Garden Update 8-12-13

Yes, I know that I am late with our garden update this week, but it has been a busy crazy week, and I am just glad that I had the time now to prepare this post.  I climbed up on a ladder to take the photograph below.  Click on the photo to view our garden better!

OUR GARDEN 8-12-13

We are still continuing to battle with the critters in our garden.  Now, we are dealing with ground hogs.  I noticed two large ground hogs last week behind our fence chasing each other around in the neighbors yard, and all I kept saying to myself is “just keep your butts over there”.  Well, they didn’t listen.

Ground Hog Ate the Cucumbers

Ground Hog Ate the Cucumbers

 

A ground hog got into the garden over the weekend and chewed down a section of our cucumber patch.  He just dug a huge hole under the fence and walked right in.  I am determined to “win” this battle as I have been screwing in long pieces of pallet onto our fence at the bottom to keep them out.  I first hammered the pieces of pallet deep into the dirt as good as I can, then screwed the pallet piece to the fence.  So far, it has kept them out, until yesterday when they found another little spot to dig under.  I fixed that spot too.  I am to the point where I wish I had some barbed wire to place all around the garden, or perhaps make a “dome” over the entire garden to keep all of these critters out.

BOARDING UP THE GARDEN

Both of us are just so tired of battling with all of these critters this gardening season and are close to just throwing in the towel, but I still have a little fight left in me.  Our tomato plants are steadily starting to produce more frequently, and we’re now picking red peppers and cucumbers too from the garden.  It is just such a wonderful feeling to be able to eat what you grew yourself.

RED PEPPER 8-12-13

To date, this is the total number of veggies we have picked from our garden:  (Note:  Don’t forget that our garden had a deer jump our fence and it took down a good portion of our garden, so it had to re-grow most of the plants – – that’s why we are a little behind in what our garden has produced)

  • Juliet Tomatoes – 55
  • Big Boy Tomatoes – 15
  • Cucumbers – 3
  • Red Peppers – 2

The sunflowers that Auntie Rene gave us are doing great, but the ground hog ate two of them.  I climbed up on the ladder to take a pic of the top of the tallest sunflower just to see what it looked like.  It’s been awhile since I grew a sunflower, so I was curious.  The tallest one is about 18-19 slats high next to the garage.

SUNFLOWER 8-12-13

SUNFLOWERS 8-12-13

The pumpkins are slowly growing and we are only crossing our fingers that we can actually get some grown before Halloween.  Man, what else can go wrong for us this year?

PUMPKINS AND CUCUMBERS 8-12-13

Cucumbers are producing nicely and there are tons of little cucs on the vines.  We just hope that no more ground hogs attack our garden.

CUCUMBER 8-12-13

Our Flat Dutch Cabbage is doing well, but the ground hog got a few of them too.

FLAT DUTCH CABBAGE 8-12-13

Since our weather has changed quite a bit to a more cooler Fall like temps, we are curious as to how the garden is going to react.  All we do is just keep watering and keep our fingers crossed that we can survive this garden season.  It has been a tough season, and just like last year, we learned a lot and will go into the next season with more experience.  What did not work this year, we will correct it for next year.

 

24 thoughts on “Garden Update 8-12-13

    • Oh thank you! We have worked extremely hard on our garden this year. Roy and I are so proud of it, and in the same breath, are disappointed on how much of our garden all of these critters have damaged and eaten. I told you that I am close to giving up, but I have a little fight left in me. I am glad that I can be an inspiration to you! 🙂

  1. First off, kudo’s for MacGyvering your fence all by yourself. ‘Have tools, will rock it’ that-a-girl, get er’ done. LOL. Must be maddening to see your hard work foiled by them little ground hogs, but what I might do is plant a 2nd garden near the fence next year just for them. They’d get fat and lazy and not mess with your primary garden….or just go to Safeways for Groundhog snacks and throw it over the fence so they stay at the neighbours. Well, that’s all I got….good luck hon! It all looks fab.

  2. Um…I think I’ve said so before, but it is my opinion that Nikita is one lucky pup to have such easy access to all that yummy goodness! My people keep a tall fence around our garden to stave off the deer and rabbits. And me….ugh. 🙂

    • Oh we have a six foot high fence around our garden too and when the deer got in, they jumped the fence. Nikita and Bella love going into the garden with Mommy because they think they are going into a room.

      • We’ve heard that deer can jump straight up and over something really high, so it did not surprise us that they jumped our garden fence. We just don’t know what else we can put up (height wise) to keep em out of our garden. By the way, I am going to be posting something really funny tomorrow, so keep watching! 🙂

    • Thank you very much! I don’t want to feed the animals/critters, even though I know they have to eat too. It is just frustrating to deal with this each and every day. I know what you mean, that color of the pepper is so beautiful! Thanks for stopping by today! 🙂

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

