Cookie Recipes from Festive Bloggers

I held a Cookie Exchange Recipe Swap a few weeks ago, and had very few bloggers join in.  I was surprised, as I know that everyone has at least one favorite cookie recipe that they cherish and make every holiday.

Well, for those few who did turn in their recipes to me – THANK YOU for taking the time out of your day and sharing your special recipe! I hope all of you will add their recipes to your pile and give them a whirl in the kitchen!  Get your bowls & mixers out, girls!

Here are the recipes that I received and the festive bloggers who sent them in!

EASYWEIMARANER COOKIE FRAMEVANILLA SNOWBALLS

Ingredients:
8.8 oz. Butter
3.5 oz. Icing Sugar
4.2 oz. Flour
8.8 oz. Cornstarch
The marrow of 3 vanilla beans (or vanilla flavor)

 

Directions:
Stir the butter and the icing sugar until it is foamy. Add the vanilla, the flour and the cornstarch and prepare a dough. Make 3 rolls and put it in the fridge for 30 minutes.  Pre-heat the oven on 350 degrees, then cut the rolls in slices, make small balls and place it on the baking sheet on parchment paper.  They need 12-15 minutes in the oven (until they have a golden up to light brown color) Let them cool down a few minutes, (if not, they will break and you will only have snow crumbs) If you want, you can power them with some icing sugar, so they look more like snow.

2BROWNDAWGS COOKIE FRAME

MRS. GRANT’S THIMBLE COOKIES

Ingredients:
Stir together:

2 Cups Flour
1 tsp. Baking Powder
Salt to taste

 

Cream together:
1 Cup Brown Sugar
1 Cup Shortning
2 Beaten Eggs
Mix together, and then add 1 tablespoon vanilla

Mrs Grant's Timble CookiesChill.  Then break pieces off, the size of walnuts. Press hole in center with finger and fill with jam. Put on greased baking sheet. Bake for 350 degrees until lightly browned, approximately 10 minutes. Makes 3 dozen. HINT: Let cool on cookie sheet before removing.

BOOMDEEADDA COOKIE FRAME

GLOSSETTE COOKIES
Ingredients:

1 Cup Butter
3/4 Cup White Sugar
3/4 Cup Packed Light Brown Sugar
2 Eggs
1 tsp. Vanilla
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1/4  tsp. Salt
2  1/4 Cups Flour
2 Cups Glossette Raisins or Peanuts

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees, line cookie sheet with parchment paper. Cream butter with sugars, eggs, vanilla. Beat in baking soda and salt. Stir in flour for stiff dough. Blend in your choice of Glossettes. Place balls 2 inches apart and bake for 9-11 minutes until just barely golden. Cool on sheet for 5 minutes and remove to wire rack. Makes approximately 5 dozen.

RED VELVET CAKE

RED VELVET CAKE
Ingredients:
2 1/2 Cups Self Rising Flour
1 Cup Buttermilk
1 1/2 Cups Vegetable Oil
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/4 Cup (two 1 ounce bottles) Red Food Coloring
1 1/2 Cups Sugar
1 Tablespoon Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1 tsp. White Vinegar
2 Large Eggs

Directions For Cake:
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together all ingredients with an electric mixer. Spray three 9-inch round cake pans with non-stick coating. Pour batter equally into the three pans and bake for 20 minutes. Test for doneness with a toothpick. Cool layers in pans on wire rack for 10 minutes. Carefully remove layers from pans to wire rack to cool completely.

Homemade Frosting
Ingredients:
1 Cup Milk
6 Tablespoons Flour
Cook in a shallow frying pan and whisk until thick. Remove to bowl, cover with saran wrap and refrigerate until cold.

Frosting Directions:
Cream 1/2 cup margarine and 1/2 cup Crisco together with mixer. Add 1 cup sugar and beat until fluffy. Add 2 teaspoons vanilla. Add cold mixture and beat again until fluffy. Chill frosting.  (NOTE: I usually double the frosting recipe above to ensure I have enough frosting to cover all three layers of the cake)  **This frosting recipe is the best homemade frosting I have ever tasted!**

DSC_0195Also, to make this cake extra special when I am frosting it, I add chopped walnuts around the top edges of each layer of the cake, and on the top of the cake too!  So with each slice, you can see the finely chopped walnuts and all the goodness!

I hope everyone enjoys the recipes that were submitted, and of course, my favorite Red Velvet Cake too.  If anyone would still like to submit a recipe, I will be more than happy to include it in this post for you!  If for some reason you have any questions about any of the recipes above, please contact the festive blogger directly, as I have included their blog address for you!  Thanks again and enjoy!

19 thoughts on “Cookie Recipes from Festive Bloggers

    • I will be doing it again next year, so you can join in then! That Red Velvet cake recipe is one of my favorites for the holidays! All from scratch & the frosting is so good! Welcome new follower! 🙂

  1. Pingback: This ‘N That Thursday | 2 Brown Dawgs Blog

    • That’s ok, it is hard to get everyone’s involvement some times, but I am glad that I got a few recipes to share with everyone! I held off on posting it just in case any new recipes came in! 🙂

    • Hey Linda! I wish I would have had more of a turnout for the cookie recipes though! I was designing a PDF so everyone could print out, but since I only got a few recipes, I just typed them into the post. Maybe next year! Good luck on the clay ornaments! Are you using the Sculpey Clay? If so, make sure you use ONLY acrylic paint on them, because no other paint will work. (IE: I tried watercolor paints on mine and it did not work) I hope you show me a photo of what you made when you are done, I can’t wait to see them! I had a blast making mine!

  2. Oh, cute tag your made Val. I wish I had a picture that I could have sent…oh well maybe next year I won’t be a fatty and return to baking…LOL. Story of my life. OH and thank you so much for the link-a-roe too. xoK

    • Sure thing on the link-a-roo! Had to give you a shout out for your recipe! XO If you want a good disciplined way to get trim, try the Adkins Diet. I tried it a few years ago, just to see if it worked, and it did! All you do basically, is give up carbs! Yes I know this is most of what we normally eat, but by giving up the carbs, you recondition your body. This diet is more mind over matter, and once you make it past the first week of telling yourself “I WANT CARBS”, it is easier. You don’t eat any carbs (ie: pasta, bread, rice, eggs, basically anything white is how I looked at it), and you drink water. Once you make it past the first week, you got it licked and the other three weeks are easier. You actually find yourself eating healthier which makes it a good thing! Try it!

      • As a vegetarian, Atkins would totally not work for me but I know others that have had great success on it. We actually attended a fondue at someones house where they served all meat because the guy was on Atkins…yeah, I ate three dinner rolls…LOL. They didn’t even have rice, just meat. I was so bombed from the wine because my tummy was empty. That’s it, ‘a WINE diet !!!” LOL.

    • I need to make those this year. I keep forgetting to make them, and I now have a gingerbread man cookie cutter! Yum is right! Believe me, we get our fair share of cookies over here too!

    • That is why they are called holiday goodies! Oh boy, if I ate these every day, it would be a problem. All the recipes sound good to me! 🙂 PS: It’s still snowing here and it was 24 degrees this morning too.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!