52 Week Money Challenge

We all know it is hard sometimes to save money, but when I ran across this idea, I had to share it.  It is a 52 Week Money Challenge and since it is a new year, this is the perfect time to start this!

Here’s how it works:  Week one, you put $1 away.  Your account balance is now $1.  Week two, you put $2 away, your account balance is now $3.  With each new week that arrives, you put that dollar amount away and your account balance increases.  At the end of 52 weeks, you will saved a total of $1,378!  You could use this money for Christmas, or to pay off some bills, but whatever you want to use it for, it will for sure come in handy!

So, who’s in for the challenge with us?

Click here for a PDF of how the challenge looks on paper!

16 thoughts on “52 Week Money Challenge

  1. Oh, how I would love to be able to save money…. I have so much things to buy, that it is hard to get a little extra:( My daughter, church, household, bills, gas, etc. But, I will def try to do this. The most you have to put in is 52$ !!! I do love this idea. Thank you for sharing.

    • I thought it was a neat idea on how to save some money throughout the year, not to mention I love how much you will have saved if you follow this throughout the year! Good luck!

      • oh, ok 🙂 Well, I would love if you blogged about it ever couple weeks or whatever. I am going to try & attempt this! Starting the next time I get paid! I am going to catch up:)

      • That is awesome and good luck! I know that it will be hard on future weeks when the dollar amount gets larger, but at least it is worth the shot at saving throughout the year!

      • Definitely no one is losing anything by trying. At the end of the year you could use it to pay off some bills or even for Christmas gifts. Either way, saving along the year makes it easier this way. I mean, you could also even put $1 away each week, but you’ll only have $52 at the end of the year and that is not much, but it is something saved, and that is a good thing.

  2. I’m back…..ha, got sidetracked this aft taking down my Christmas decor…HOLY, I’m still not done. I like how you’ve made a dedicated spread chart there, I think that’s a great way to reach a goal. I’m actually the poster child for saving money. I went thru a divorce in my 20’s and was left alone in a home with pets and an old vehicle….I had always been a good saver and got even better during that time. I could never live paycheque to paycheque, I would never sleep at night.

  3. It’s not too bad at the beginning when you are only putting away low numbers, but it will get harder as the weeks progress and you have to put away more money. I think if I were doing that in pounds sterling not dollars I would struggle. Nice idea tho’

    • I hear you on that point, but seeing what you could save in the end makes it worth it. Nothing is easy these days, but actually saving some money is always a good thing.

    • We are going to try doing this and since it is week two already, I’ve got $3 saved! Those huge house bills do hurt when they arrive, don’t they?! Share this idea with others too!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

