Spruce Up Your Side Bar in WordPress

BLOGGING TIPSSome times I feel like I am behind the times with all the neat WordPress things, and some times I feel just right. I changed that today with a neat widget I found!  But when I saw the neat widget called Gallery, I had to try it. And you should too!

We all love pictures, and the Gallery is a neat way to show off all of our best photographs, our funny dog pics, or even the crafts we make!

BLOG TIP NO 4Simply head on over to your Dashboard, Appearance, then Widgets, and drag the widget called Gallery over to your Main Sidebar.  (I would drag it somewhere near the top of your sidebar so everyone can see it and they don’t need to scroll down your page to find it)

Once you find a good place for your Gallery on your sidebar, then you have the option to add a Title.  Next, you select or choose the photographs that you want to add to your Gallery from your WordPress Media Files.  (for now, you can select just a few photographs to see what the gallery does first, then you can go back to it and add more photo’s later)

The other options for the Gallery are to chose if you want the photo’s to show up in the order you selected them, or in Random order.  The next feature to choose is the Style for your Gallery.  You have the following options:  Tiles, Square Tiles, Circles, or Slideshow.  (currently, mine is in the slideshow style)

That’s it!  Just remember to click Save before you leave that page!  Now go view your WordPress home page to see what it looks like.  If you don’t like a certain style (ie: slideshow), then go back to your dashboard, then to appearance, then widgets, and open your Gallery widget and select another style, then click save.  It’s was fun playing with this and I had to show you all in case you did not know about this WordPress feature.

So, what do you think?  Pretty neat, eh!

Just in case you missed my other blogging tips, you can read them here:
TIP No. 1:  How to Add Tickers to your blog
Tip No. 2:  How to Create an Animated GIF
Tip No. 3:  How to add a Watermark to your photographs

14 thoughts on “Spruce Up Your Side Bar in WordPress

  1. Thank-you sooo much for posting this tip. I followed your instructions to the letter – and guess what? – I did it! This technologically-challenged blogger is soooo grateful to you! I really felt quite proud of myself and it has added so much to my side bar. Love Nikitaland – I get my fix with your gorgeous pups – AND I get great WordPress tips – AND so much more … Thank-you, thank-you. x

    • Hi Dani! You are so welcome and I am glad that it worked for you! I did head on over to your blog to see it and I love it! Now, if you want to add more photo’s, you can just by going back in and adding them from your media file! Pretty cool, eh! I am so happy to hear that you love Nikitaland and our dogs! Your love for my blog makes blogging oh so worthwhile! Thank you for putting a smile on my face today with your kind words! 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, thank you for sharing this! I’m headed over to read tip 3 bc it’s something I’ve been thinking I need to do for awhile now. Thank you so much for sharing these!

  3. This is great information! I never have time to just play around and see what’s available. I made a sidebar picture in a different way, because I didn’t know this was available. So thanks so much for sharing, I’m going to give this a try too!

    • Hi Jan! I am glad that you found this useful information! Definitely use your sidebar as something informative, like if you were having a sale or something, then link it to your sale. I have lots of ways to add photo’s to the sidebar, so if you need help, let me know! 🙂

    • Thanks! I know what you mean, and that is why I am doing some research on how to change things up a bit. A little sprucing up won’t hurt, eh? Try out all of the styles for the gallery to see which ones you like. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

