Foodie Alert: Polka Dot Cake

HOW TO MAKE A POLKA DOT CAKE TODAY

Experimenting in the kitchen is a lot of fun.  Some times things go horribly wrong, complete disasters, while other things turn out better than expected.  This is one of those times where everything turned out delicious!

I have been making cake pops awhile now, ever since my Sweetie got me a cake pop maker.  Never in a blue moon would I have ever thought of placing cake pops inside a “cake”… until I did it this weekend.

So here’s the scoop on what I did to make the coolest looking cake in the world!  (well, maybe not the entire world, but in this household it got rave reviews!)

To make this cake, I bought two different boxes of cake mixes, one white and one chocolate (Devil’s Food Cake, to be exact).  I mixed the white cake up first exactly as the box directed me to, then I divided out three portions of this cake batter into three bowls, and added a few drops of food coloring to each.  This is what the cake pops are going to be from.

PINK

BLUE

YELLOW

After I got the perfect color mixed, I poured the batter into my Cake Pop Maker and cooked them for about 5 minutes.  I went through all three bowls of colored cake batter and made as many cake pops as I could.  Once all of this batter was gone, and the cake pops were cooling, I started to mix up my second cake batter.  I used a chocolate Devil’s Food cake mix for my cake.

Next, I poured a thin layer of the chocolate cake batter on the bottom of two 9″ round cake pans and spread it around evenly, then I placed the colored cake pops on top of the batter, and evenly distributed the colors throughout the entire pan.  Then, I added the remaining chocolate cake batter on top of the cake pops to complete the cake and covered them up.

COVER CAKE BALLS WITH CAKE BATTER

Side note:  I had a small portion of my white cake mix batter left from making the cake pops, so I decided to pour the white cake mix on top of the chocolate batter and swirled it around a bit.  I kinda liked the look of it as now it looks marbled.  (did not want to waste any cake batter ya know)

I baked the cake according to the directions on the box, and tested the cake by poking it a few times with a toothpick.  (ya know that ole toothpick tester method that we all love)  Once done, of course the cake had to cool before being frosted.  Now, this is where I am on pins and needles as I am dying to know “what” happened to the cake pops inside the cake!  Time passed slowly at this point… must know, must know, must know what happened!

COOL CAKE ON WIRE RACK

To make a long story short, the cake cooled, it was frosted, and the cake knife found its way inside that delicious cake awaiting to be eaten.  Results:  AMAZING!  What I found inside the first piece, was colored circles floating all around chocolate goodness!  This will definitely be something that I will make again now that I know this process works!

POLKA DOT CAKE READY TO EAT

Can you just imagine making a cake for Christmas like this?  Ooooh, a white cake with red and green cake pops floating inside each slice!  Now that is what I call ingenious!

What have you created in your kitchen lately?

 

44 thoughts on “Foodie Alert: Polka Dot Cake

  1. You are so CLEVER AND TALENTED, Val!! Your new creation looks sooo DELICIOUS!! I wish there was such a thing as smell-o-vision and taste-o-vision!!

    • It was a trial run that turned out fantastic! Each slice reveals more colored circles. One piece could have a pink circle, then the next slice could have three! It is such a great treat for any occasion as everyone would be surprised to see what’s inside!

  2. Oh, I gots to have Ma get one of those cake ball thingies!! BOL
    I loves balls, and edible balls???? OMD! Heaven…
    Butts puttin’ them in a cake is even betters Ma says…whatever.
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • Oh Ruby! Your Mommy should get a cake pop maker cause you can use it for so many things. Like you make the cake pops in whatever cake mix you want, and flash freeze them, then dip them in chocolate. Amazing is what they are!

  3. This cake is incredible. What a cool idea! Sadly, the only thing that went on in my kitchen today was a peanut butter and honey sandwich….. I’d MUCH rather have a hunk of polka dot cake!

    • Oh Dear me….I can share my cake with you! When we run out, I’ll make another one! It had rave reviews in this household…hands down! Definitely, I will be making more cakes like this.

    • A cake pop maker is so cool! They have lots of different versions of them too! Ones that go in the oven, and an electric one like I have! The cake was delicious!

    • I wish I could share a piece with you! I can always make another one too! It was so easy to make too! Never knew you could do this, but it turned out fantastic! 🙂

    • I was dying to know what happened to the cake pops when the cake was cooling. I wanted to cut into it so badly just to see, but I had to wait. I am so glad that it worked and just seeing little round circles in a slice of cake in bright colors was the coolest thing in the world.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

