Danger In The Garden

WHEN TO CALL IN A PROFESSIONAL TO HANDLE BEES

Fear. Pure fear is what I would call it. I ran across a scary problem last week in our flower bed while I was weeding. I swatted at a bee that did a fly-by past my head, then noticed that we had a problem. A BIG problem.

Within a few inches of where I was kneeling, I ran across a bees nest in the ground, and to me, that was a huge problem. When you run across something like this you basically freak out (like I did) because you just don’t know how “big” the bees nest is, since it is underground. We found out that it was yellow jackets who built a nest under a rock in our flower bed.

I ran and got the bee spray and sprayed the opening and surrounding area by the nest, but that only seemed to piss them off – a lot! (I found out from our exterminator that it would have taken about 7 cans of bee spray to kill a nest) We needed help, so we called a professional in to do the job. We got our exterminator to come out to take care of this nest because we did not want to handle this ourselves, nor did we want to get stung. A yellow jacket will continually sting you if it attacks, and it does not die afterwards like a regular bee, so having a pro handle this for us, was a no brainer decision.

READY TO HATCH

The photo above is gross, scary, and I am glad this nest is now dead. All of the “empty” cells are the bees that have already hatched. The darker cells are the bees that were about to hatch, and the white ones are all the other bees in the nest. The exterminator said that this nest was a deep one, so we have no idea as to how many yellow jackets were actually in there. All we know, is that we are glad that it is a dead nest and that no one got stung.

Our exterminator showed up, suited up in his bee suit, and went to work.  I was so concerned about him when I saw all the bees swarming out, but he was calm and cool while he went about his work. Glad it was him and not me doing this, since I don’t have a bee suit just hanging around here! He told me that “I was lucky” that I did not get stung after I told him how close I was to the opening of the nest that day. I got goose bumps after hearing this.

Anyhow, the nest that I found under the rock is now dead. At the time when the exterminator was here and sprayed the nest with something called “Demon” (which I thought was a perfect word), we watched tons of bees swarming over the nest. I asked him what was going on and he said that those were the bees that were not in nest when he sprayed and they were returning to the nest. I was shocked to see how many there were that returned to the nest, and that got me even more scared because of the number of bees. He said that they will eventually “move on” to somewhere else, but will not rebuild that certain nest because it was dead.

Well, that is what happened here on Friday, and now, on Monday, I found another nest! Geez! This second nest needs to go too, so the exterminator is heading back out here. The second underground bees nest that I found is in our strawberry patch!  Not a good place, because I am in our garden tons of time during the day. With the amount of bees that I have noticed flying into the ground in between our strawberries, I know we have a problem…again. I am glad that I did not get stung with this nest either, because I water our garden & strawberry patch twice a day. Bees do not like water, and they could have attacked me. Phew, I am lucky.

10 thoughts on “Danger In The Garden

    • I swell up badly if I am stung, so I stay clear of the bees. I am glad that I found both of these nests in the yard and that no one got stung. The dogs could have died if they were attacked and I do not want anything to hurt them at all! This is our first time seeing a ground nest too, and then we found a second one. Yikes! A ground nest has to be the worst because you don’t know how BIG it is. We are just glad that the exterminator took care of these for us. Thanks for the link of information!

  1. That hive is ridiculous! OMG! You are SO lucky you didn’t get stung AND that you found both nests. Yikes. Do you need to dig the nest out of the ground? Or can it just stay there now that it’s dead?

    • Both nests are now dead. The second one was taken care of today. When I went out to look at the first nest today, it was G-O-N-E! I was like “what happened to the nest”? I asked the exterminator and he said that raccoons probably ate it. Amazing what happens outside in nature, eh? I am glad that none of us, including the dogs, got stung with all these bees! I was going to dig up the nest, but don’t have to now!

    • Hey John! I am glad too that I got out of there without being stung. The exterminator said that they take our “swatting” as a form of aggression and they react. That scared me to hear that. I just need him to take care of that second nest now in our strawberry patch. Geez!

  2. Oh no! that’s really horrible. I’m glad nothing happened to you or to the pups. We had hornets once in both of our chimneys, it was a donkeys work to remove them. I hope they never come back.

    • I am glad that none of us, including the dogs, got stung. That would have not been good. If the dogs would have gotten stung, that would have probably killed them, or us. I am allergic to bees too. We were glad to see that first nest taken care of, now we have a second one to deal with that hopefully will be taken care of today.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

