Going To New Heights

If you have followed along with our garden adventures, you know that last year was the year for critter & deer attacks in our garden. And, since we learn from our experiences, this year we are taking action on keeping the deer out of our garden.

Last year, our garden fence was six feet high, and the deer just jumped right up and over the fence to our amazement. We never knew that a deer could just stand there and jump up that high, well we know now. So this year, I am adding more height to our garden fence with the hopes that this will keep out the deer.

ADDING HEIGHT TO GARDEN FENCE 6-3-14

As you can see from our photographs, the garden fence frame starts with those nice 5′ high metal stakes which we pound into the ground. Then we unrolled the thick black plastic fencing which is 3′ in height and attached that to the garden stakes with tie wraps. We then added the second layer on top of that to make the fence 6′ in height and tie wrapped those two layers into place.

This is where the dilemma begins. Since I am at the top of those metal stakes now, I need more height & stability to add another layer of garden fencing. Now what? I sat there for awhile and wondered how to get this accomplished and then had a fantastic idea. I grabbed some small PVC pipes I had (and borrowed a few from our wonderful neighbor) and slipped the PVC pipes into the back of those green metal stakes and they fit perfectly! Now, I have heightened the frame perfectly, but there is still a problem. I need to secure the PVC pipes to the green stakes and tie wraps were not strong enough.

FENCE POLES 6-3-14

A light bulb went off in my head and I ran for my power tools, which is always the answer! I drilled a small hole near the bottom of the PVC pipes, then slipped the PVC pipe into the back of the green metal stake and added a screw and a nut to tighten it. Problem solved. Now I can add the third layer of fencing to the PVC pipes and secure it with tie wraps!

GARDEN VIEW 6-3-14

Since I was up on the ladder, I had to take this photograph of our garden. I love how our garden area is coming along and it makes me smile everytime I head into this gorgeous area. Our garden fence is now almost nine feet in height, and we can now relax at night and not worry about a deer jumping into the garden. Well, we hope they don’t at least. It’s not the prettiest of fences, but we use what we have to work with.

CLOUDS 6-3-14

With that out of the way, I still have a few more plants to get into the garden, believe it or not. We still had our Connecticut Field Pumpkins downstairs under the grow lights and it was time to get them out in the garden. We are planting them in our back garden bed with high hopes that we will have pumpkins to carve for Halloween.

BELLA 6-5-14

Bella loves heading into the garden area with me, as I think she thinks it another room. She can’t wait for me to open the garden door and she walks around smelling the plants. She watched me planting the pumpkins and sniffed all the pots that I threw on the grass. I added a small trellis for the pumpkins to crawl up too.

ROOT BOUND PUMPKINS 6-5-14

Definitely, these pumpkins are ready to be planted!

PLANTING PUMPKINS 6-5-14

The pumpkins new home & trellis.

BELLA FOUND A SKULL IN THE GARDEN

Bella found a new friend in the garden and had to check it out.

LEAF LETTUCE 6-3-14

Our leaf lettuce is coming up nicely!

ROMAINE LETTUCE 6-3-14

We started eight Romaine Lettuce plants under the grow lights and this is how big they are already. We also planted a few more seeds too in the section right next to this area for a few more plants, just in case. I love the taste of Romaine Lettuce a lot more than leaf lettuce, and can’t wait to make some delicious chicken caesar salads.

Gardening is always an adventure as you just never know what is going to happen from year to year, but the experiences are always interesting. We love sharing our gardening adventures with you and we hope that we inspire you along the way.

 

24 thoughts on “Going To New Heights

  1. Your garden area does look beautiful! Now I feel like mine looks shabby. LOL For some reason the deer don’t often jump into our vegetable garden area (knock wood) (our fence is only about 4 ft tall), though they have already been feasting on my hosta lilies up in the flower garden!

    • I am surprised that they have not jumped your 4 foot fence yet, and I hope you did not jinx yourself by saying that! Last night, something (probably a deer) ate all of our hostas and other plants in our back flower bed. Today, I installed netting over the whole flower bed to keep them out! Stay ahead of the game & react when they nibble!

      • You definitely have to stay ahead of them. A few years ago they got in the veggie garden area and ate all my beans, but they haven’t been in since. Yes, I’m sure I’m jinxing myself by saying that! Luke has been barking a lot lately, and Cricket keeps smelling something down in the woods, so I know they’re out there. I was surprised to see my hostas eaten though, usually they don’t do that until later in the summer!

      • Normally Bella barks at “everything”, and we hope that she senses the deers arrival in our backyard. But when she is out, she is out. Nikita does not let anything bother her at night. Once she goes to bed, she’s done. LOL I did get that netting up over our back flower bed this afternoon, and I also found 2 little copper bells that I hung on the netting, so if the deer touch the netting, I can hear the bells jingle. It is amazing on what we have to do to keep these animals out of our gardens!

  2. Now if anything can get in there it’d be in there for good, HA You would wake up to your very own pet dear or racoon.

    It’s all looking just awesome and look at those blue skies. I think we’re finally safe to say it but I’d hate to jinx it. Secret message, “s_mm_r fi__all_” !! xK

    • Gosh, we hope nothing gets in our garden this year! We took care of the strawberries over the weekend and got them all covered up as something has started eating all of our berries! We battle one critter at a time over here! LOL I love how the garden is coming along and guess what? We have pea pods growing now too! Yeah!

    • Oh I know! Seriously though, it is amazing what we have to do to keep the deer out of the garden. Last year the fence was 6′ high, now it’s about 8 1/2′ to 9′ in height. Hopefully this will keep them out.

  3. I hope this year the deers have to stay out. I remember the attack from last year, it was so sad to see your garden the morning after the deer party. How clever that you solved the problem that way, BRAVO!

    • Yeah for the light bulb that popped up over my head, and we do hope that this new fence height will keep the deer out. I don’t ever want to head outside and find what we did last year. Our hearts dropped when we saw the entire garden eaten down to nubs. Hopefully this year we can hold them off!

      • I hope you can. It was awful what they did last year. Who would have thought that Bambi is so evil… Paws crossed that your fence will keep them away.

      • I actually saw two deer jump our neighbors low fence and it looked like they just levitated right over it. They just tucked their legs underneath them and they floated over the fence. I don’t think they will be able to levitate over this height of our fence, but you just never know. We are keeping our fingers crossed!

  4. I love your garden updates! The fence is looking good, should stop those four legged acrobats from stealing your harvest. I hope the rabbits and other critters are repelled too. Bella looks great, so shiny! Hard to believe it’s June already…

    • Hey John! I am glad it is finally June already, but the time will go by too fast. We do hope that our new fence will keep the deer out now! Bella is beautiful and loves gardening with Mommy! ❤

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

