If The Shoe Fits

Everyone loves a bargain, right?  We try to make our dollar stretch, and I have found a way to do just that while shoe shopping.  I know, you are probably thinking to buy shoes only that are on sale, well, that is one way, or you can head to the store right now and try out my theory and see what you think!

For years now, I have been saving money like crazy while shopping for both clothes and shoes, and I figured that I would share my theory with you so you can save too!  One day while shoe shopping, I noticed a really adorable pair of kids shoes that I wished they had in my size and then I thought…. “hey, what if I tried on a few pairs to see what size I fit into“.  Well, I did just that, and found out that a kids size 5 or 5 1/2 fits me and I wear a size 7 1/2.  So, from that day on when I need to shop for a new pair of shoes, I always check out what the kids shoe section has in stock.

For example, I was recently at KMart and they had a section in the kids shoe aisle that showed the shoes were 70% off, so I just had to take a peek.  I immediately looked at all the shoes that were either 5 or 5 1/2 and found a pair of Girls Everlast Sport shoes.  The original selling price was $17.99, and it had a sale price tag over the original price for $9.99, and with the 70% off, these shoes actually cost me $2.99.  WOW!  Now that is a bargain, right?

My $2.99 Pair of Everlast Sport Shoes

Wouldn’t this make you want to check out the kids shoe section now?  I did the same thing for my hot pink pull on rain boots, as I picked up a size 5 and they fit me perfectly.

I have also done the same thing when I am searching for winter sweaters or zip up jackets.  Target and Walmart have some great clearance sections in the young boys or girls departments where you can find some really great deals.  For me, I wear a small in sweaters, so in the kids department, I look for either large or extra large and the sweater fits me perfectly.  I have some sweaters that I have had for years and they still look brand new, and since I got them for a bargain price, it was all worth checking out these clearance sections in the kids department.

So the next time you are shopping, and I am sure you will be doing that shortly with the holidays coming up soon, take a peek in the kids department and see if you can pick up some great deals for yourself!  For the price it would cost you to buy just one sweater in the woman’s department, you can pick up a bunch of sweaters in the clearance area in the kids department.  Let me know if you can find some good bargains too!

2 thoughts on “If The Shoe Fits

    • I wear an adult 7 1/2 shoe and I can fit into a Girls size 5 or 5 1/2. I was amazed myself, but I have picked up lots of great deals by doing this, not to mention lots of cute flip flops! As for clothing, I wear a size SM in tops, so I just pick up a L or XL and they fit me perfectly! The cost savings is amazing!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

