Paper Mache Halloween Projects

PAPER MACHE PUMPKIN WITH CURVED MOUTH

I know what you’re thinking, what are you doing talking about Halloween in July, right? Well, we LOVE Halloween and it takes time for us to prepare anything new for our Home Haunt, so we have to start early.

Paper Mache projects take a lot of time, with all the layers you need to attach, and with each layer, you need to do a lot of waiting to make sure each layer dries thoroughly before the next one is placed.

To start making a paper mache pumpkin, you can use whatever form you want, but I start usually with a large bag and fill it up with balled up newspaper or any other filling you can find.  Then, once the form is made, I take string and pull it up along the sides to make those nice indents along the sides of the pumpkin.  Next, you need to decide on how you are going to create the stem.  Sometimes, I just tie up the top of the bag for the stem and paper mache over it, other times, I take some newspaper and wrap it around a piece of wire so I can bend the stem in a funky shape.

PAPER MACHE FIREPLACE

I am currently working on a Haunted Fireplace for us to use either in the house as a decoration, or we can use it outside on Halloween night for another prop.  I am planning on setting some of my paper mache pumpkins on top of the mantel of the fireplace when I am done for a nice effect.

PAPER MACHE FIREPLACE CLOSEUP

The one thing that I will need to work on and figure out how to do this, is to create a fake fire for the fireplace.  I have seen some neat effects of people using an old wire garbage can, a small fan, some red & orange lights, and some pieces of material.  The concept of this is to place the fan in the bottom of the garbage can so it blows upward and “moves” the pieces of material cut into flame shapes while the red and orange lights create the color of fire.  We’ll see if I can get this to work, when I get to that point or step in my process, but it surely will be interesting if I can pull this off.

PAPER MACHE PUMPKINS IN PROGRESS

If anyone would love to do some paper mache pumpkins for Halloween and need some help getting started, let me know and I will be more than happy to assist you.  I am far from being an expert on this, but with the more items that I make, I am learning some neat tricks along the way.

41 thoughts on “Paper Mache Halloween Projects

      • what did you use to attach the boxes to each other? If you could send instruction, that would be great! I have many of those UPS boxes!

      • Sorry for the delay…! I just used wide masking tape to attach the boxes together. DO NOT use that clear shipping/packing tape as the paper mache slides right off of it!!

        HUGE NOTE FOR YOU: And this is one thing that I wish I had known about when I made mine….. before you close your UPS boxes up, stuff lots of rolled up newspaper, some cardboard, or anything into the center of that UPS box before you start paper maching! The reason I am telling you this is because I just took a UPS box, closed it up, and taped it together to form my fireplace. What happened to the UPS boxes after it had layers and layers of paper mache on it? It made the center of the boxes “dip” or “sink in” a little bit and I was not happy that I saw that. I hope you can follow along with what I just said.

        Don’t get me wrong, the one I made is beautiful and I love it, but now that I saw that the box did not have any support in the middle of it when the cardboard was drying, I would have “stuffed” something inside each box first so the box kept its shape. Good luck!

    • I agree! We have had a few people already tell us that we should sell them, but our only issue would be is “how do we ship them?” We would need to have a box to fit the fireplace in. It is turning out fantastic and I am thinking about what I am going to place on top of the mantel now. I am thinking of a spooky candelabra or two with some pumpkins! Also, we are going to make “fake” fire/flames too to insert inside the fireplace! Just wait and see what we come up with! You will be surprised for sure! 🙂

    • Hey Zoe! It is coming along nicely for sure, ain’t it! LOL This has to be one of my coolest paper mache items by far! Don’t fret, I will be keeping everyone updated on my progress! 🙂

  1. I LOVE Halloween too! With all the talk of pumpkins and reading your old Halloween posts I have been getting really excited about it even though it’s months away. I’m already starting to research costumes! All of your decorations look really awesome, you’re so crafty! Do you do a public Home Haunt that people can come through?

    • Oh gosh no, we just decorate our front yard for Halloween for all the trick-or-treaters. We only let them walk up the drive to get their candy and we don’t let them run through the props in the front yard because their are too many cords and wires and someone could get hurt. Safety first kiddos! I am glad that I am inspiring you, as well as others, to get creating for Halloween! You definitely have to start around “now” to get projects like these done.

      If you get someone involved with you to do these projects, it makes it MORE fun! 🙂

  2. Oh wows! That is just amazin’!!! I likes the pumpkins and the fireplace! You are much more inspired than Ma…it’s just sad. Maybe you’ll rub off on her!! (let’s hope…..BOL)
    Can’t wait to see it done!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • Tell your Mommy to get going! Pull out some newspaper and a large bag and string, and make some pumpkins! All I use for the paper mache mix is flour & water, that’s it! You can add some elmers glue to it if you want. Your Mommy will be hooked once she starts! Catch the paper mache fever!!

  3. Those pumpkins are so COOL!! They are really creative and scary 🙂 I cant wait to see your completed fireplace too, it sounds like the flames will be a little challenging to work out, but totally worth the effort! Have a great weekend 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I have so much fun creating them! I am almost done with just the basic fireplace as of today, still have a few more spots to paper mache, then I am going to work on some embellishments for the front of it. The basket of flames will be a little tricky to make, but I have an idea on how to do it. Have a wonderful weekend too!

  4. Val, YOU ARE VERY, VERY SPECIAL!!!! AND, YOU ARE VERY, VERY SPECIAL TO ME AND TO ALL OF US OUT HERE!!!! Double Hugs, Karen XO

  5. Hey Val,
    As I have said many times before, Val, you are SO amazing and VERY talented!! Your fireplace looks so cool already!! I can’t wait to see the finished product!! I know that it is going to be FANTASTIC!! Hugs, Karen XO

    • Oh Karen, You make me feel so special! Thank you for the wonderful comment! You know how much we LOVE Halloween. I enjoy making all of our props for us. I hope to even make some ground breaker skeletons for us too before Halloween. This just takes a lot of time to do, but the results are amazing! Glad you like the props so far!

      Hugs,
      Val

  6. Great!!! I wish you would be my neighbour and we could do it together. It looks gorgeous! I plan to make some tombstones with paper mache and I will try to make some for outside from cement (maybe with a thin wire mesh inside). The fireplace is such a great idea – I LOVE IT!

    • I got the thought to make a fireplace because we don’t have one and I always wanted to put some decorations on a mantel for Halloween. Now I can! I cut our tombstones from wood! Have fun & show me what you do!

      • Oh we know that too well. We spend an entire day carrying out our expense Halloween props outside to finish off the yard for the trick-or-treaters, and after two hours of trick-or-treating….it’s over! Then we spend the rest of the night carrying the expensive props back inside. It then takes me two entire days to pack everything back up for next year. We know, it sucks, but we do it for the love of Halloween and for the kids. They love our animatronic props that scare them!

    • I love paper mache and it is so easy to do! I am a mess afterwards, but it cleans up nicely! Look back on prior years posts for all of our Halloween decorating both inside and outside in the yard. You’ll like it! Last year, I even made a coffin out of old pallets that I propped up on three skeletons in the front yard! We got LOTS of looks with that display!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

