From Below Zero to 46 in Three Days

I find our weather interesting.  We are used to the ever-changing weather where we live, but this past week was truly interesting.  Our week started off with a polar vortex that blew through here with temps below zero, to us waking up this morning to the ground all covered in that white stuff again. Ug.  It has warmed up to 46 degrees today, which we are so thankful for.  A heat wave from Monday!

ONE DEGREE

But, without any complaining, I headed back outside and cleaned off the driveway (again) and decided I would take a little time for myself and built two snow doggies.  I built a snow dog Nikita and a snow dog Bella which sit high on top of a snow pile at the end of the driveway.  They both have little sticks in their mouths and Bella is sitting next to a red colored ice ball that I froze in a balloon in the freezer and added some red food coloring.  The red ice ball actually looks like one of Bella’s balls sitting next to her! Gotta love it!

SNOW DOGGIES 1-10-14

SNOW DOGGIES NIKITA AND BELLA 1-10-14

SNOW BELLA WITH RED ICE BALL

While I was outside, I decided to take down all of our Christmas decorations while it was somewhat warm outside today.  I got tired of looking at them, so I felt it was time for them to get stored away.  Only the gutter lights are still up since I need some assistance to take these down.  I did hang the wood LOVE sign I made on the front door, to welcome VAL-entine’s Day with open arms!

We finally got our mailbox replaced by the city yesterday, so now our mail will not blow out because we have a door that actually closes now! Nikita watched diligently by the front window while the city workers threw our old mailbox into the back of their truck and installed a new one. Don’t worry, Bella was watching at the front door too, as she does not miss a thing that goes on in the neighborhood.

NEW MAILBOX 1-9-14

NIKITA INSPECTING MAILBOX

NEW MAILBOX2   1-9-14

We are getting really excited for next week, because American Idol Season 13 starts on Wednesday & Thursday.  So, if you are an Idol fan, make sure you don’t miss the first episode, as Keith Urban will be returning as a judge, along with Jennifer Lopez, and the heart-throb Harry Connick Jr.!  We are excited for this season of Idol as we won’t miss the cat fights that happened last season from Mariah and Nikki. Their fighting actually took away a lot of time from the contestants who were trying to get their gold ticket to Hollywood.  So, stay tuned as we do our weekly update of our favorites!

We hope your week was a good one and we’re glad it’s Friday already! Can’t wait to see what the weekend will have in store for us! What plans do you have for the weekend?

17 thoughts on “From Below Zero to 46 in Three Days

    • It was fun making them, but they melted the same day. The snow we got that morning was nice and thick, so it was good packing snow, but the temps were warm enough that they melted by days end. Bummer, but glad I got a few picks of them first! 🙂

    • HI YA EASY! THE ICE BALLS ARE SO COOL WHEN THEY GET FROZEN! WE HAD A NICE WARM UP TODAY WITH SOME RAIN, AND MOST OF OUR SNOW IS NOW MELTED, EXCEPT FOR THOSE HIGH SNOW PILES OF OURS. BUT, WE HEARD THAT WE ARE IN FOR ANOTHER LOW TEMP DROP.

  1. Hey, 46 F sound pretty nice. Bet it feels like a heat wave. We’re enjoying above seasonal temps too. I didn’t even get outside today so Hi-five on all the enjoyment you’ve obviously had. I’ve been busy dismantling Christmas too. It looks so rooming when you put it all away. Hope your weekend continues to provide great weather! Cheers.

    • HI BOOMIE! I HOPE YOU ARE GETTING THE FEW “PINS” I SENT YOU! I SAW THEM AND THOUGHT OF YOU. WE HAD A NICE WARMER DAY HERE TODAY WITH A LITTLE RAIN, AND EVEN HAD THE WINDOW OPEN FOR A LITTLE WHILE. I HEAR YA ON TAKING DOWN ALL THE CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS, AS THE HOUSE LOOKS SO DULL NOW! HUGS!

  2. I love the snow doggies! We are hoping for a bit warmer weather this weekend too. There just doesn’t seem to be any “normal” weather this winter….it’s either bitter cold or so warm it melts all of our nice snow!

  3. I am so amazed you got that mailbox replaced! And it won’t rust!! Love the dog snow – dogs. Enjoy the heat up there! I bet it does feel like Miami beach after what you have been through!

    • YEP, OUR CITY HAS A STOCK-PILE OF MAILBOXES AND THEY DO REPLACE THEM WHEN THEY HIT THEM. GLAD THAT THEY DO BECAUSE WE HAVE HAD AT LEAST FIVE MAILBOX FATALITIES SO FAR. WE DID IN FACT HAVE A LITTLE HEAT WAVE HERE TODAY AND WAS EVEN ABLE TO OPEN A WINDOW FOR THE DOGS TO SNIFF OUT.

  4. The snow dogs and ball are so cute! I’m glad they replaced the mailbox and didn’t try to do a cheesy repair. They wouldn’t dare with Bella watching. Idol! Harry Connick! Yay! Cupcake and I will be watching.

    • OH HARRY….HAPPY HAPPY! WE CAN’T WAIT FOR AMERICAN IDOL NEXT WEEK! OUR SNOW DOGGIES MELTED ALREADY! CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?!! WE HAD A NICE WARM DAY TODAY WITH A LITTLE RAIN AND IT MELTED LOTS OF OUR SNOW. WE ARE SO GLAD AS WELL THAT THE MAILBOX IS NOW FIXED! WE HAVE A DOOR THAT OPENS & CLOSES THE WAY IT SHOULD! GLAD TO HEAR YOU AND CUPCAKE ARE IDOL FANS TOO! 🙂

  5. It’s supposed to be 50 here tomorrow too and then back to freezing at the beginning of the week! Ugh, gotta love winter. I switched back to working weekends so that’s what my lovely weekend entails…so much fun, lol!

    • Make the most of your working weekends! Do weekends pay more? If so, smile! I am glad too that the temps are better here too, as I don’t ever want to feel below zero temps any time soon. They were horrible! My Nikita and Bella snow doggies will surely melt if our temps get warmer! Rats!

      • I forgot to say….those snow dogs are super cute! I love them. Weekends don’t pay any better, nights either…I work for a municipality so they don’t distinguish between pay rates. And actually weekends are a lot of fun, it’s just been so long since I’ve worked them. Lol.

      • AW, I AM GLAD YOU LIKED MY ATTEMPT AT MAKING A NIKITA & A BELLA SNOW DOGGIE! I EVEN MAKE THAT RED ICE BALL TO PUT BY BELLA! THAT SUCKS THAT WEEKENDS DON’T PAY ANY BETTER THAN NIGHTS, BUT GLAD TO HEAR YOU HAVE FUN WORKING THEM!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

