Bazinga! How to Make Cement Letters

Recently, I have been called the Martha Stewart of crafts by a few fellow bloggers (you know who you are, and thanks!) so I decided to take my craft projects up a notch.  Today, I bring you Cement Letters!

HOW TO MAKE CEMENT LETTERS

I headed to Pat Catans over the weekend and purchased two of those hard cardboard letters, and X and an O.  Because of all the love I have for my Sweetie, I decided to cement our hugs & kisses in stone, well, so to speak.  Each letter is approximately 8″ in height and 5″ in width, and about an inch thick.

CARDBOARD HOLLOW LETTERS

First, I cut out the back of each letter with a knife, and removed the cardboard insides.  This will be the mold for the cement.  Do not cut the sides!

CUT OUT BACK OF CARDBOARD LETTER

PULL OUT INSIDES OF CARDBOARD LETTER

PULL OUT INSIDES FROM CARDBOARD LETTER

Next, I mixed up some quick drying cement & water in a bucket and made a pancake batter consistency.  If it is too thick to mix, add a little more water.  Too soupy, add a little more cement.  With quick drying cement, you truly have to work quickly as it sets really fast.  Always wear gloves when working with cement and a face mask as you do not want to breath in any cement dust.

ANCHORING CEMENT

MIXING UP THE CEMENT

Pour the cement into your cardboard letters carefully and make sure it fills up all the way up to the top of the mold.

FILLING UP CARDBOARD LETTER MOLDS WITH CEMENT

Now, you need to wait.  This is the hard part.  You need to wait at least 24 hours to remove the mold from the letter.  Do not pick up or move your mold during this 24 hour period either.

DRYING CEMENT IN MOLDS

Once your cement had hardened for 24 hours, it is time to remove the cardboard from the cement letter.  To tell you the truth, this part took a little time, but it was not hard to remove the cardboard, as it has stuck to your cement letter.  Just get one of your kitchen scrubbies, wet it, and gently rub back and forth on the cardboard and it just rolls off the letter.  Keep rubbing all around the letter until all of the cardboard is removed.  Rinse under water.  Set your letters outside to dry a bit more.

SCRUBBING OFF THE CARDBOARD ON THE BACK OF THE CARDBOARD MOLD

CEMENT ALL CLEANED

There you have it!  Cement letters for your bookshelf, your garden, a gift, your front porch, or anywhere you wish to add a little charm!  Now, I want to head back to Pat Catans and pick up a larger letter to make a really large one for the flower bed!  And, if I can find some cardboard numbers, I would like to make some cement house numbers to sit on the front porch too!  (Pat Catans just did not have any numbers when I was in the store)

FINISHED X AND O

NOTE:  If you wanted to “add” a stake to your cement letter or number, all you would need to do is make a little hole in the bottom of your letter or number mold first, insert the stake up into the letter mold, then pour the cement in the mold.  Once the cement dries, your stake will be securely attached to your letter!

With Memorial Day weekend coming up, why don’t you head on up to Pat Catans or your favorite craft store and pick up some letters to make for yourself!

23 thoughts on “Bazinga! How to Make Cement Letters

  1. I would have never thought of that in a million years, you crafty minx you. We don’t have a Pat Cantons here, I wonder if Micheals sells such things? I guess I better wait till I have a house before I start making garden art but those are very clever.

    • Yes, Michaels would have those hard cardboard letters! Just imagine this….. You get a really nice flower planter with some neat vines flowing down the sides, and right in the middle is your cement letter on a stake! Now, wouldn’t that be awesome! I would still head on up or over to Michaels to check them out! 🙂

  2. AMAZING, you are SIMPLY AMAZING, the ideas that you come up with all the time! LOVE the idea! I wonder if the cement letters can be painted colors?

    • I am sure you can paint them! There is also cement coloring too that you can add to the cement when you are mixing it up too! I still need to coat the letters with a cement sealer as the final step.

      • Cement coloring, NEAT! I LOVE that idea too! I knew that professional companies use a dye in their mixes, but I did not know that us crafty people could purchase a cement color too! We have two VERY HEAVY “Black Labs”, one sitting on each side of a mission bench, in our backyard. They look so real! When they were delivered, Harmony just looked at them and gave them a couple of sniffs! LOL It was so cute!! ENJOY your X and O!! Hugs and Kisses, Karen XO

      • Oh yes, the general public can purchase cement coloring at places like Home Depot or Lowes. It is about $5-$7 a little jar. Those black labs sound really beautiful! Send me a photograph of them when you get the chance. {{{huggies}}}

  3. Wow that is neat idea. I’ve always liked the idea of making letters and signs and such for the inside of the house but this would be *super* nice for a garden or decoration outside! That is so cool! Thanks for the quick how-to!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

