Sneak Peak Of My New Fascination

I am in love with something new that I have not worked with much. It is a new found love for stenciling. I purchased a medium sized Chrysanthemum stencil from Cutting Edge Stencils for $26.95 which is 21″ across in size.

Ever since I made my patriotic star table top, I got the bug to make some more little table tops to use in our home, and outside for our fire pit nights. This Chrysanthemum stencil is so beautiful and I could not wait to make a table top with it. I found a nice piece of wood in our garage, sanded it, painted it glossy black, and after it dried, I was ready to start stenciling.

STENCILING A TABLE TOP1

Since I just got this stencil, I don’t have all the proper tools like a stencil brush & roller, so I decided that I would not wait to get them, rather I jumped in and I placed the stencil over my piece of wood, grabbed my gray permanent Sharpie and went to work tracing each and every little piece of that stencil onto my wood. It did not take that long to do it, but you had to make sure you did not bump your stencil while doing so. Look at all those little pieces!

STENCILING A TABLE TOP2

After I got the stenciling tracing done, I pulled out my little jar of Behr premium plus ultra Mint Majesty, which I purchased at Home Depot for around $4 for a 7.5 ounce jar, and started to paint. It only took me a few hours to complete the entire stencil by hand painting it with a small brush. Yes, I had to have a steady hand to do this, but it turned out awesome! The Mint Majesty truly pops on the black painted wood. All I need to do now is coat the top of my table top with some Polycrylic to seal the paint real good.

STENCILING A TABLE TOP3

The next step that I need to do is figure out what kind of legs to add to my table top. I did some research on metal table legs and have lots of ideas to choose from, but if you have any ideas on where I can get some metal table legs at a reasonable price, let me know.

I want to stencil everything now with this stencil! It is so beautiful and would definitely add to any home decor!

STENCILING A TABLE TOP4

23 thoughts on “Sneak Peak Of My New Fascination

  1. Really cute Val. Where will you put your table? I’ve seen table bases at Ikea that were pretty well priced. Might check there. I have a lot of Stencils for Paper Crafting, they’re really hot right now. You did a great job πŸ˜€

    • We still have to get some legs for my new table, but I am sure that we will find a great place for it! It will probably move all around the house! I knew you would love the color! It is called Mint Majesty.

    • I was making it to be used outside when we sit by our fire pit, but it looks so pretty, so I might keep it inside as a little table in front of our one couch to hold drinks. I need to redo our little entryway by the front door, and I might use this stencil on the wall to add a pop of color!

    • I am desperately trying to find table legs online for this little beauty. I had a brainstorm hit me the other day, and I am looking at restaurant table bases to see what I can find in a good price range.

    • Hi Misaki! That is what I am trying to find right now. I had a brainstorm and I am looking at restaurant table bases to see what I find. It will be interesting nonetheless on what I come up with!

    • Hey Carrie! Thanks! It was so much fun to do this, not to mention that I am so in love with this stencil. I hope you checked out the Cutting Edge Stencil site too, as they have lots of great stencils!

  2. Wow, that was a lot of work. You free-handed it. Quite impressive. It looks great. You inspired me to try a table top as well, but so far I only have a round piece of wood from the hardware story and a bunch of ideas rattling around in my head. Stay tuned. I’m so glad the stencil worked out.

    • Aw, thank you Easy! My eyesight is dwindling, so I need to make sure I have my reading glasses on to see things like this! Painting by hand is quite theraputic and it did not take me too long to paint. I just love the outcome on how nice it looks! I hope I inspire everyone to try something like this! You just never know that you can do it, until you try! πŸ™‚

    • Oh boy, I love how that Mint Majesty just pops on the black background! I want to stencil everything now! ❀ I just can't wait to find the legs I want to finish the table!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

