Our First Snowfall of the Season

We knew it was going to happen, sooner or later, but we got our first snowfall of the Season yesterday.  We had mixed feelings of whether we were glad to see the beautiful fluffy snowflakes falling so daintily covering everything in a white powder. I think we are just not quite ready to head on into Winter, but we can do nothing about that. It’s going to come whether we want it to or not.

FIRST SNOWFALL 11-13-14

The photo above was just the start of the snow, as you can see the ground was not yet covered, but we ended up getting about 4 inches by morning. (I love how the snowflakes look in the photo with the flash on my camera!) Nikita and Bella of course, loved the arrival of the snow and immediately did zoomies in the yard!

Last weekend, we got the Christmas lights on the house and the decorations out in the yard, as this was our last chance with a semi warm day to do so before the cold temps hit us. Boy are we glad that we did, because it is just way too cold out now to decorate. I have also been under the weather for a few weeks now with a nasty chest congestion, and I did my best at helping get the decorations outside. (these chest congestions hang on forever which stinks!)

11-13-14 FIRST SNOWFALL OF SEASON

Here’s a photo of our Christmas decorations in the snow last night! Boy are we glad we got them all up! It has been snowing here since yesterday and it has not stopped. Nothing makes outside Christmas decorations look so beautiful when they are covered up with white fluffy snowflakes.

How much snow did you get in your area?

23 thoughts on “Our First Snowfall of the Season

  1. Aww it looks beautiful! How organised of you, though to get them all up before this snow hit… even with a nasty infection. I do hope you feel better soon!
    Last winter was pretty rubbish for snow here, we only got a few flurries… In fact, Millie hasn’t seen proper, full on snow yet so we have our paws crossed that this winter provides the goods!!
    Hugs, Carrie & Pups x

    • Oh boy, last year we got lots of snow over here! The Farmers Almanac said that we are in for yet another doozie Winter with lots of snow & low temps. I can deal with the snow, but the cold temps I can’t deal with. Even the dogs last year had some issues with their paws getting cold. Thanks for the well wishes! We are so happy that we decorated on the last weekend of semi-warm weather because this weekend we are now covered in snow! Planning is a good thing!

  2. It does look beautiful, but I also know how cold it is. No snow here in San Jose. We rarely get below 40. We are hoping for rain though as year three of our drought trudges on. Enjoy the beauty if you can.

    • Do you ever get snow in San Jose? I don’t know if I could live where there is no snow, but then again, I would enjoy all of your nice weather! I could garden all year round with YOU!

      • I think we’ve had snow twice in 50 years. It is extremely rare that it would get that cold and stormy. We’re considered a semi-arid climate.

        I spent my first few years in Ontario, Canada so I remember the cold, winter days. I also missed it when we first moved here, but it has been so long now that I’ve adapted.

      • I could probably adapt to the nicer weather too, but celebrating the first Christmas away from snow would be tough. I would get over it though!

  3. Your Christmas decorations are so beautiful – and with the snow it’s like a perfect picture postcard! (I know the reality of living with snow can be tough, though!) Hang in there. I hope you feel better soon. xoxoxox

    • Aw, thank you! I hope to feel better soon too! Chest congestions are so hard to get rid of, but I’ve got things to do! I love the wreaths on our windows too! We got those a few years ago and it adds so much Christmas spirit! I still can’t believe it has snowed here all day. I am not ready for this!

    • I agree with you Will. It just feels like the seasons are coming faster and faster around here. I am actually surprised that it did not snow on us for Halloween, although it did rain on us. I am glad you like our Christmas decorations! I think winter is here to stay for a long time, ug. Not sure yet if I am ready.

    • Hi NukNuk! Nikita and Bella are loving all of this snow! They go nutso doing zoomies in the yard and running through the snow piles! Thanks for stopping by & we hope you subscribe too!

    • Hi Easy! The lights do look so beautiful when you arrive home at night! We enjoy looking at them so much! Now, the lights look even more beautiful with all the snow around them! I feel bad for our Rudolph though as he is covered all up in snow!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

