What’s For Dinner? Chicken Croquettes

CHICKEN CROQUETTES3

Making croquettes are a great way to use any leftover poultry or meat, but in my recipe I used chicken breasts.  I am always creating new things in the kitchen and these Chicken Croquettes are a huge hit in our house!

So let me get you started on how to create this fabulous meal…

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 oz. butter
  • 1 1/3 cups flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 oz. ricotta cheese
  • 2 chicken breasts, chopped
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese (or more)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 cup italian bread crumbs
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • oil for deep frying

INSTRUCTIONS:

Melt butter in a saucepan, stir in 1/3 cup flour and cook, stirring for about 30 seconds.  Whisk in milk and cook, stirring, over medium heat for 4-5 minutes or until mixture thickens.  Remove pan from heat and stir in ricotta cheese, chicken, cheddar cheese, and parsley.  Mix well to combine and refrigerate until completely cold.

Place bread crumbs and remaining flour in separate bowls and set aside.  Shape your chicken mixture into croquettes shapes, roll each croquette in flour, then dip in egg and roll in bread crumbs.  Place on a plate and chill for about 15 minutes.

Heat oil in a large saucepan until hot and cook croquettes for 3-4 minutes or until golden brown.  Flip croquettes over to cook the other side too.

CHICKEN CROQUETTES1

CHICKEN CROQUETTES2

SIDE NOTE:  Each time I made these, it made quite a few – approximately 9-11 but it depends on the size of the croquettes you are shaping.  Just make sure you cook your croquettes long enough so they are not doughy and cooked thoroughly.

And, if this meal is not already yummy enough, you can try making as a side dish to go with your croquettes my Sliced Baked Potatoes!  Just wash off a few potatoes and slice your potatoes into thin slices, but don’t slice all the way through the potato!  Place potatoes in a small baking dish.  Pull open the slices on the potato a little so they cook evenly and brush with butter, oregano, and garlic powder.  Place in a 350 degree oven and bake for about 20 minutes.  Poke the potatoes after 20 minutes to check if they are done, if not, let them bake a few minutes longer.  You can also brush the potatoes again with melted butter, and when your potatoes are done to the touch, top them off with some cheddar cheese.

SLICED BAKED POTATO

And, just when things could not get any better… you can also make my incredible Chicken Dipping Sauce for your croquettes!

1/2 cup Mayonnaise
2 tablespoons Yellow Mustard
1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder
1 tablespoon Vinegar
2 tablespoons Honey
Pepper to taste

There you have it, a brand new dish for dinner, so when someone asks you “What’s For Dinner?” you’ll be ready to serve up a fabulous meal to your family! Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner? Chicken Croquettes

  1. I can’t imagine how you keep such a beautiful figure…LOL They do look yummy for me but my hubby does not like Ricotta Cheese (or parmassan or feta or blue cheese..HA) basically I use mozza or cheddar and very little of it. I think he’s from Mars LOL. I like potatoes….I haven’t baked potatoes forever, I’m going to put that in the meal memory bank!

    • I have made the chicken croquettes before without the ricotta and they were very tasty! You could add some cheddar and mozzarella instead! That chicken dipping sauce I made was fabulous, and if you make it a day ahead, it gets nice and thick in the fridge! I love coming up with new recipes! Did you ever look up on the blog the recipe for my Rolled Chicken? If not, you definitely need to do so. That is Roy’s favorite dinner!

      • I didn’t link over there, but I am awfully tired of my usual repertoire so I really should add something new. The other night we went out and I had Vegetarian Asian Wraps…it was veggies and noodles to wrap in giant iceberg lettuce leaves…..I have to try those at home…Jims a meat eater but I eat very very little. I do include turkey once or twice a week though.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

