Recycled Rudolph

I am always on the lookout for neat & cute craft ideas and I ran across this awesome cardboard reindeer on Pinterest that was posted on Good Housekeeping, so I just had to try making one for myself!

Here is the pin from Pinterest on what theirs looks like:

CARDBOARD REINDEER

Here is mine:

CARDBOARD RUDOLPH

Printout the Reindeer Template on legal-size paper. Find a nice piece of cardboard and trace the pattern onto the cardboard. Trace two pieces of the head. I used a sharp knife to cut out the pieces. One note if you are going to try making one for yourself, is to NOT cut the little slices on the deer antlers any larger than what is shown on the pattern, or your antlers will fall off when you try to slide them into place. Keep true to your cuts so your pieces fit together tightly.

CARDBOARD CUTOUT

Place the two pieces of the head together and add a dab of glue to where the nose is. Then spread the head pieces apart a little (after your glue has dried) and attach the rest of the pieces to the reindeer.

Now all that is left is to decorate Rudolph! You can make him a pom pom nose like I did to mine, or just paint it red. Add some eyes, a collar with a jingle bell on it, or even slip a small wreath around his neck! Be creative and deck your halls with this awesome reindeer!

REINDEER POM POM NOSE

How would you decorate your Recycled Rudolph?

14 thoughts on “Recycled Rudolph

    • The Rudolph was not too big either, so it made it perfect to hang on the wall for a cute decoration. But just like I mentioned in my post, do not slice any of the antler slits any larger or they will not fit snugly! Happy New Year!

  1. That’s why it’s called a learning curve!

    I’m doing good. The job search is off to a great start and those left behind are scratching their heads trying to figure out how they’re going to get it all done. In the meantime, I had a great Thanksgiving and didn’t miss having to hurry back to get year end ready. I’m still confused about it, but my staff is doing well with their job searches also, which helps me feel better mentally.

    I’m still not decorating much for Christmas – we decided to go to Gatlinburg next week and take pictures of the Smoky Mountains. I decided I’d rather do that and forego decorations another year.

    Thanks for asking!

    Nancy

    • Glad to hear that you are doing well. It is amazing on how some work places seem to think that they can operate without you, until you are not there. Take some time for yourself – do something that you’ve always wanted to do. Pamper yourself too! I can’t wait to see your pics from the Smoky Mountains! Travel safely! Hugs!

  2. That’s brilliant! I love how the little slots go together to assemble it. That reminds me of paper dolls when I was a kid. There was always a little stand for them – place tab A into slot A and tab B into Slot B and bang – your paper dolls could stand up!

    Whenever I made reinder projects with my class, (trace your shoe for the head and your hands for the antlers), mine always ended up with a candy cane hanging from his antler.

    • Aw, thanks Nancy! I actually made two, because I sliced some of those little slits a tad larger than the template, and the antlers fell off! Now I know why it is important to follow directions!

      How have you been?

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

