Happy New Year

“I think the hardest part of a new year is remembering to write the correct year on your checks.”

When a new year rolls around, the first thing everyone thinks about are resolutions. Going on a diet is always first on the list, eating better, yadda yadda yadda, but why make any resolutions if you aren’t going to really truly keep them?  It must be me, but I don’t make them any more. Everyone starts off the new year with great stride trying to keep to their resolutions, but it fizzles out within a month.  “Dieting” gets boring when that chocolate donut looks good and you actually eat it, “be a better person” goes down the drain when you curse at the first person who cuts you off in the parking lot, or “save money” gets flushed down the drain when you find that purse that you “have” to buy.

I have to chuckle at those who make a huge deal about their resolutions have have to tell everyone what they are.  They talk about them all the time, but in the end, they too fail at keeping them.  Why can’t you just actually BE a better person, each and every day?  Be nice to those around you!  Make it a habit to do so, and it becomes part of your every day routine, and not something “hard” to do.

I have always been a firm believer that “if you WANT to do SOMETHING, DO IT”.  You hear people all the time say, I wish I had more time to read a book.  Geez, this one is easy to fix, MAKE the time to sit down quietly and read a chapter!  Whether it’s 10 minutes you set aside to read every day, just do it.  Stop talking about it!  It drives me nuts when you hear people talk about “one day” I’m gonna do _______.  Make the time to do it!

When a new year approaches and we turn yet another page on the calendar, one of the things that are high on everyone’s list is getting organized.  Organization takes some skill, and not everyone has the knack to organize.  If you want to organize something, ask a friend to help you, or look up some great tips on Pinterest for inspiration.  One little thing that I did a few months ago to organize the cabinet where I keep all the bags, foil, and saran wrap etc., was to get those cheap plastic magazine holders and stand up all of my long wrap boxes in them.  This has been a lifesaver as I no longer have to hunt for the box I want!

With organization in mind, I created for all of you some little Blog Post Lists to help you organize your upcoming posts!  I don’t know about you, but when I get an idea for a blog post, I write it down on a little sticky note….. well, I am being invaded with sticky notes posted all over the wall where my laptop is, so I wanted to get rid of them and replace them.  So, let’s start off the new year with organized blog posts!  Get your ideas written down on these little lists and it will help you organize your weekly posts. Click here to see what I created for you: START OFF THE NEW YEAR WITH ORGANIZED BLOG POSTS!

Happy New Year to all of you, and if you have made some resolutions for this year, I wish you luck & hope you keep them.  Just remember, no matter what you want to do in life, like find time to read that book, save some extra cash, or take a cake decorating class, you won’t ever be able to get these done if YOU don’t make & take the time to do them. Don’t let life pass you by, experience it!

And, don’t forget that your checks need 2014 on them now! LOL

18 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Hope you had a super Holiday! Best of Life in 2014! I’m very lucky to have the time to do things I love. No child’s and not going to an office anymore is a big help. Also, the fact that I really don’t enjoy shopping or crowds helps too, I can stay home and find creative things to do instead.

    • WE DID HAVE A SUPER DUPER HOLIDAY! I WISH I HAD YOUR CRAFT ROOM THOUGH! WITH ME NOT WORKING, I WANT EVERYTHING TO MAKE COOL CRAFTS, BUT THAT COSTS. IF ONLY I HIT THE LOTTO, I COULD BECOME A CRAFT MANIAC! GEEZ, I DON’T EVEN KNOW THE LAST TIME I WENT TO A SHOPPING MALL – IT HAS TO BE YEARS! YOU ARE TRULY BLESSED WITH YOUR CRAFTING SKILLS! BY THE WAY, HAVE YOU CHECKED OUT MY PINTEREST CRAFT BOARD LATELY? I HAVE PINNED QUITE A FEW INTERESTING CRAFTS! CHECK THEM OUT WHEN YOU GET THE CHANCE! 🙂 HUGS!

    • I AM GLAD THAT YOU LIKED THE LITTLE WEEKLY BLOG POST LISTS I MADE. I WAS JUST MESSING AROUND ONE DAY AND CREATED THEM. GOTTA GET RID OF ALL THOSE LITTLE STICKY NOTES I HAVE ALL OVER THE PLACE, AND THESE LISTS SHOULD HELP!

