Happiness Is Found In The Little Things

I started the journey of Christmas wrapping the other day. I take my time. I make presents look pretty, beautiful, to a point where some don’t want to open them to ruin the beauty, but they do in the end. (I used to wrap my one brother-n-laws presents to his wife because he knew of my wrapping talent and he wanted the gifts to look awesome – she never knew)

Anyhow, I came to the end of a roll of wrapping paper, and Nikita noticed. I think she was lurking behind the couch to watch for it, and would not put it past her. She walked over to me as if to ask “may I have that?” and of course I gave it to her because I know of her love for cardboard tubes. She drools over them, no really, she does. She has also been known to sit for a long time in front of the counter in the kitchen, just looking at the paper towel roll that’s almost empty. “Not yet” I tell her, and she walks away, but looks over her back just to make sure.

CARDBOARD1

After Nikita got her wrapping paper tube, she runs to her bed, a safe place, to guard her new toy from Bella. She watches closely where Bella is.

CARDBOARD2

She then grabs it and runs into the living room to have some fun. She definitely knows how to keep her toys balanced!

CARDBOARD3

Here she is practicing to be a baton twirler!

CARDBOARD4

Who said you can’t snuggle with your toys. Can you see Bella’s head in the photo? She is waiting for Nikita to drop her cardboard.

CARDBOARD5

Bella Boo always wants to be the life of the party, time to strike a pose!

CARDBOARD6

Hey, get the camera back on ME!

CARDBOARD7

After some time rough housing with her new toy, happiness finds time to nap. It is the little things in life that matter the most…even a cardboard tube can bring out happiness. (but, I am sure that Nikita walked back over to the counter to check on the status of the paper towel roll!)

23 thoughts on “Happiness Is Found In The Little Things

  1. I’ve been too afraid to bust out the wrapping paper yet. The cats are notorious for laying on it while I’m trying to wrap presents, and I can see Sammie wanting to get in on the action, too! Then I’ll have claw marks in what was previously perfect paper…

  2. Awww, all cute photo’s of your girls. Cat’s like cardboard and paper too, they usually want to play with the box the toys came in more than the toys. I can see your tree is shining in the background. I’ve yet to finish mine. I’d better giddy up šŸ˜€

    • Animals are silly like that! What do you mean you don’t want the toy I bought you? What? You want the box instead? I put our tree up before Thanksgiving so I can enjoy it. I changed up the ribbon on the tree this year too. I normally hang (from the top down) a nice gold ribbon, and this year I swirled an awesome pink ribbon down and around the tree. Man, it looks so beautiful!

    • Hey Laurie! Our dogs have so many toys, it’s crazy, but they only play with one toy at a time. I mean, when Nikita picks a toy out of one of her toy bins, then Bella WANTS it. And visa versa. This goes on here all day long! I always tell them that there are more toys to play with, but they would rather chase each other around for that one toy. Nikita has some slick moves though in evading Bellas grasp! LOL

  3. It’s like kids. Why buy fancy toys when they like stuff like that the best?

    I had to blow up that picture before I figured out Bella’s head was the blur in the very foreground!

    Nancy

    • LOL, yep, that was Bella running right into the camera shot on that one pic, but when I tweeked the photo to add the frame, it kinda cut her off a tad. Nikita has quite the fascination with cardboard, water bottles, milk jugs….I could go on! I love our silly dogs!

    • Hey Cupcake! I do that too! Once I play the heck out of that cardboard, I rip off pieces to chew. Mommy always snags the pieces from me though because she tells me that she does not want me to eat paper. Who was eating paper? I was nibbling on cardboard? LOL I think my Mommy would rather pick up spit-slimy pieces of cardboard, then remove doo doo from my behind!

    • I agree. The things that I treasure the most are the things that don’t cost a dime. Happy memories. Things that no one can ever take away from you, but mean the most! Other than that, a new colored marker would bring me much joy too!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

