2015 GARDENING: Did You Know You Can Grow Loofah’s In Your Backyard?

Our 2015 Burpee catalog arrived yesterday and with great exhilaration, I viewed each and every page, salivating at all the goodies we could plant. At this time of year, we are already going through gardening withdrawal and miss being outside and working the soil in the garden. The horrible reality though, is that our Winter season just began and we have to wait awhile for our gardening season to begin outside, but the planning of our 2015 garden will begin any time now. Hence, we always welcome the first sign of the new Burpee catalog.

BURPEE LOOFAH

I learned something new in that Burpee catalog we received. Learning is a good thing, because I read about the most fascinating thing ever that I never knew you could grow in your backyard. I learned that you can grow your own Loofah Sponges! What? you ask? You can grow a loofah? Yep, and we are going to attempt to do just that! Never in a million years would I have ever thought that you could grow a loofah in your backyard. You see them on the shelves in every store, but you never have asked yourself, where do they come from, why would you? You just purchase them to exfoliate your skin, or for gifts, but have you ever wondered where they came from? Nope.

BURPEE LOOFAH2

I then went on Pinterest and did a search for how to grow a loofah and boy did I find some interesting facts! I even created my own Pinterest Loofah Board too! A loofah actually is a gourd! It flowers just like a pumpkin would, it needs pollination from a male to a female flower for the fruits or loofah to grow, and it grows up a trellis. I also learned that you can make “Loofah Soap”, which actually looks like they make the soap and pour it into the loofah, then slice the loofah after the soap has hardened. You then get little loofah slices with soap for your exfoliation needs! Cool, eh?

Here is one informational link I found on How to Grow a Loofah. You will be amazed after you read this article, I know I was.

We will be ordering our first batch of Loofah Seeds from Burpee (25 seeds for $4.95) and once we get them, we will start our journey in growing our own loofah sponges, so you should stay tuned for some interesting tidbits as we embark in the unfamiliar world of loofahs!

Geez, who knew you could grow a loofah in your backyard? I didn’t! What I want to know is, are you going to join in and try growing some loofahs in your yard too? We would have some really awesome feedback from everyone then!

10 thoughts on “2015 GARDENING: Did You Know You Can Grow Loofah’s In Your Backyard?

  1. Our neighbor grew it up in the trees (they vine like crazy but aren’t as heavy as a watermelon or pumpkin). They are like summer squash / zucchini though, so beware of the squash vine borers. Drying them out isn’t hard and they are fun to talk about.

    Enjoy!

    Nancy

    • We have grown pumpkins for years over here and have never had any issues with those squash bugs, phew! Hopefully, we would not if we try growing loofahs! I agree, it would be such a cool thing to talk about! Happy New Year!

  2. Loooofah!! I thought they were a plant that grows only in warm salt water places like coral reefs. Slap me LOL!! Happy New Year to you both, and the dogs of course.

    My wife is out of town, so it’s myself and the son here for NYE. Works just fine for us, and we are always up well past midnight anyway. 🙂

    • Happy New Year to you too! We never see the ball drop welcoming in the new year, always fall asleep before then! LOL It was so fascinating to read that you can grow loofahs, I never knew!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

