Things That Go Bump in the Night

FRONT YARD

It’s official!  We have started our Halloween yard decorating (one week late) and the first thing we always work on is the “Focal Point” of the yard. Keep in mind, that the photograph above is the start to what’s to come and I wanted to show you how empty it looks now…just wait.  I did the last front yard mow for October because once we add of our lights, props, and extension cords, you cannot mow around anything. November 1st, everything is taken down and the lawn gets a much needed haircut.

The focal point is Skully and his friends carrying a handmade pallet coffin.  Skully & Friends always attract a lot of “gawkers” that drive past the house, and also lots of people stop to take photographs.  If you are new to Nikitaland, please take the time right now & subscribe as you don’t want to miss what we have coming up!  

I have to remember to do this again this year, and tally for you how many things we have placed in the front yard.  For example, a few years ago I did this and was shocked to find out that we used something like 17+ extension cords!  It is amazing on how much time is involved in just setting up Skully & his friends.  I had to stake up each skeleton into place, then get the coffin up and off the ground by more stakes, position the skeletons so they are doing what I want them to do, (they had other things in mind, but I had to tell them to knock it off and all Skully wanted to do was mow the lawn again), then tie-wrap them to the stakes, and then my Sweets came out and placed all the lights around each skeleton just perfectly!  (he is my lighting and sound effect guy for sure)

HOOKING UP THE LIGHTS IN YARD

We had to do a little surgery on the coffin yesterday, as it appears that it sagged a little sitting in the garage all this time.  I rummaged around in the garage and found some nice scraps of wood to use as braces, grabbed my drill and electric screwdriver and firmed up that saggy coffin!  It’s definitely the little touches that make or break a Halloween display!  After we got Skully and his friends up, it rained, and rained hard.  Phew!

SKELETONS IN THE RAIN

I have one more of the huge pumpkins to paint yet that I paper mached, but it is lit up in the front window for all to see.  I am in the process though of making a smaller pumpkin that I will place in the hand of one of Skully’s friends in the front yard.  This pumpkin I will have to use Flex Seal on it (found at KMart & other hardware stores for around $13) to protect it from the elements and to make sure that the paper mache pumpkin does not rot if it got soggy.  (Side note:  In case you don’t know about Flex Seal, it is used a lot in gutters to seal up any small cracks to prevent drips, and I have seen it used to seal up a cracked flower pot, and much more!)  I need to get a can anyways for our own gutters, and I will have enough left to cover the pumpkin inside and out.  Flex Seal can be painted too!

SKULLY AND FRIENDS

Our living room has come alive and it screams Halloween!  It has such an awesome orange glow that lights up the room.  I never had a Halloweenish display before inside the house, and that is why I worked so hard to make something special for us.  Now, I can enjoy our favorite holiday and have something to cherish every year!  We even found a little stuffed Jack Skeleton at Walgreens yesterday and he now sits on top of the fireplace.  So what do you think?  Do you like how our living room turned out?

LIVING ROOM

Stay tuned to see what we add to the front yard next!  Don’t forget to subscribe & follow along with us!  Who knows what you might learn, but we make it worth your while!  Stick around!

18 thoughts on “Things That Go Bump in the Night

    • OMG, now that is funny! No, we take all of this down the day after Halloween! I can’t wait to mow the lawn as it is getting really really high right now in the front yard. We do decorate for Christmas outside with the LED white icycle lights on the gutters and we use our tomato cages turned upside down and wrap white lights on them. (check out one of my blog posts from last year to see the tomato cage lights)

    • I know, didn’t it turn out awesome! I do too, love the matching stand and fireplace! Once I get a few more kitty food boxes, I am going to make another stand! Did you click on the photo to enlarge it so you could see the cute little stuffed Jack Skeleton we found?

  1. Oh my, this is just awesome! Halloween is my absolute favorite and I love seeing other people get so excited about it. Actually, you blow me out of the water! I can’t wait to see everything else!

    • It would be sooooo neat to have all of the Halloween enthusiasts living on our street so we could make some awesome displays together! On the day of Halloween, we spend the entire day bringing out all of the expensive Halloween props (IE: Our Animatronic props like Michael Myers, Freddie, and Jason Voorhees) and the kids go crazy over these guys! We have a Ripping Reaper of Souls that pulls open his chest to reveal ghouls inside his chest! Then add a few of our fog machines to the whole mix and the street gets flooded with fog! We also have spooky music playing too and all of the lighted props dance to the music. We will definitely do a video of our yard with the music and fog going so everyone can see it in action! Man, we can’t wait! The only part that stinks, is that we spend hours afterwards bringing in all of the expensive props (so that they don’t get stolen) and we do all of this for the kids and only for TWO HOURS of trick-or-treating!

    • Everyone on our street have started to decorate. My Sweetie wanted to work in the yard last weekend, but I was not up to it. We have so much more to add to our front yard, as small as it is, we cram tons of the wood tombstones that I made a few years ago, along with all the cool Halloween scary props that my Sweetie has. We just love decorating for Halloween, and now, we can enjoy the indoor display I made for us too!

  2. Wowie-Ka-Zowie, you’ve really gone above and beyond. You could offer up your skills to do window displays around town. That’s a good idea with the gutter spray. Let us know how it turns out. I see you’ve finished your fireplace and pumpkin stand too. Crazy amount of hours you must have into it. Wicked!

    • Oooooh yes, it did take many many hours to complete all of these paper mache items! I am so glad that the fireplace is completed along with the stand too. I just have that one more pumpkin to paint from the living room, and the little one I am making that Skully will hold. I will definitely let everyone know how that Flex Seal works on the little pumpkin! I will have to spray a couple of layers on it to make sure it is sealed really really well! 🙂 Wicked is correct!

    • Hi Easy! We are so happy with how everything turned out! Did you see the cool Jack Skeleton doll I picked up last night at Walgreens too? Nikita and Bella want him so badly but I will not let them anywhere near him!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

