How To Add A Watermark To Your Photographs

BLOGGING TIPSDON’T STEAL THAT!  “That’s Mine”.  It happens every day. Someone steals your photograph and uses it as their own.  Shame on you!  Being a photographer, you work hard. You strive to get the best shot. You slave sometimes over your computer to tweak it until it is perfect.  It takes hours, some times days.  You take pride in the work that you do and above all, you don’t want someone to just swoop in and steal your work.  It happens.  We’re not happy with it.  But there is a way that you can safeguard your photographs on your blog or your website.  Simply, place a Watermark on each and every photograph you take and upload to your blog, otherwise, you are leaving yourself wide open to the possibility of someone stealing it.  That’s the last thing you want to happen after all the work you put into taking a great photo, right?

BLOG TIP NO 3HOW TO ADD A WATERMARK TO YOUR PHOTOGRAPHS:

Head on over to PicMonkey and click on Create A Collage.  Let’s get started!

 

 

STEP 1: Click on Create A Collage

STEP 1 CREATE A COLLAGE

STEP 2: A collage of three panels opens

STEP 2 COLLAGE OPENS UP

STEP 3:  Hover mouse in corner of one of the three collage boxes.

Click the “X” to remove one of the three cells.  Now you have 2 cells.

Click the “X” again in the 2nd box until you only have 1 cell left.

STEP 3 CLICK TO REMOVE CELL

STEP 4:  Now that you have only one panel showing, click on the Background button (which looks like a paint pad).  Check the box for a “Transparent Background”

STEP 6 CLICK TRANSPARENT BACKGROUND

STEP 7 TRANSPARENT

STEP 5:  Click Save.  Name your file.  Save your file as a PNG, not a JPG.

STEP 9 SAVE AS A PNG

STEP 6:  After you have saved your test watermark to your computer, go back to PicMonkey and click on Edit Photo.  Open up your test watermark with the transparent background.

STEP 10 EDIT PHOTO

STEP 7:  This is where you will begin to create your Watermark design.  Click on the “P” for Text.

STEP 11 CLICK THE P FOR TEXT

STEP 8:  This is the fun part!  In PicMonkey, you have lots of free fonts to play with, so have fun.  Click to Add Text.  A text box opens.  Type what you want for your watermark.  Hint:  You can add more than one text box too for your watermark with different fonts too!  (for my example, I used two text boxes with two different fonts)

STEP 12 ADD TEXT

STEP 9:  View what your watermark will look like.  If you don’t like it, you can change it at this point.

STEP 13 CREATE YOUR WATERMARK

STEP 10:  Crop your Watermark.  Click on the Crop button and crop around your Watermark as close as you can without damaging your text.

STEP 14 CROP WATERMARK

STEP 11:  Once you have cropped your Watermark (as shown above in my example), you need to Save it again, and make sure you save it as a PNG and not a JPG.  Your Watermark is now ready to be used on any of your photographs.  (Note:  You can use this new Watermark over and over again)

STEP 12:  Open a Photograph that you want to add your Watermark to.  (Hi Nikita!)

STEP 16 OPEN PHOTOSTEP 13:  Click on Overlays

STEP 15 OPEN PHOTO ADD OVERLAY

STEP 14:  Click on Add your Own Overlay, which is going to be the Watermark file you just created.

STEP 17 ADD YOUR OWN OVERLAY

STEP 15:  Your new Watermark will now pop up on top of your photograph.    You can resize your Watermark just by dragging the sides of the box around the Watermark.  Place your Watermark where you want on your photograph.  Make sure it the the size you want, and you’re done!  Now, just  save your photograph and you have now locked in your Watermark on your photograph permanently.

STEP 18 DRAG SIDES OF WATERMARK TO RESIZE

Here is the finished photograph with its new Watermark!

NIKITA LOOKING UP

You will not have to go through all of the steps above to add a Watermark to a photograph.  I know what you are thinking, phew!  Once you have created your Watermark & have saved it, all you will need to do is open PicMonkey, edit photo, click on add overlay (which will be your Watermark) and place your Watermark where you want it on your photo.  Save photo.

I just wanted to be as detailed as I could to give you the dirt on how to create a Watermark for your photographs.  It is important to protect your work.  It is important to protect what is yours.  It is important to stop others from stealing from you and using your photographs as their own.  It ends here.  Now, get going and protect what is yours!  You will thank me later.

And, as always, if you get stuck in any of these steps, let me know and I will be more than happy to assist you!

If you missed the first two blog tips, here they are:
TIP No. 1:  How to Add Tickers to your blog
Tip No. 2:  How to Create an Animated GIF

 

19 thoughts on “How To Add A Watermark To Your Photographs

  1. Thank you so much for this. I’m not nearly the photographer you are, but I still don’t like seeing my work stolen. I am going to try this out as soon as I get home!

    • What? You are an awesome photographer as I love all the photographs on your blog! I am not an expert photographer either, but I do try my best! I also love using http://www.picmonkey.com for editing my photographs! Check that out too when you get the chance! I hear you on not liking people who steal your photo’s without your permission! Have fun playing around with your watermarks!

  2. I have SUPER appreciated this post. It has had me thinking for several days. I think I need to consistently watermark my pics. I WANT people to steal them. I WANT them out there. But I want my name out there, too, if that makes sense. THANK YOU, baby!

    • Now, that is a different way to think of how to use a watermark! Glad I could help! In PicMonkey, you have lots of fonts to get creative with, so have fun! Can’t wait to see your new Watermark!

  3. This is definately on my list to do…if you could see my list…sigh!! Isn’t it sad that we have to do this in the first place? Hoping your family has a great Easter and that they love their bunnies!! I am going to try to take off some time from computerland for the next four days.

    • I think we need to protect what’s ours for sure! I just did one today in a black font color, as the one I did in the tutorial was in a white font and might not be good for some photographs. It’s simple, but effective and you can re-size it right on your photo. Even if you had a “logo” made that you use, it can be used in this same way too. Glad you follow along with my blogging tips! 🙂

  4. I’ve never been to PicMonkey, thanks Val, gonna check it out. I’ve been hoping to find an alternate photo editor on line since the one I use doesn’t always work well. Awesome. Cute picture of Nikita with those big brown eyes looking up sideways…LOL. xK

    • I used to use Picnik, but they shutdown their doors last year, it was sad. PicMonkey is awesome! If you need assistance in creating a Watermark, let me know! 🙂 Speaking of photos of Nikita, I have been working on painting our bedroom and I was going to go to Staples Copy Center and get an Engineers Print made of a few of Nikita’s photos! I think the Engineers Prints are 20×30 and always in black and white for under $4. Hugs!

      • Mwwwaaaa, thanks for that Val. Are you planning a reno-redo Post on your painting project? That’s a great price on the b&w’s. I didn’t know they printed photo’s that affordable, awesome tip, thanks…merci xK

      • The bedroom redo is not a biggie, just something that needed done. Check with your local Staples Copy Center to verify if they do Engineering Prints. They are really cheap to print, and always in black and white, so choose your photo wisely. We’re going to choose some good pics of the dogs!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

