THANKFUL For Everything

I am truly THANKFUL for everything.  Having a roof over my head, food on the table, a warm bed to rest in at the end of a long day, the sweetest guy in the whole world, two of the best dogs around, and everything else that encompasses my world.  I don’t live the high life, but a life that is full of joy and lots of the little things that matter the most to me.  For these things, I am truly thankful for what I have.

PRESENTS1

I was looking at our Christmas tree the other night, and I am just a little overwhelmed at the amount of gifts under the tree.  Yes, a lot of them are for our family and I hope they truly love what we hand-picked for them, and I am sure they will.

PRESENTS2

I take gift giving very seriously.  I don’t just run out and pick something up, I do a lot of thinking of what to get the recipient and what they like, and then I make my selection. But it does not stop there for me.  I have to make the gift look beautiful, and probably too pretty to open. But it is supposed to be opened, ripped open, tear that paper up and see what is inside.  Just save the ribbon bows for me!  I don’t know how I do it, but I find the most beautiful wrapping paper around and it just makes the gift look fabulous.  Wrapping up the gifts is just as fun as picking them out. I know it is a lot of work to get them to look so pretty, but that is something that I truly enjoy.

PRESENTS3

NIKITA SITTING BY BACK DOORBut this year was a little different, as I was able to do some gift giving myself from the money I earned dog sitting this year.  Since I have not worked in a few years, it made me feel so good that I could spoil my Sweetie this holiday season.  He deserves all of the gifts under our tree, and more.  He puts up with me on a daily basis, but he is also spoiled by having a nice warm dinner on the table every night he arrives home, a warm welcome from the dogs, and a glass of wine to ease his long day at the office. Life is good.  It is the little things in life that matter the most, and those are the ones that I truly treasure.

SNOWMAN FACE

I also treasure all of the people, whom I call friends now, since I started blogging.  I have been enlightened by their thoughts, wisdom, and humor, as we share so much in common.  For all of you who love Nikitaland, we are truly thankful for you!  You brighten my day every time one of your posts hits my in-box, to which I can’t wait to read.  A lot of you are craftier than me, (if that is possible – LOL) and I would love to be able to get together with you to do some major craft projects and set the world on fire, while others take animal welfare to the highest level and I adore all that you do for those who cannot speak!  All of you mean the world to me, and just in case you didn’t know it, I love each and every one of you so much.

PRESENTS5

We take animal welfare seriously too, that is why we always collect donations each year for the annual Pledge For Pets Fundraiser for the APL.  We head out into the neighborhood and collect donations from our friends, neighbors, and local businesses to help make an animals life better and to help them find their forever homes.  If you are new to this blog, please watch around February for our announcement and link so you can make a donation to the APL too.  Every donation helps, even if it’s a dollar, or five, it all adds up.  We have exceeded our goal every year and we want to make next year no exception.

There is so much to be thankful for this year, and I am, truly thankful for many many things.  My Sweetie, our dogs, a bountiful garden, our love for Halloween, great neighbors, a wonderful family, a green plush lawn in the summer, grilling burgers, a good cup of coffee, and much more. Thank you everyone for making 2013 such a great year for me.

20 thoughts on “THANKFUL For Everything

  1. Congratulations on everything Val. It’s obvious you enjoy each and every moment. Your tree does look pretty loaded already. I’ve yet to wrap a single thing, LOL. But Mr B is away this weekend and so it’s game time. Your new header is really cute too. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year !

    • Aw, Merry Christmas to you too Boomie & Mr. B! We just love you guys so much! I am truly thankful for everything. Good luck on all of your wrapping marathon this weekend! (wish I could help you!) 🙂

  2. That was a super post. Many thanks to you ( imagine without you the Howl-o-weemeraner wouldn’t exist) for your great tips, your help and your fabulous ideas (the red velvet cake!). I love the gifts under your tree, even the giftwrapping is a gift.

    • Aw, thank you! I LOVE wrapping up gifts! I LOVE making them look pretty too! I am glad that you liked the post, as I do in fact, have a lot to be thankful for! Especially you too!

  3. What an absolutely lovely post. It made my heart smile. I share your affinity for getting thoughtful gifts. Nothing makes me happier than when something I bought hits the spot for a loved one. Sigh. Doesn’t matter if it cost $5 or $50…if it’s perfect, it’s perfect.

  4. I love buying gifts that people will love and not just random things (which is why we don’t do gifts w/ Wayne’s family anymore). And wrapping is very important to me. I love when it’s perfect because it just makes the gift look even better!

    • Oooh, yet another thing we have in common! BTW, I made some larger gift bags last night and my tutorial even worked for a larger one! They look just like I bought them! I used tulle for the handles that coordinated with the wrapping paper!

  5. What a wonderful post my friend!! Your decorations are beautiful. Sadly, we are not going with a tree this year. Someone – snort snort – knocked it down last year. I *still* say it got tired and took a nap but the humans, they don’t listen. Anywho, we went in another direction that I will post about later in the week. I love your wrapping, your stockings, your beautifully lit tree but most of all – your friendship as well. Hogs and snout kisses – XOXO – Bacon

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

