The Vortex Wind Tunnel

Plain and simple, today sucked.

It royally sucked, big time.  We got lots (and I mean lots) of snow dumped on us today, and it still is coming down right now as of 9pm. Tomorrow morning is not going to be a good one either.  Our temperature was 12 degrees today, but I am sure it was much colder with the wind chill.  Tuesday’s temps are supposed to be zero, nice eh?

SNOW

All I did today, was shovel snow.  Fifteen minutes later, I had to head back out to clean off more.  The wind was so severe today that it blew right through my snow suit, so it felt like I was just wearing my jeans outside.  I got cold quick, and my fingers even felt frost bitten even with my Thinsulate gloves on.

The wind blew so hard and severe between the houses in the neighborhood like you were standing in a vortex wind tunnel.  You cleared the drive between your house & your neighbors, turned around, and the snow drift appeared again.  This was my day today.  It stunk.

SNOWY

At one point, I came in and disrobed all of my snow suit, and sat by my little heater to get warm, and I noticed that I had two different socks on. Ok, that stinks, but that just is yet another sucky thing that happened today.

PINK BOOTS

Moments later, a heard a huge bang from outside, and when I looked out, I caught one of our city’s snow plow guys driving away.  He hit our mailbox with his plow,  and ripped off the door to our mailbox and kept going.  I slipped on my flip flops that were sitting by the back door, grabbed my coat and hat, and ran out the back door to catch him. When I got to the end of our driveway, I noticed that all the outgoing mail I put in our mailbox earlier was now laying in the middle of the snow covered street.  Yikes!  I grabbed it up quickly, and ran down the street to catch this moron.  I caught up to him as he was backing up on the side street and told him he hit our mailbox.  He replied and said “no, I did not hit it, it was just the snow that hit it”.  I told him that the door was ripped off and that all of my outgoing mail was in the middle of the road.  He drove over to see what happened and after he saw the mailbox, he said “I must have hit it”.  At least he was apologetic and told me to call the city’s building department to get it replaced.  I did in fact place that call, and hoped that they would replace it today.  They did not.

My next door neighbor arrived home only to find over a foot of snow in her driveway, and when she pulled in, she got stuck.  Figured that would happen.  She got out and shoveled in hopes that she could get in the drive, and no matter how much she shoveled, she was still stuck. She ended up leaving her car at the end of her driveway, then went out again. She left the shoveling for her husband to tackle when he got home as it was too deep for either of us to shovel by hand.  What I had to laugh at, was when she said to me “all I want to do is kick something”, and that is the exact phrase I told my boyfriend earlier in the day.

UPS

You just get so frustrated when the snow comes down this fast, the wind blows right through you & in your face, and it makes you feel that no matter how well you clear off your drive, that within minutes it will be covered again.

The vortex wind tunnel won today.

 

31 thoughts on “The Vortex Wind Tunnel

    • Hi Misaki, I am going to have to make yet another call to city hall to get the mailbox fixed. The door is just hanging there and if I don’t run out and get the mail when the mailman arrives, the mail will blow out with these winds. Oooh, we are not letting the dogs out to play in these temps as it is way too cold to be outside. It is one degree here today, but I am sure that it is much colder than that with the wind chill. It is brutally cold here!

    • We are trying to stay warm! It is one degree here right now, but I am sure it is much colder with the wind chill. Keeping the dogs inside for safety! I am hoping for a heat wave right now! 🙂 What are your temps today? (so I can be jealous)

      • That is so chilly, you guys bundle up and stay nice and cozy!! We are in our cold months too, but it works a little differently here… sort of like a yo-yo. At night we can get down to 0C or sometimes lower and then during the day the glorious sunshine comes out and the temps are back up to 13-20C 🙂

      • Right now, I would take 20 degrees! It was so weird yesterday listening to the house creaking. The news reporters said that it was contracting and expanding, that was the noise we were hearing. It was funny they talked about it on the news, as I was just telling my boyfriend the sounds I heard yesterday! It was the coldest I have ever felt it in a long time! brrr

  1. Tomorrow will be better, it always is 😀 We are so used to it here, it’s just, “go with the flow” or you’ll stress yourself out over something you can’t control. Have a great weekend!

    • Hi Boomie! We’re used to it here too, just some days it sucks worse than others. We live in Cleveland and we get that nasty lake effect snow all the time. I am starting to think that this winter is going to be a rough one, not like our last two mild winters. All I am doing is dreaming of gardening time to make me happy.

