How to Make a Photograph Coaster

It’s a new year and that means more craft projects!  Yippee!  I am one who is never at a loss for craft projects, and I have lots of ideas floating around my head to create this year.

PHOTOGRAPH COASTERS

I have made numerous cork coasters before, but I painted them. I was trying to think of a unique idea to make my Sweetie for Valentine’s Day, and I thought that making some photograph coasters of our dogs would be the cutest gift ever.  I was right, it was the cutest idea because he came home from work the other day and noticed them drying on the bookshelf and ruined his surprise!  (Happy Valentine’s Day Sweetie!) Oh well, he loved them, so I can now do a post on how you can make some too!

I was at the Dollar Store the other day and purchased a few tile coasters for $1 each, and they had a nice cork bottom which I liked.  Making these was really easy, but the hardest part was trying to figure out what photographs to use!  Oooh, I can see some great Christmas gifts in the future now!

Anyhow, all I did was measure the tile coaster.  It measured 3 5/8″ x 3 5/8″.  I opened up one of my photo editors, chose my photograph and resized it to the measurements of the coaster. Print out the photo, let it dry, then I used Mod Podge to adhere the photo to the coaster.  Once it was nice and dry, I used Mod Podge Dimensional Magic to the top of the photo.  Let it dry.  I was not sure if the photo was good and sealed enough, so I did a nice layer of varnish on top of each coaster. Let it dry.

I think these turned out beautiful and I will definitely be making more of these in the future!  We always use coasters and what better way to show off the gorgeous photos of Nikita and Bella in a fashionable way!

What do you think?  This is an easy project that I am sure you would love to try making yourself!

Also, I created a new page on my blog where I will save all of the craft projects for 2014 that I personally make, so check back often to this page to gather some inspiration for yourself! 

28 thoughts on “How to Make a Photograph Coaster

  1. These are really cool!! I can’t wait to follow along with all your crafting projects of 2014! And a long overdue email address… i’ve not forgotten promise! thelonelydogs [at] hotmail [dot] com
    🙂 Wishing you and your sweet girls a wonderful weekend!

    • These coasters were super easy to make too! I can definitely see me making more, and maybe I can use some of my beautiful flower bloom photographs too! I am looking forward too, to filling up my 2014 projects page with lots of fun and crafty things! On the horizon, I am hoping to make some cool wire baskets, a little mosiac bench by the back door, and a wood table for us to use in the backyard. Lots of fun stuff I want to make this year!

    • Thanks for stopping by today! I am glad that you liked this idea as they were really fun to do! These will make some great gifts too! I like how the inexpensive coasters at the Dollar Store already have a nice cork bottom on them, so all you need to do is Mod Podge your photo to the coaster then seal the top good. Done! I hope you subscribe to our blog too so you don’t miss out on all of my other craft projects! Also, did you look up all of the crafts I have already made under the “Crafts” category page too? Hope to see you again!

  2. Thanks so much for linking to TNT. That is a cool project. 🙂 I did end up making the clay ornaments and even gave some as gifts. 🙂 But did I take a picture? no stupid me!

    • Hi Linda! I am glad that you liked the coasters! They were really easy to do and I can’t believe that I never thought of using photographs before now, as all I ever did before was just paint them. I love how these turned out! I am glad to hear that you did make some clay ornaments! I am sure you will be making more, so you will have to remember to take a photograph of them! 🙂

      • If only the two of you knew all the stuff that I know how to do. I must have been paying attention growing up with a Dad who liked to make stuff! I will be doing a post (soon) on the table that I want to make for us outside, as my wicker table died last year. Wicker does not hold up too long, so I am going to be making a table out of wood (and sealing it well), then buying a few black stools to sit on. Then, I am going to make a little mosiac bench to place by the back door too.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

