When Life Gets Busy

TGIF! When Summer finally arrived here, we got busier. We get to head out of the house, wear flip flops, plant flowers, change our clothes to fun Summer wear, garden, grill out, and enjoy the outside weather with the dogs. Every time I work out in the yard, the dogs are there with me, soaking up the sun and sniffing everything. We have had a cotton tree blow cotton poofs all over the place and it looked like it was snowing. With those cotton poofs landing in the garden, that means a lot weeding.

NIKITA AND BELLA 6-12-14Nikita and Bella love heading into the garden area with me, as they think it is another room. It’s funny how excited they get while I am opening up the gate. They walk around our raised garden beds and sniff all the plants. Bella even chased a chippie for me the other day and was all pumped up from her chase. She kept looking for more to appear and watched closely.

STRAWBERRIES 6-12-14Our strawberries are finally ripening this week and we’ve picked bowlfuls of them each and every day. Nothing beats a home grown strawberry to eat.

BABY BUCKThis is a baby buck I saw resting in our neighbors yard. When you look closely, you can see his small rack. The deer population in our area just keeps getting bigger and bigger, and they definitely need some birth control! Babies are popping up every day around here. They are beautiful to look at, but all we think of when we look at them is being our enemy. They have damaged already so much of our flower beds this year, ate all of our hostas, day lillies, nipped off all the new growth on our burning bush and pretty much half of our back flower bed.

Our neighbor had asked me the other day why our garden fence was so high and I told her that the deer got in our garden last year and jumped our six foot high fence. I told her that I had to go higher this year to hopefully prevent another deer attack on the garden. Preventative maintenance is the cure, we hope.

FIRE HYDRANT FLUSHING2 6-6-14FIRE HYDRANT FLUSHING 6-6-14Our city had the yearly hydrant flushings this week. The dogs were woo wooing at the front window at the firemen and I laughed. I went to the door to snap a photo of them, and when they saw me, they even posed for a photograph! Silly firemen, but I loved it!

BELLA 6-11-14Here’s Bella posing for me as I entered the back door. She is so photogenic!

MARIGOLDSI planted lots of marigold seeds in our two pots on the front porch earlier in May. As you can see, they are coming along nicely and are getting ready to bloom. I just saved the seeds from my marigolds last year when they died. This is a great way to be able to plant more flowers from year to year without having to purchase any plants or seed packs. Do you walk around your flower beds and save seeds too?

FROGGYHere’s our little froggy that was on the front sidewalk, and I must have scared him when I walked past him as he tried to squeeze into this tiny space. I think he got stuck.

NIKITA AND BELLA2 6-12-14Nikita and Bella just love each other. They are best friends. Bella is going to be celebrating her birthday this month on June 29th. Our sweet girl will be two years old, and has brought us so much joy in our lives. Nikita will be celebrating her 4th birthday on July 18th and my birthday is on July 22nd. We have so much to celebrate and lots of love here.

Even when life gets busy, don’t forget your loved ones! How has your week been? What is going on in your part of the world?

20 thoughts on “When Life Gets Busy

    • Aw, thanks for the birthday wishes! I did nothing on my birthday and we just grilled out for dinner. It was a great day. I haven’t seen my little froggy friend in awhile, so I wonder where he is now?

    • Hey Misaki, Oh boy are we getting our fill of strawberries this season! This is our third season for strawberries, and they said that every year your crop gets better! They weren’t kidding! I pick a huge bowl of them every day!

  1. Everything is so lush and green there! Makes me cringe a bit to see all that water from the hydrants just being wasted, but it’s a different climate out there! Love that the firemen posed!

    • They only turn the hydrants on like that for a few seconds. Not sure why they do this every year. It was funny that they posed for me! It is never a dull day around here!

  2. Gah! I love the #frogfail picture. I hope he knows how to back up. The strawberries look yummy. They’re my favorite thing in your garden. In our neck of the woods, it’s rained and thunderstormed a lot this week. But the weekend will be warm and sunny. There’s a craft fair in the local park. Fun.

    • Gotta love that #frogfail, it was hilarious to watch. He just kept jumping at that hole trying to get in and couldn’t. Kinda like Winnie the Pooh in the honey tree. We need rain over here to soak the grass good. I think our weekend is supposed to be nice weather wise too.

    • Oh boy, you are so correct Easy! I can just see myself all decked out in camo gear fighting off the critters! Our Summers are always jammed packed with lots of things to do!

  3. Lovely strawberries. Funny, we picked our first ripe berries this week too and my marigolds (from last years seed heads) are coming up but not flowered yet. We have had a couple of days of baking hot sunshine, not that common in England but lovely to enjoy, we sat out with a Pimms last evening, wonderful, felt like being on holiday.

    • Our berries are the June bearing ones, and they are right on schedule! They are the best we have seen, as they get bigger and better every year! Seed saving is awesome, and it was not until last year that I had the thought to start saving them! Glad I did!

  4. Great photos, Valerie! Bella’s fur is so cool, the patterns and color are gorgeous. That little frog is funny, trying to stuff his tubby bulk into such a small hole. Can the city/township relocate several of those evil deer? Some of them will have an unfortunate meeting with a car too… They are a menace.

    • I know! Bella’s fur & coloring is called Brindle. She is so beautiful! Froggy gave up trying to smush into that hole. We really need to have the city address the deer issue around here for sure. We have seen groups of 11-15 of them at one time, and for us, that is way too much. The way the cars fly down this street (which is only 25 mph) it is surprising that no one lately has hit a deer yet. I agree, they are a menace!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

