Did You Survive The Fourth?

Now that the Fourth of July is a day behind us, did you survive?  If you have not already blown off any pendages or limbs and are currently in the hospital recovering, then you did great!  You are one step ahead of those who might be missing a favorite finger and now have to do all of their typing with the two-finger approach. 

We had a great day with an abundance of food to dine on, but the humidity was quite unbearable, but we dealt with it as we filled up our wine glasses (again). LOL   Daddy did an awesome job as usual tending to the grill (the grill master), while Mommy decorated our dining area & yard with lots of patriotic pride.  Mommy also made for dessert her delicious chocolate dipped patriotic strawberries for everyone and they did not last long around here!   As you can see from the photographs below, she also made some white chocolate stars too!  Yummy!

After our cookout the weather started to turn ugly (again) as this has been the third day in a row for severe storms.  Mommy has been trying so hard to get a photograph of a lighting bolt in the sky, and finally got one picture last night of a small bolt streaking through the sky!  Yeah for Mommy!   I sat with Daddy and Mommy on the front porch last night watching the neighbors light off fireworks, and I did pretty good until the big booms started, then I got really anxious.  Mommy put me back into the house so I could feel a little more at ease, but I could still hear them.  I could not wait until we headed off to bed, so I could snuggle between them for comfort, and we did just that and I felt better instantly.

CLICK IMAGE TO ENLARGE TO SEE LIGHTNING

Daddy and Mommy left me indoors yesterday during their cookout, and I am glad that they did because I could have had a heat stroke.  They are very responsible parents and are always looking out for me.  I do well in the house being left alone, as I listened to the radio and caught some of my favorite tunes which kept me company, while I was nibbling on my ice cubes.  No one lit off any fireworks at our house, so we can still count to ten on our fingers, and our dry lawn did not go up in a blaze.  Phew! 

Hope all of you had a great Fourth! 

SIDE NOTE:  Mommy’s brother-n-law is currently in the burn unit recovering from third degree burns from a freak accident where a gas can blew up and burned both his legs and feet.  He is having skin graft surgery today, so please add him to your thoughts & prayers today and for a speedy recovery. 

4 thoughts on “Did You Survive The Fourth?

    • Hi Megan! Yeah, that was really neat to see the President drive past us last night, eh? I will be tweaking my photographs from last night for a blog post today, so keep an eye out for your photograph on it! Tell your friends to come visit us too! Next time you are in the area for a baseball game, stop by to meet Nikita in person too! Have a great day! Valerie

  1. We are so sorry to hear about your Mommy’s brother-in-law, Nikita. Our thoughts and prayers are especially with all of you today!
    About ten minutes after our fireworks last night, we had OUR lightning and thunder storm! As for me, I gathered both of the bathroom carpets in a ball and hid in them the whole night during the man-made boom booms and the mother nature BOOM BOOMS. We were in a severe thunderstorm warning until 2:15 AM!
    My Mommy made her USA Jell-o mold for the 4th of July. She used strawberry Jell-o, berry blue Jell-o, and lemon Jell-o mixed with vanilla ice cream. I did not get to eat any, but they said that it was refreshing after such a HOT day! I did get to go swimming with everyone in the afternoon in our pool! That is, until our neighbor yelled, “Fire in the hole!” and BOOM!! Then, I got scared! Daddy, Mommy, and Christopher said that I was safe! They were upset with our neighbor!! He had the “BAD” fireworks! I also got to eat my grilled cheeseburger that my Daddy made for me at our cookout!
    All in all, we had a GREAT and SAFE 4th of July!! Today, I am napping and taking it easy; I did not get much sleep last night with all the storms! We are having leftovers for supper today. I can’t wait! I get to eat another cheeseburger!!
    Because of the Holiday, Mommy keeps thinking that today is Monday. She is so glad that she has a couple of extra days now before Monday comes! LOL
    Lots of Love and Puppy Dog Kisses, Harmony XO

    • Hi Harmony & Mommy! Thanks for the prayers, he will need them and has been in surgery since 12:30pm today, so I pray that everything is going well. I don’t get to eat any more hamburgers after that last incident I had with me eating the raw hamburger! Don’t want to do that again! Be safe with those storms of yours and stay indoors. My Daddy is off too and will head back to work on Monday, and he’s enjoying the time off. (he deserves it) Glad all is well on your end of the world! Woof Woof, Nikita XO

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

