Where Did The Week Go?

It’s been about two weeks since we have any sort of rain.  Our temps have been nice, not hot, but nice and welcoming finally the arrival of Spring.  But, it appears that our temps are going to drop again for this weekend and a storm will be blowing in later today.  We need the rain.

I was outside with the dogs this morning and happened to look up and saw a beautiful deer just standing in our neighbors yard.  Man, it was so beautiful just standing there eating their lilac tree.  It started to stomp its front hoof at me when I approached to take a photograph.  Silly deer.  They are so wonderful to watch walking around the neighborhood, and are definitely a lot bigger when you are close enough to them.  The only thing that I despise about them is when they head on over to our yard and start to munch on all of our plants.  They are destructive.

DEER 5-10-13

We worked on getting our raised garden together and filled with new garden soil over the weekend.  We had 3 yards of garden soil delivered on Saturday, and Sunday we worked on getting all of that soil in the raised garden, and on Monday morning, woke up sore.  (figured that would happen)

ROY WORKING IN GARDEN

VAL WORKING IN GARDEN

Not to mention that I got sunburned on my back.  You forget about putting on any sunscreen this early in the year, and you definitely pay for it later, like I am now.  My back is peeling like how a snake sheds it skin.  Yuck!  We also had to put up the 6 foot high fence around the garden again, like we did last year, to keep the deer out.  We even have a wood door to walk into the garden too, pretty cool, eh?  Now, our next problem to address is how to keep the chipmunks away from pulling our seeds out of the ground like they did last year.  So, what we are going to do, is cut the bottom off all of the plastic Creamora bottles we have been saving and place the  bottles over the seeds and seedlings when they start to emerge from the soil, just to keep the chippies away.  (oh yeah, you leave the top off the bottle too, to let air in)

Roy got a lot of things planted over the weekend as he was chomping at the bit to get the garden started already.  We had a great day to do this on Sunday.  After all the new soil was added to the garden, he planted us some Romaine Lettuce, Black Seeded Simpson Leaf Lettuce, Zucchini, and some Jack Be Little Pumpkins.  We had no luck last year with our zucchini, so this year I hope we have a better shot at getting some as I am dying to make some homemade zucchini bread.  Yum!

At this time of year, we are always busy.  Right now, I am still working my way around the house painting.  Trying to fit that in around all of the outside work to do.  Since we loved the Behr Gobi Desert color we painted in the bedroom, we decided to do the kitchen in it too.  The kitchen was only painted white, so adding a tad of color to it really looks beautiful.  It’s a very nice neutral color, and once I get a few things up on the wall, like photographs of the dogs in nice black frames, it will look marvelous!

We also got a nice new rain barrel from our new neighbors last week.  Since we almost passed out from the water bills last year watering the garden, we were so thankful and appreciative that we were able to get this rain barrel.  This will definitely save us lots of money on watering the garden this summer.  So, we have the rain barrel now, and we had to figure out how to hook it up since we never had one before.  We did research online and found lots of places that had parts to hook to the rain barrel, but when I was in KMart, I purchased a “gutter extension” flexible hose for $10.99 that worked perfectly for our needs.  I got my jigsaw out and cut a hole on top of the rain barrel in the size of the one end of the flexible hose, made sure the hose fit perfectly, then took our sharp garden scissors and cut the gutter.  After that, it was basically all done, as I just had to slide the gutter into the flexible hose and the hookup was complete.  With the rain storm arriving later today, we can’t wait to start collecting water!

FLEX-A-SPOUT

RAIN BARREL

Once this cold spell passes us this weekend, I am going to start taking all of our plants outside for small increments to harden them off.  After a week of doing this, they will be ready to be planted into the garden.  Man, I can’t even tell you how excited we are about picking our first pile of fresh home grown veggies!  I can taste my first tomato salad now!  And, I can’t wait to show you the progression of our garden too with photographs.  I also thought it would be really neat to do a slideshow of the garden.  What I was thinking, was to take a photograph of the garden every Monday morning from the same spot, and so on, and see how the garden grows in week increments!  It should look like the garden is growing right in front of you!

Bella and I took a walk in the park the other day and talked with a few people.  Bella met this adorable little girl who fed her doggie treats.  Bella was so nice to her and even gave her a little kissie on her nose.  The little girl giggled.  Bella also got to meet a small doggie on our walk named Buster.  Both Buster and Bella did their funny thing of running around in circles like little tazmanian devils.  It was funny to watch!

BELLA AND VAL ON SLIDE

BELLA SIDEWALK CHALK

Bella meets Buster in the Park

Bella meets Buster in the Park

I am not sure where this whole week went.  it just seemed to fly by in a blink of an eye.  I can’t believe it’s Friday already.  What do you have planned for your weekend?

22 thoughts on “Where Did The Week Go?

  1. Hi guys, love the pic of the deer – we don’t really get them in the wild here (Aus) but we do get the odd kangaroo!! I’m looking forward to seeing the progress of your veggie garden – it’s something we’d like to do one day when we can move to the country and have some land….. dreaming… one day it will happen!

    • An odd kangaroo? Now, that is something that we don’t get to see over here, but if we did, I would hope that I had my camera on me at that time! LOL I just did a post on what our plants look like this morning, and soon we will be taking them out and into the garden.

  2. OMG, you’re really getting things done! Sorry about the sunburn, geez I’ve done that before but I’m getting really cautious now a days since I’ve had to have a few brown spots lazered off. One turned up right on my lip just all of a sudden. Your deer pic is gorgeous, I could watch them all day, hopefully your fence will keep them at bay. Loved the rain barrel too. I had several round the house at the lake, they sure help.

