Do You Want Fries With That?

Dining out fast food style, we always hear the phrase “do you want fries with that?” It got me thinking. Do I want fries? Yeah, that sounds good. Sure, gimme some. I was just up-sold to something that I did not know I wanted at the time.

FRENCH FRIES

But this is not about french fries. It is about up-selling your life. Changing your routine. Doing more, and not just the minimum. Getting more out of each day. Enjoying life to the fullest.

OUR HEALTH: Taking care of ourselves is important, but do we do enough? As we age, believe me, things change, things sag. Things appear that were not there before. We need to do something, and we need to do more than just the minimum. We need to take part in a healthy ritual, like drinking more water to hydrate our bodies, moisturizing our skin to keep it soft, and be aware of how our body is changing as we age. If you have been dying to try that new facial anti-aging cream, then go out and do something for yourself and get it! Want a new haircut? Then go get it! Get off your butt and “do something” because no one else is going to do it for you! If this is the year you want to exercise more, then “do it!” If you want to change your diet, then “do it!” If you want to quit smoking, then “do it!” The point I am trying to make is that it is all up to you and you alone to make these changes and make your health better.

OUR WORK:  Do you do just the minimum at work, just to get through the day? Do you push off your work onto others? Do you clock watch the entire day, just to head out the door exactly at five? If this sounds like you, then you have options. If your work situation is so bad that you dread heading into work every day, then “do something” and change jobs. If you want to change your profession, then “do it”. Nothing is holding you back, but you! You are the one who decides your destiny. It’s a new year and perhaps a good time to make that change you have been thinking about, do something for yourself this year. If you think that “the company will fall apart without you” and you can’t leave – trust me, they will find a way to get things done without you. Just make yourself happy and up-sell yourself to what you truly want to do.

OUR HOME: Our homes are where we find solitude and happiness at the end of the day. Our homes house our loved ones. Our pets. The things we cherish the most. It is just not a roof over our heads, rather it is a place where we feel safe, happy, and loved. But do you do enough for your home? Do you keep up with the maintenance? Sure, things break and you fix them, but do you just do the minimum? Do you find yourself putting off projects month after month? You need to change that! Make a list of things that need to get done, and just start “doing” them. Motivate yourself to take care of your home, the place that you cherish the most, and get that to do list done!

OUR FINANCES: Bills. We all have them. They pile up. They add up. It gets frustrating. But, they will not stop arriving in your mailbox, until we pay them off. Head of households have it tough sometimes to keep everything under control, but I applaud them highly for all they do. They keep that roof over our heads, the electric turned on so you can watch your favorite tv show at night, cook dinner every night, and well, basically keep life moving. But we can do more in the finance department. Do you find yourself purchasing things that you don’t need? You do know that these things do add up as the money depletes, right? How about trying the new envelope system you hear about all the time, where you make money envelopes and then “make deposits” to each envelope. You can make a grocery envelope, an electric envelope, even a vacation or Christmas envelope, and start adding money to each envelope to save for that item. If you don’t “do something” now, then you won’t have any money saved for when you need it. It all adds up, little by little, so don’t think that this won’t work, because it does!

For example, I heard about the $5 savings plan. What this is all about is that for every $5 bill you come across, you take it, put it in an envelope, and forget about it. I know that $5 does not seem like a lot, but if you keep saving every $5 bill you run across, can you imagine how much money you will have saved at the end of the year! You can then use that savings for something you always wanted, or that special vacation you always wanted to take, or even use it for Christmas gifts. The bottom line here is, if you don’t “do something” today about your finances, then you will be in the same place down the road. Don’t you want to up-sell your life in this department?

OUR PETS: When was the last time you did something extra for your pet? Yes, we all love our pets like they are family, because they are, but have you done enough for them? When was the last time you brushed their teeth? Gave them a good bath? Brushed them? Clipped their nails? Sanitized their toys and washed them. Cleaned their beds and favorite blankies? Bought them the more expensive food because it is healthier for them. Took them on a good walk. Played with them when you come home from work. Having a pet is a big responsibility, and if you do just the minimum in their health and wellness, who do you think will suffer? Look at your pet today and make the change and promise to them that you will do more for them. Give them your attention. Give them your love. Make sure that they have everything that they need, because it is up to all of us to “do this”.

OUR MISSION: Things in our lives need to be shaken up some times, because we all fall into our routines and get used to the norm, but ask yourself today, “can I do more?” What can I change in my life to up-sell it to enhance my world and make it better? What can I change in my health, home, work, and pets to change them for the better? There is always something that we need to change, why not make this the year to do it!

 

23 thoughts on “Do You Want Fries With That?

      • That’s the truth – can I get an AMEN! Mommy is bad about doing that. She takes care of all of us and forgets about herself. We have to be kind to us first. If we are not good – we can’t take care of others. XOXO – Bacon

      • That is soooo true! Even on an airplane, they always say to put the oxygen mask on yourself first, then take care of your kids. If you can’t breathe, then how can you help anyone else?

  1. Such an important post–and so many valuable reminders. Your ‘do it!’ mantra is sure to strike a resounding chord in a lot of folks who are sitting by and waiting for inspiration. I hope it hits its target.
    And I have to giggle about the pet teeth brushing bit, as my hound knows the precise sound of the exact drawer I have his toothbrush and toothpaste in. He makes a quick dash for the door. Some of us just don’t know what’s good for us, right? 🙂

    • Our dogs run too when they know it’s teeth brushing time, but I don’t know why they do because their toothpaste is chicken flavored!

      I know that we all need our down days, but on the days when I do everything and get things done, I feel better.

    • Hi Misaki,
      It definitely is food for thought. I have found that I am happier when I am doing something and not sitting still. It makes me feel accomplished, it makes me sleep better after a good ole day of cleaning, and really trying to do good for those around me. When I am happy, life is much better.

    • Do you have the template to printout the little money envelopes? If not, let me know and I will get it to you! It fits nicely in your wallet and then every time you get a $5, you put it away and save it. After a year of putting them away, can you imagine how much you will have saved! Lots!

      • It depends on the day and the number of fires that I have to put out 🙂 But it’s always a good reminder that a little extra effort can go a long way. 🙂

      • I know exactly what you mean, really I do. Monday thru Friday I am go go go, but I take it easy on the weekends. I deserve a rest too, ya know, but I do feel better when I am in action and getting things done.

  2. Funny you should write about this – I’ve reached a point where all those “unsavory” things are starting with my body, and two years ago I decided to stop complaining and worrying and DO something about it. I invested in myself by going to an alternative health practitioner, and within six months I was looking and feeling SO much better! I kept it up, but after a year, I began slipping here and there. Now I’m reaping the “rewards” of my multiplying slips, and it gave me a good sharp wake-up call. I’m back on track and I’ve been adding into my life all those “I’ve always wanted to” things that I never had (or made) time for, including completely redesigning my home’s interior. It’s amazing what a difference it’s making in my life and in my family’s as well. Great post!

    • That is awesome and wonderful at the same time! We all need that little extra push to some times get the ball rolling. When YOU feel better, it reflects on everyone else around you.

      If you have a negative attitude, your negativity changes and affects everyone around you. It is up to us personally to make these changes in ourselves, because no one else is going to do them for us. But when others suggest things to you, don’t tell them that they are nagging at you, rather listen to what they are saying. They can see what is happening to you when some times you can’t or when you don’t want to admit that they could be right.

      Life is too short to let health or financial issues ruin your happiness. You will always have bills & expenses, but they do not need to overcome your happiness and ruin a good thing.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

