The Never Ending Winter

BELLA ENJOYING THE SNOW

For those of us still dealing with the ugliness of the Winter season, the dirty snow piles along the road sides, the endless chore of shoveling the driveway, the layers of clothes we wear outside, the cold winds blowing in your face, and then noticing all the pee spot damage done to the backyard by the dogs, it’s no wonder we don’t all go crazy to a certain degree.  The arrival of Spring will be surely welcomed around here.

NIKITA LIGHT

BELLA LIGHT

I am to the point where I can’t even watch it snow any longer and every day it does, I cringe.  Day after day, more snow, and today we got freezing rain.  When will this end already?  Since I ran out of salt for the driveway today, I had to pour boiling hot water on it to melt the ice so the dogs would not hurt themselves when they jumped out the back door.  They were trying to run on the drive and they looked like cartoon characters running – – but going no where fast!  They are, however, enjoying all the snow and love running around in it, digging holes in the snow piles, and coming up with snow piled up on their noses.

SNOW

PINK BOOTS

I long for the day when I can open the windows and feel a breeze blowing in and I am sure the dogs can’t wait for that too, as they sit by the window and sniff all day long watching the neighborhood.  I know that with the arrival of Spring, that there will be a lot of work to be done in the yard, but I am ready for it.  Just to be able to head outside and cut the grass or work in the garden are things that I can’t wait for.  Not to mention, I’ve got to fix the ruts in our yard from our neighbor driving on our grass and doing property damage.  (that’s another story)

BELLA ON WATCH

NIKITA GOT A NEW TOY

NIKITA AND BUNNY

Nikita & Bella got a new toys and had a lot of fun playing with them.  Nikita loves grabbing it and whipping it around in the air, then catching it and I love it how her floofy hair flies around when she does this!

How are you dealing with your weather where you live?  Are you enjoying your Spring or Summer right now while we are still digging out of snow?  We would love to hear your stories!

SIGNATURE BOX VALERIE AT NIKITALAND

14 thoughts on “The Never Ending Winter

  1. Pingback: Almost! | Free Range Cow

  2. You had me at ‘spring’!
    We’ve only had one real snowfall here so far this winter (although the remnants are still laying around outside). Still – I am SO ready for warmer weather! 🙂

  3. I TOTALLY understand where you are coming from, but for some strange reason I am truly enjoying the winter out our way. Saturday was blustery and foreboding while Sunday offered a sunny chill. I stood in the doorway both days, taking deep breaths of cold, clean air. I LOVED this line, tho, and can relate from previous winters: “I long for the day when I can open the windows and feel a breeze blowing in and I am sure the dogs can’t wait for that too, as they sit by the window and sniff all day long watching the neighborhood.”

    • I know what you mean, I too, loved watching it snow, and then one day….I got really sick of it, sick of shoveling it, sick of the freezing temps, and now, I just want it all to end. On a somewhat sunny day, I open up the back door and the dogs sit by it for hours looking out. I know they can’t wait to “sniff” out an opened window. Soon, I keep telling them!

  4. Oh girl…you are just getting inundated with this crazy white stuff…ugh! Your puppies though are adorable playing in it! I love the sun shining thru the window on them…lovely! The huge house you are showing…is this yours or the house across the street from you? It is beautiful! I sure wouldn’t want to clean it though. LOL! Your pink boots ooohh la la. I have been looking for some cute cowboy boots…haven’t found anything that has tripped my trigger yet. Stay warm…its almost over with…spring is right around the corner!

    • That is an office building across the street from us. We actually had a weekend with no precipitation and we’re happy with that! Those are my hot pink rain boots that I found at KMart in the kids section. I wear a size 7 1/2 in womens and I can fit in a size 5 in kids and when I saw these hot pink boots, I fell in love! I use them for all the quick trips outside with the dogs as you can slip them on fast. You should look online at Dallas Shoe Warehouse (DSW.com) for your boots! They should have some! How is your weekend going?

  5. Oh Boy, you guys are really getting hammered with winter. At least Nikita and Bella are enjoying it. Love your little pink boots…I’m a sucker for foot photo’s ha. Are those toys all un-stuffed now? Buddy used to tear them up pretty fast. Have an awesome weekend Val.

    • I knew YOU would notice the boot photo! I did that one especially for YOU! Yes, Bella rips up the toys so fast that it is hard for me to keep up sewing them. Nikita has not ripped up any in a long time, but when they play tug of war with them, it is hard to stop the rips! Have an awesome weekend with the Hubby!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