  2. That sound like a really sucky day, what with the vortex and busted mailbox and all, but how cute are your boots?? GAH! They’re adorable. It’s important to look adorable when things go sour. Well done….

    • I LOVE those pink little boots! They are my rain boots I got from KMart in the kids section. I found out long ago that I can fit into a kids size 5 or 5.5 (and I wear a womens size 7.5) so when I saw the cute rain boots over the summer, I tried some on and found a pair that fit me! I needed something “quick” to slip on to take the dogs out! I am hoping to find a purple and orange pair in my size too! P.S. – Mailbox is still not fixed by the city yet. Grrrr!

  3. Oh dearr, you really are having it bad, don’t know how you cope with all that snow!! Hope you are managing to keep warm.
    Over here it is rain, rain and more rain, with hail and thunder thrown in. None of us like our winter weather!!

    • RIGHT NOW KATHY, I WOULD TAKE RAIN OVER THIS WHITE STUFF! IT LOOKS PRETTY IF YOU DON’T HAVE TO DO ANYTHING TO IT, BUT WHEN YOU HAVE TO SHOVEL, NOW THAT’S A DIFFERENT STORY! YIKES! NOW THIS MORNING, WE ARE ON DAY TWO OF THIS HORRIBLE WINTER STORM WARNING AND ABOUT ANOTHER FOOT WAS DUMPED ON US LAST NIGHT. JUST GOT IN RIGHT NOW SHOVELING SNOW IN MY SNOW SUIT (HAD MY JAMMIES ON UNDERNEATH!) UG!

    • HI THERE! I AM TRYING SO HARD TO STAY WARM. IT IS STILL 14 DEGREES OUTSIDE…AND IT IS STILL SNOWING HERE. WE GOT DUMPED ON OVER NIGHT WITH ABOUT ANOTHER FOOT OF SNOW HERE. YUCK! TIME TO SHOVEL…AGAIN!

  4. So sorry to hear things are so tough. I can’t even imagine that kind of weather! It’s easy for me to say, I know, but hang in there. Hug those two beautiful dogs of yours and I will hope with all my heart that the weather improves in your area sooner rather than later. xoxoxoxoxox

    • AW, THANKS! WE ARE USED TO THIS WHITE STUFF, BUT IT DOES NOT MEAN THAT WE HAVE TO LIKE IT. IT IS REALLY PRETTY TO LOOK AT THOUGH. I JUST CAN’T BELIEVE HOW MUCH SNOW FELL IN JUST TWO DAYS. WE WOKE UP TO ALMOST A FOOT OF SNOW AGAIN FROM LAST NIGHT! UG! I CAN DEAL WITH THE SNOW, BUT THIS FRIGID COLD AND THE WIND IS WHAT MAKES IT BAD. I HAD TO KEEP THE DOGS INSIDE TO KEEP THEM WARM! XOXOXO

  5. Ugh, sounds like an awful day. I hate days like this where one small things sets your mood in the wrong direction and then EVERYTHING goes wrong. Hopefully tomorrow is better and you can stay inside to snuggle with your girls. 🙂

    P.S. I really like your bright boots!

    • OOOOH, THOSE BRIGHT PINK BOOTS OF MINE, I FOUND AT KMART! THEY ARE ACTUALLY RAIN BOOTS! I SLIPPED THEM ON TO MAKE A QUICK RUN OUTSIDE AND HAD TO SNAP THAT PIC. DID I EVER TELL YOU HOW I SHOP FOR SHOES? (I DID A BLOG POST ON IT) THOSE BOOTS ARE ACTUALLY KIDS RAIN BOOTS, AND I FOUND OUT LONG AGO THAT I CAN FIT INTO A KIDS SIZE 5 OR 5.5. I WEAR A WOMENS SIZE 7.5. SO, HEAD ON INTO YOUR LOCAL STORE AND TRY ON A FEW PAIRS OF KIDS SHOES TO FIND OUT YOUR SIZE AND YOU WILL “SAVE” LOTS OF MONEY! I DO THIS FOR FLIP FLOPS TOO AND FIND THE CUTEST PAIRS IN THE KIDS SECTION!

