How to Make A Clay Bunny Bowl

HOW TO MAKE A CLAY BUNNY BOWL

Some times I don’t have enough time to read all of my emails, and you know what I mean. You get busy. But, I am glad that I happened to open one email from Do It And How blog, who wrote about how another blogger made some adorable bunny bowls. Once I saw this post, I had to learn how to make one, and I was glad that I had all the supplies too!

If you head on over to Alice and Lois, you can see their tutorial on how they created a bunny bowl.  But I wanted to show you how I made my very own! I was just glad that I read this particular email post today!

I got out all of my supplies after reading their tutorial, and was glad that I had everything that I needed. Sculpey clay was used in creating my Bunny Bowl.

GATHER YOUR SUPPLIES

Gather your supplies of Sculpey clay in white and hot pink (for the nose). I also cut out a little template of an ear to trace on the clay for the ears.

CUT OUT A CHUNK OF SCULPEY CLAY

When you work with Sculpey Clay, it is somewhat solid, so you need to work it in your hands to soften it a bit to get it ready.

ROLL IT INTO A BALL

Once the clay is soft and in a nice ball, it is time to work with it.

ROLL YOUR CLAY NICE AND FLAT

Use a rolling pin and roll your clay out nice and flat.

USE SOMETHING TO CUT OUT A CIRCLE

If you have a circle cookie cutter you can use it to cutout your bunny, if not, just use something round like I did, by using this little metal bowl.

CUT OUT TWO EARS AND A NOSE

I used my little ear template to cutout two ears from the clay, and then I attached the ears to the bunny by smoothing the clay over the seams, then I added a pink little bunny nose that I cut out of the pink Sculpey Clay.

CAREFULLY PRESS BUNNY INTO SMALL BOWL

Now, carefully pick up your bunny and press it into a small oven safe bowl and press it into the bowl. The ears will want to flop over at this point since the clay is soft.

PLACE IN OVEN

Place in a 275 degree oven for about 15 minutes, but watch it carefully. I placed another pan behind the ears so it held them up a bit while it baked. I thought that the ears would look adorable if I flopped them over a bit too.

COMPLETED BUNNY BOWL

If you notice the tip of my bunny ears, you can see that they started to get a little burnt, but I can just lightly sand that off. I took the bunny bowl out of the oven and let it cool completely before I attempted to remove it from the little bowl. Sculpey Clay is not food safe, so please do not place any food on it!  But this is how you can make your own bunny bowl to hold perhaps your rings on your dresser! I will be adding a clear coating to the bowl too, so it will protect the clay from getting dirty.

So, what do you think? Do you have any Sculpey Clay to make your own Bunny Bowl? Just think of all the crafts projects you are missing too by not reading your emails! I am sure glad that I read mine today!  A great big thanks to Alice and Lois for showing me how to make this awesome Easter craft!

35 thoughts on “How to Make A Clay Bunny Bowl

    • Glad you liked it! I also had a thought to make an “Egg Holder” too! Just pull out of those plastic eggs and mold the clay around the egg and add some feet & ears to it, then bake it!

    • Working with Sculpey Clay is so easy! If I had an over-abundance of it, I probably could sit here all day and make things! I hope you try making a bunny bowl!

  1. How sweet! Now that you have the process down, you can take this idea and run with it… chicks, dogs, cats… The sky is the limit.
    PS – I love the header photo. It reminds me of Mystery Science Theater 3000 with the little silhouettes in the corner and the conversation bubbles above their heads.

    • I agree Jackie! My mind is already spinning with ideas! I might make some “egg holders” for our Easter eggs now! I do love my new header and I change the bubble sayings a lot!

  2. I love this so much, you did a great job! I keep meaning to have a go at things with clay, but I have never worked with it before. You made it look really easy!
    Hugs, Carrie (Myfie, Ellie and Millie) x

    • I made some Christmas ornaments around the holidays with this same Sculpey Clay and pressed a stamp into them and they turned out so beautiful! This clay is really easy to work with and the end results are really smooth too!

  3. Hi ya Cupcake & Mommy! I know, aren’t the ear so cute! I was going to leave them up, but I decided to bend them when they were in the oven & had to do it quick before the clay set. Glad I did that! Now, I want to make more of them!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!