control and know exactly the right amount to purchase, you still might be missing something in your treat bags.  What is it you ask?  Now that is a good question, thanks for asking! For me, I look at Halloween Treat Bags as a golden opportunity.  They are a golden opportunity to spread the word about YOUR BLOG!  And who doesn’t want more traffic and more followers to your blog?  We all love it when we get a new subscriber/follower, and we love it when our views skyrocket, and treating your Halloween Candy Bags as gold is another great way to spread the word about your blog!

HALLOWEEN CANDY BAGS

I create every year, a new blog card to insert in our Halloween Treat Bags. We get about 200 kids in our neighborhood and I can’t pass up this opportunity to hand out 200 blog cards.  This year, I decided not to use the typical treat bags, and rather used the small “Snack Bags” to fill up with candy.  They worked out perfectly!  And, you all know that the parents always check their kids candy when they come home and what will they find in your treat bag?  Your blog card!  Of course, curiosity will get the best of them and you better believe that they will hop on their computer and type in your blog’s address, and if they like what they see, you have just gained a new follower!  Now, isn’t that easy?

If you need some assistance in creating a quick blog card that you can printout at home, let me know and I can help you out!  You don’t want to miss out on this golden opportunity to spread the word about your blog, and this is just another way to do it!  Personally, I carry around my blog cards wherever I go and pass them out, to…everyone!

So there you have it, I have successfully helped you figure out how much candy you will need for your Halloween treat bags and have given you a golden opportunity to make your blog stats soar!  We always have room for another friend, right?

Also, on a side note, I have seen all over the place and on Pinterest where people are designing little match box covers.  Of course I thought these were adorable and are for the little square match boxes with the little wood stick matches.  I had to try to make some for Halloween.  The little Match Boxes are 2″ x 1 1/2″, and yes it is a small area to design something on, but I was up to the challenge.

HALLOWEEN MATCHES

I just used my Microsoft Publisher software and opened a blank page.  Then I created a box the size of the match box, and added some clipart and my blog’s web address.  Once I liked what I created, I just copied the image a bunch of times to fill an 8 1/2″ x 11″ full sheet sticker paper, printed it out, cutout the design and then stuck them on the match boxes.  (NOTE:  I am going to pass these out to the parents on Halloween night and these match boxes will not be placed in the kids treat bags as kids should not play with matches)  This is just another way of getting the word out about your blog, and everyone needs matches to light candles in their homes, right?  What better way to “keep” your blog in their sight!

20 thoughts on “What’s In Your Halloween Treat Bag?

  1. Great idea. We don’t get as many kids around here as we used to. The weather is supposed to be bad. I bet there will be a lot of candy left. Last year it rained and I bet I got under 20 kids. Years ago I usually got 80-100.

    • I know, it is hard to judge on candy some years. Like last year, we had hurricane rain/storm blow through here and they actually postponed Halloween for a few days for the kids, but it was still frigid temps for them.

  2. 90 – 100 kids per hour!!! GOOOOOOOOD GRIEF!!! You must be exhausted by the end of the evening.

    We love your little treat bags & blog cards, very clever! We are getting super excited for you and the big night!!
    Wally & Sammy (and mom)

    • Oh yes, we get about 200 kids in 2 hours around here. Since we have such a fun front yard home haunt with fog & music going on, the kids always end up here! The only part that stinks after the two hours of trick-or-treating, is having to bring all the expensive props back into the house in the dark of night. Then it takes a good day or two to put everything away. Even with all the work, we do have fun and we heard that our weather might just cooperate for us this year and be somewhat warm. Yeah!

  3. This is such a great idea! (Or should I say, such a great Halloween ‘trick’!) I love the candy chart, too… this is the first year we’ve lived in a real house, and I had Zero idea how much candy to buy. Of course, I’ll need to throw in another 25% for the inventory I’ll end up eating before Thurs… 🙂

    • I saw a similar candy counter chart years ago and thought that I should pass this along, so I created my own version of it. We were unsure as to how much candy to purchase too, and this counter helped. I like how we used those little “snack” plastic bags by Ziploc this year instead of the normal paper treat bags. I always like advising everyone on different ways to “market” their blog and get the word out about it, and using your Halloween treat bags is a great way to do so. We pass out 200 treat bags every year, so that means that 200 households will have my little blog card in their hands! Nice! I hear ya on eating the inventory before it gets out the front door….that’s my problem with the tootsie rolls!

  4. Guess what? We do the same! Every year my mom makes a small card or a gift tag and we pack a lot of small bags (we use this small party bags). My mom is a “doo-gooder”, so she always puts a small toy or pencil set or something in the bag instead of only candy and treats :o)

    • Hey Ruby, if you wanted me to create something for you, let me know! You don’t need a logo to have a blog card! My traffic always spikes right after Halloween and it’s from the cards in the candy bags!

  5. You’re going to have a ball. We’re in a gated community downtown, unfortunately, no there are no trickers or treaters to be had. Cute ideas to make if fun for the parents as well as the kids too. I’m decorating at home a teeny tiny bit just for fun.

    • Never in a million years would I ever put the words together to describe you as “I’M DECORATING A TEENY TINY BIT”. Nothing that you do is teeny tiny, as your decorations are fantastic beyond belief! Oh, I forgot that you were “gated”, oh well, more candy for you two!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!