BREAKING NEWS: Ariel Castro Hung Himself in Prison

.:BREAKING NEWS:.
Cleveland, Ohio, September 3, 2013

It’s all over the news this morning, that rapist & kidnapper, Ariel Castro, committed suicide last night in his prison cell.  He apparently hung himself with his bed sheets.  Here is the link to the news article:  CASTRO

Here’s a bit of the timeline I kept track of:

  • May 6, 2013 – Amanda Berry, Gina DeJesus, & Michelle Knight were found alive after more than ten years in captivity, Ariel Castro was arrested
  • May 9, 2013 – Ariel Castro appeared in court with an $8 MIL bond
  • August 1, 2013 – Ariel Castro’s sentencing hearing, sentenced to life in prison without parole + 1,000 years
  • August 7, 2013 – Ariel Castro’s house on Seymour Avenue in Cleveland, OH was torn down
  • September 3, 2013 – Ariel Castro committed suicide in prison with his own bed sheets

Hearing this today in the news has brought up so many thoughts.  The first thought was that he held these girls, now women, for more than ten years in captivity in his home.  That’s approximately 3,650 days.  Castro has been in jail since May 9th, approximately 120 days.  What’s ironic is that he could not take it any longer after only approximately 120 days in captivity, and he took his own life, while these women had to endure the amount of time they did in Castro’s hell in his home.

He took so much away from these women, and also Amanda Berry’s child Joslyn, whom Castro was confirmed to be the father.  He took away their childhood, their families whom loved them, their friends, their life, their freedom.

Judgement Day surely came for Castro last night.  The Monster is dead.

Other related posts:
Two Story House of Evidence
Cleveland, OH is Now at Peace

10 thoughts on “BREAKING NEWS: Ariel Castro Hung Himself in Prison

  1. I was just speaking to my colleague about this – it has hardly made the news here in South Africa, the only reason why I found out is because I follow Slate on Twitter and I saw an article they posted about it.

    Robyn (Wally & Sammy)

  2. This might be controversial; I realize he’s a monster. I realize what he did was cruel to the women. As appalled as I am of his behaviour, I still can’t celebrate the fact that he hung himself. I say this only because as gross as I think his actions were, I know I couldn’t have pulled the trigger of a gun pointed at him…but that’s just me. I suppose the ultimate deciding factor is if his death brings his victims true closure and peace? For me, THAT would be the only bright spot in this whole sad story.

    • I definitely understand what you are saying, and I too could not have shot him if I had the chance. All of this just puts some things into perspective along with a lot of relief for these women. But, no one ended his life but him. He chose his ending.

  3. I guessed it, He is a coward . He did the worst to this women and when he has to be responsible for his cruelty doings he commits suicide. But after all it’s a better world without him and his victims know he will never come back.

    • It is a coward’s way out, and he took it. He would have never lasted 10 years like what he put those women through. He lasted four months. Closure can now come for these women.

  4. My wife and I both said a harmonious “good”. So much more to say but this sums it up nicely. He did to himself what the so-called justice system in this country should have done. America needs to stop coddling criminals and deliver true justice.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

