Salt Dough Ornaments

LOVE LETTERS1

It’s been a few years since I played around with Salt Dough, so I was more than excited to jump right in and make a batch.  Boy oh boy, was this a fun project.  I mixed one cup all-purpose flour, one cup salt, and 1/2 cup water to make the Salt Dough.  (you can double the batch if you are making lots of ornaments)

SALT DOUGH RECIPE

Mix together the flour and salt really well with a fork, then slowly add the water while still mixing with your fork.  Once all the water has been added, you can use your hands to knead the dough better.  Take out your rolling pin and roll out the dough.  On my first batch, I rolled the dough too thin and I did not like the results, so on my next batch I rolled the dough a little bit thicker.  (I did not measure how thick the dough was though)

SALT DOUGH CUTOUTS

LOVE LETTERS2

Now comes the fun part – – pull out all of your cookie cutters and start cutting out your shapes.  I used a star shape, a few different sized hearts, and since I did not have a circle cutter, I used the top of a Creamora bottle!  Remove your cutout shapes to a cookie sheet, but make sure that you have laid a piece of Reynolds Wrap Non-Stick aluminum foil on top of the cookie sheet so your ornaments don’t stick when you bake them.

LOVE LETTERS STAMP

Next, I took out my rubber stamps and a black ink pad.  I found two really nice stamps, one of them was a snowman (and I LOVE snowmen a lot) and the other was an awesome air mail love letters heart rubber stamp.  I also used some individual letter stamps to stamp out the “love u” on the heart ornament.  (these letter stamps are originally used for my cement projects, but I thought I could use them in making the ornaments)

FINISHED SNOWMAN

Now that the ornaments are on the cookie sheet, ink up your rubber stamp really well and gently press onto the top of the cut out ornament.  It is ok if the design on the rubber stamp goes off the edges of the ornament a little.  Make sure you use a straw to make a hole at the top of the ornament too so you can hang it!  Once you have all of your ornaments stamped, it is time to bake.  Bake your ornaments at 250 degrees and watch them closely as you do not want to burn them.  The thicker the dough, the longer you will have to bake them.  For my thicker ornaments, I baked them for around 20 minutes, but I still checked on them the entire time.

SNOWMAN STAR

CLEAR COATED ORNAMENTS

Let your ornaments dry.  If some of your edges are a little rough, you can use either sand paper or a nail file to file off some of the rough edges.  Once dry, you can add some color to them with either bright colored nail polish like I did with sparkles in the polish, or you can just leave them the way they are.  Get out your polyurethane and add a coat to the ornaments.  You may have to add a few coats depending on how shiny you want the ornaments.  Make sure you work in a well ventilated area or open a window so you don’t get woozy from the fumes!  Now, the final step is to just add a nice string or tulle to each ornament and they are ready to hang on your tree or attach them to a present!

ORNAMENTS DRYING

I had so much fun making these Salt Dough Ornaments and will definitely be making more!  The possibilities are endless and I can see myself heading to the craft store soon to check out the rubber stamp section.  You can also use a colored stamp pad too if you want your design in color, instead of just using a black ink pad.  What amazed me is that the ink did not smear when I put the polyurethane on it, which I thought was going to happen, but it did not.  Perhaps the ink baked into the dough when it was baking.  Also, look at the photo’s to see the detail that showed up from the rubber stamps!  This will definitely be a project that I will do again, and for other holidays too!  Valentine’s Day, Fourth of July, Shamrocks for St. Patrick’s Day, etc.  The possibilities are endless, just be creative and have fun!

LOVE LETTERS SMALL HEART

SALT DOUGH COLLAGE

7 thoughts on “Salt Dough Ornaments

  1. HI, THANKS FOR THIS FUN POST. I am interested in the stamp you used that is an air mail heart stamp. Would you tell me who makes the stamp? The stamp company and the number on the stamp would be very appreciated. Cheers, Cecilia

    • Hi Cecilia! Glad you liked the post! They were really fun to make and easy too! I am hooked now and will be definitely making more of these! Here is the information on the side of my stamp: hand crafted in the USA, Exclusively by inkadinkado – bar code number is 725718589370, then there is another number of 8937.M, not sure what that number is. Hope you can find this stamp!

  2. Those are so cute Valerie. I have boxes of stamps and now my mine is whirling. I’m so behind on Xmas but like you said, can do Valentines or Easter. I love your Airmail stamp. Thanks for sharing, you’re a little creative Elf.

    • Creative Elf is correct! LOL Like I said in the post, I was surprised that the ink did not smudge when I put the clear coat on it. It is amazing on how they turned out. I’ve got all of them on our tree right now!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

