Mod Podge Coasters

MODGE PODGE COASTERS3

MODGE PODGE COASTERS

MODGE PODGE COASTERS2

Mod Podge projects are all over the internet, but I finally decided to give it a try.  I am in love with the results!  When I was at the Dollar Store the other day, I noticed that they had individual coasters with a nice cork bottom, so I picked up two of them to try out my Mod Podge.  I had a pack of 20 holiday folksy Santa napkins sitting around and decided to cut up one of the napkins for this project.

I opened up the napkin and placed my coaster on top, then drew with a pen an outline on the napkin, then cut out the Santa.  I took my Mod Podge Gloss Lustre and squeezed a few drops all over the top of the coaster and spread the glue around with a small sponge.  (you have to work quick as the Mod Podge dries fast)  I then placed the cutout Santa napkin on top of the glue and rubbed my fingers gently over the top to remove any bubbles.  (since you are working with a napkin as your design, you need to be careful as to not rip it when removing any air bubbles)  Let it dry for at least 15-20 minutes.  After it was dried, I squeezed a few drops of Mod Podge on top of the napkin and spread the glue around and also spread the glue around the edges of the coaster as well.  Let this step dry, then apply a second top coat of Mod Podge.

There you have it, a nice holiday Santa Coaster!  I am hooked on Mod Podge and will definitely have to pick up more coasters!  Don’t forget that you can use cute scrapbook paper, photographs, and any other design for your Mod Podge projects as these would make some great gifts!  I can already see some adorable Valentine’s Day coasters in my future!

4 thoughts on “Mod Podge Coasters

  1. You know, I remember long time ago seeing an episode of Rosie O’Donnell (way back) and she had on Ashley Judd and they were Mod Podging. I thought, hey that’s cool, I had never heard of it. I love surfing Pinterest, good for you for actually doing something you’ve Pinned, very cute Valerie.

    • I have heard of Mod Podging for quite some time now, but just recently purchased it, and I also picked up Mod Podge Dimensional Magic and this stuff is awesome too. Dimensional Magic has a long slender nose to the bottle and you just squeeze it out on your item. I goofed around with this and put some on top of something I printed out in color and it made the color pop and dried nice and shiny too! I will be doing more projects with Mod Podge for sure now!

      • Oh yes Valerie, I’ve seen the Mod Podge Dimensional Magic used for making stuff in pop bottle caps..the old metal ones. Cute when they’re finished. I guess you’d glue a magnet on the back and could use as fridge magents. Or I just found this cutie on Pinterest (of course). Too many things to make my crafty friend.

      • I checked out your Pinterest link and I love it! Thanks so much for sharing! I also finished yet another Pinterest project I found and did a tutorial on it today – let me know what you think! 🙂

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