      YES, I HAD A HORRIBLE DAY AND YOU ARE RIGHT. WHEN ONE THING GOES WRONG, IT APPEARS THAT IT ALL ROLLS DOWNHILL AFTER THAT! I STILL CAN’T BELIEVE THAT I HAD ON TWO DIFFERENT SOCKS! THE VORTEX WON YESTERDAY FOR SURE! AND, WE GOT DUMPED ON AGAIN LAST NIGHT WITH ALMOST ANOTHER FOOT OF SNOW! IT LOOKS REALLY PRETTY HERE, BUT SHOVELING SUCKS! I’LL GIVE THE DOGS A HUG FROM YOU TODAY! DO THE SAME FOR ME FOR ZU!

      • I’ve never thought to look at kid’s sizes! I feel I have ginormous feet though but I’ll definitely going to look into it. Sometimes I buy kid’s XL clothes because let’s face it…they have some cute stuff, lol.

        I hate when it’s those goofy things like different socks that just make you break down. I had a day like that a few weeks ago whereas today I would laugh it off. I think your storm is moving our way too…it’s supposed to start snowing in a few hours.

        P.S. Zu got lots of hugs and kisses today (and turkey bites that the stole out of the grocery bag, lol).

      • Every time we chat, I find yet another thing we have in common! Are you sure we’re not sisters? (I would like that cause mine suck) Anyhow, I think that is so cool that you shop in the kids section too like I do, and I get sometimes the XL or XXL if I know the item will shrink. Yes, they do have some really cute stuff too! We are supposed to be getting yet another snow storm here on Sunday, so let’s see what this one will bring. The only thing that sucks is that I feel like I am getting sick and I will have to be shoveling again on Monday. I must have got sick from going outside those two days battling the winds. Oh well, I’ve got to get my chores done! Give Zu huggies from me!

    • HI ALYS! WE WOKE UP TO ABOUT ANOTHER FOOT OF SNOW THIS MORNING, SO IT IS BACK OUTSIDE FOR SHOVELING! I THINK I MIGHT HAVE TO MAKE YET ANOTHER CALL TO OUR SERVICE DEPT. TO GET OUR MAILBOX FIXED! I AM JUST GLAD THAT I WAS ABLE TO FIND ALL OF OUR MAIL OUT ON THE ROAD! THIS WINTER STORM WAS A BAD ONE!

      • I’ve been hearing and seeing the reports. The winter storms are brutal.

        I’m glad you found your mail. I wonder if they’ll even be delivering during these next blustering, cold days?

        Stay safe and warm.

      • Oh boy Alys! It was one degree on our thermometer yesterday, but I am sure it was much colder than that with the wind chill factored in. The cold is truly brutal here and every inch of you has to be covered up to protect from frost bite. Yep, the mail trucks have been delivering and I heard that lots of places will be closed on Tuesday due to the cold temps.

      • I can’t imagine delivering mail in that kind of weather, in and out of the mail truck. They must have super-warm uniforms in addition to taking warm up breaks.

        I hope the cold subsides in a few days. It’s been brutal.

      • I definitely would not want to be a postman, er postwoman! Our post man is so crabby all the time and always tells me to ship my stuff through UPS and not USPS. Can you believe that?

      • That is hilarious (and of course annoying). Our mail carrier is always polite but in a hurry. He does the job well.

        Is it any wonder the post office is losing money. So many systemic problems.

    • OH MAN JOHN, WE GOT DUMPED ON REAL BAD! AND, WE GOT ALMOST ANOTHER FOOT OF SNOW OVERNIGHT TOO. I JUST FINISHED SHOVELING HALF OF THE DRIVEWAY (AGAIN) THIS MORNING, AND WILL HEAD OUT TO FINISH THE REST. I SHOVELED WITH MY JAM JAMS ON UNDER MY SNOW SUIT, SO I WILL HAVE TO DRESS WARMER ON MY NEXT TRIP OUT. WE HAVE 14 DEGREES TEMPS THIS MORNING AGAIN.

      • Damn! I heard about the snow heading your way, it has hit many states it seems. I showed Rebekah the photo of your driveway, she snarled! You need more than jam jams out there silly gurl! All I can say is stay indoors as much as possible. You don’t want to know the forecast for Vegas today…

      • I heard that yet another snow storm is arriving here on Sunday, so I’ll be outside clearing off the driveway. I bet Rebekah does not miss the snow. I had to laugh on Saturday, when our mailman even commented to me that our snow “mountain” is getting higher. I usually pile the snow I shovel from between the houses into one pile in the front yard and it gets huge! One day, I want to put a flag on the top of it! I think I got sick from being outside too for two days and being in that wind, so shoveling on Monday if we get that storm, will stink. Ok, I’ve gotta ask…what are your temps in Vegas? Hurt me when I’m down.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