  2. Wonderful post! I agree that if you want to do something just do it and I’m getting better at living by that. We only live once and I don’t want to regret anything because I was too scared to do it. Plus the crazy adventures make good blog posts! Happy New Year!

  3. Mummy always makes the loose weight resolution and it never lasts lol
    We’ll check out your blog post list, though it sounds a bit too organised for us lol 🙂

    • HAPPY NEW YEAR MISAKI! EVERYONE USUALLY DOES THAT EVERY YEAR. THAT IS WHY I DON’T MAKE ANY RESOLUTIONS. I SET SOME GOALS FOR MYSELF, BUT THAT USUALLY JUST CONSISTS OF GETTING THINGS DONE AT THE HOUSE OR LANDSCAPING PROJECTS. I MADE THE BLOG POST WEEKLY LIST JUST TO BE ABLE TO JOT DOWN MY IDEAS FOR POSTS MOSTLY, AND GET RID OF ALL MY STICKY NOTES ALL OVER!

  4. I like the header – Bella is absolutely right – the New Year should mean more treats! At least that’s the story the beagle is sticking with.

    I don’t do resolutions, I write out lists of things I’d like to accomplish for the year. The lists tend to be fairly extensive as my goal is to get them down in writing, not to do them all. I review the list frequently throughout the year and at the end of the year, many of the items on there are either done or I know why they didn’t get done. They either carry over or get dropped permanently (I tried it and didn’t like it, the timing was wrong, it was a good idea but not for me, it no longer appeals, etc.).

    The first half of this post explains my process:

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2012/01/10/accomplishing-my-goals/

    Happy New Year! I so enjoy seeing your pins on Pinterest. I’m spending more time there lately than on the blog, mostly because of my diet and cooking (I’ve lost over 30 pounds!).

    Nancy

    • HEY NANCY! WAY TO GO ON YOUR DIET! THAT IS AWESOME – KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK! I WORK WITH A LOT OF LISTS TOO, MOSTLY CRAFTY ONES, AND I TRY TO GET THEM ALL ACCOMPLISHED BEFORE THE ACTUAL HOLIDAY ARRIVES! I HAVE BEEN PINNING QUITE A BIT LATELY AND HAVE MADE LOTS OF NEW BOARDS TOO! I JUST CREATED A “MY CRAFTS” BOARD, A DIY TABLES BOARD AS I WANT TO MAKE US A COOL TABLE FOR OUTSIDE THIS YEAR. (YES, THAT IS ON MY LIST OF THINGS TO DO) LOTS OF AWESOME THINGS ON PINTEREST FOR SURE! HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND LOTS OF TREATS FOR THE BEAGLE!

  5. I think the reason people make “New Year’s Resolutions” is because it is an end and a beginning and a time to stop and reflect on where you have been and where you are going. It is really no more than goal setting. Some people set lofty goals and don’t achieve them. But that does not make them wrong. You never know what you can do, if you don’t try. The most successful people I know set high goals for themselves. If they fail, they just pick themselves up and try again. Sadly a trait not as valued as it once was. 🙂

    We are busy setting our goals for 2014. 🙂

    Happy New Year to you! Hope it is a healthy and happy one.

    • I AGREE THAT SETTING GOALS IS HIGHLY IMPORTANT! IF WE DID NOT SET THEM IN PLACE, THEN IT WOULD BE DIFFICULT TO ACCOMPLISH OUR TASKS. I WAS JUST STATING THAT I DON’T BELIEVE IN NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS, GOAL SETTING IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT. BELIEVE ME, I HAVE LISTS OF TO DO’S FOR MYSELF FOR THE YEAR, AND WORK HARD AT ACCOMPLISHING THEM! HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU TOO!

  6. We don’t do resolutions. When we want to make a change we just do it any day of the year. Mom says remembering to write the new year is the hardest, but now that she hardly ever writes a check, she doesn’t get as much practice! Happy 2014!

    • HAPPY NEW YEAR EMMA DOG! I AGREE ABOUT NOT DOING ANY RESOLUTIONS FOR A NEW YEAR – JUST DO THEM THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE YEAR WITH NO SET GOAL. TAKE CARE OF THINGS AS THEY COME UP! I AM GOING TO HAVE FUN WRITING THE NEW YEAR BECAUSE I LIKE WRITING THE NUMBER 4! I’M STRANGE, I KNOW! 🙂

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