    You are just the cutest little thing. How to you keep your figure so slight with all the yummy cooking you do? I’ve been really good on my Vacation but we’ll see when I get home……might be “YIKES”!

    I haven’t had any time to post, we’re never in our room long enough. I’m jumping in the shower right now to be at breaky for 9am Hope your day is FAB

    • Hi Boomie! That was by far the best deer photograph that I have taken! Our rain barrel is starting to get filled up since we had pouring rain here on Friday for about an hour & half, then our temps took a “dive” and it actually snowed here on Sunday! That fence we put around the garden does in fact keep em out! Worked like a charm last year. My little figure? I have always been kinda tiny, but I am always doing stuff over here to keep me in shape – no couch potato here! Heck, splurge when you are on vacation! Wine & dine, eat goodies every day, and drink like a fish. Have fun! Miss you!

      • Well Dang-nam-it…how’d I miss your nice reply? Somewhere’s between packing and who know’s what. I find things in my ‘Unread’ file and think ‘Balls!’

        Anywho, agreed…”you are NO couch potato” and your home, your pets, your man and your awesome figure all benefit! BTW, I did my best on the drinking thing in Napa but after the first 15 wine testings I bailed…..such a light weight LOL

      • I love that….”Light Weight”! LOL I think I just peed my pants a little. I could never be called a couch potato ever! I worked hard (again) today and poured myself a nice glass of Catawba Wine from the Islands cause I deserved it darn it!

  3. Hi Nikita and Bella!, It’s Harmony! It has been a long time since we have been in contact with you! My Mommy has been trying to post comments on your Blog without any success! So, I thought that I would give it a try! I hope this one works!! We have been having some issues with our local internet server, so maybe that is why!? GRRR!!! We are ALL caught up reading ALL of your Blogs and loved ALL of them!!! I LOVE the picture that your Mommy took of the deer! And, I hope that it leaves your garden alone! We have LOTS of VERY friendly rabbits, chipmunks, squirrels, and birds! We LOVE our animal friends and feed them, but we hope that they mind their manners and stay OUT of OUR garden too!! I told them that it is OFF LIMITS to them! WOOF WOOF!!! Please tell your Mommy “Happy Mommy’s Day” from ALL OF US!! And, we hope that ALL of YOU have a GREAT weekend!!!!!!! Love, Harmony (and My Mommy, My Daddy, and My Brother too!!!) XOXOXOXO

    • Hey Harmony, Mommy & Daddy & Christopher! It is soooo nice to hear from you! WE MISSED HEARING FROM YOU! I am glad that you are all caught up on what is going on over here! Lots has been going on and it is soon gardening time! Thank you so much for your donation to the APL Pledge For Pets! We went down to the APL today and Nikita and Bella were a huge hit and met lots of new friends. Glad you liked that deer photo, and it appears that everyone else did too! Keep in touch! Glad your message finally got through to us today! Hugs & kisses! Woof!

  4. OMD…that deer is aroootiful. We don’t have deer here so that picture is especially fascinating to us.

    Your raised garden looks suspiciously like a sand pit to us…can we come over & help you dig in it??

    Miss Bella is just aroootiful – her furs is just like Sammy’s, all different colours.

    Hope your sunburn gets better soon.

    Wally & Sammy

    • Nikita and Bella probably would love to play in all that dirt too, but they can’t now cause we have some seeds planted. When we first built it, Nikita loved running around in it! I loved that deer photo too! We have them all over the neighborhood and we usually see about 8-9 of them together. Sunburn is better, just peeling…ug. Woof!

    • Watching the garden grow is “exciting”, and we can’t wait! I grew up enjoying zucchini bread as my Mom would make it for us all the time. Nothing beats a warm piece of zucchini bread with a little butter on it. YUM!

  5. You are so right…the deer is gorgeous!!! I haven’t seen one in years…well 9 to be exact, since moving south.The soil you guys bought for the garden wow…so rich and black. You are going to have the best garden in Ohio!!! That is quiet the harness contraption you have on Bella! I like that it doesn’t pull on her neck…your a great mommy.

    • How are you feeling my friend? The deer are beautiful for sure! I was actually standing there this morning enjoying the smell of the lilac trees wafting through the air and I looked up and saw the deer. It was neat! Yep, the soil we got this year already was mixed with all the goodies, so we do hope that our crop is plentiful this year! Oh yes, that harness works wonders! I do not like hooking a leash to their collar as it chokes them. All of their harnesses go under their arms and around the belly for comfort! Yes, I am for sure a good Mommy! I wonder what I am going to get for Mother’s Day? hee hee hee

  6. I think it will be fun to watch the garden grow in weekly pictures. Lord knows, Mom can’t grow anything around here. When she shops for a basil or parsley plant, I can almost hear them saying, “No! Don’t choose me!” They know they are doomed.

    I think the deer looks like a ballerina.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • I just had to share that photograph of the deer, it was awesome! Oh you poor thing! I can’t believe plants are doomed in your presence! We need to get someone to help you! Or some water! LOL

  7. The deer wasn’t stomping, just trying to pose for you with the one leg up. 🙂

    Do you walk around with your camera all the time, to get such great photos?

    • LOL, now that is funny! One leg up! Was the deer posing like that commercial for the Captain Morgan…with one leg up? 🙂 And yes, I do have my camera with me almost all of the time. I have had too many photo ops pass me by, so I decided to keep it close!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

