I Had A Heart Attack In The Backyard

I woke up this morning to hear the kitties banging on the door for food, typical morning routine for me to hear, and it wasn’t even 8:30a yet.  I got up and took the dog outside for her morning constitutional…and had a heart attack in the backyard.  I stood there holding the leash for the dog, started gasping for air, screamed, and ran over to my flower garden.  What I was looking at was nothing.  I say nothing because that is what I saw.  In the place where our huge Red Warty Thing Pumpkin once stood only yesterday – it was gone, all gone, just the root of it was lying there on top of the dirt.  The netting that I gingerly wrapped around it each and every night was pulled off and on the ground.  The deer ate our entire Red Warty Thing Pumpkin last night all the way down to the root, “someone is going to pay” and we want REVENGE! 

We are so pissed right now as that pumpkin was doing so well and as we have mentioned before, that we have never seen a pumpkin grow with such a huge stalk before so we were really excited about this pumpkin.  It even had little runners starting and flowers were starting to form.  You can’t have anything these days without some sort of critter or deer eating what you have grown.  It is disheartening nonetheless.  Revenge is what we have on our mind this morning.  RIP Red Warty Thing

Here is the photograph of our Red Warty Thing – Two Days Ago

Now, here is what we found this morning

6 thoughts on “I Had A Heart Attack In The Backyard

  1. I understand the feeling. I had a stray cat that brought in five kittens and they all destroyed my fairy garden – digging up the plants, using the potty in the garden and moving the mulch all around. Everything died. I was heart broken as I have planted that garden in the dedication of my mother who had died the previous year. I am now trying to rebuild, however, other stray cats keep coming and I am having a hard time keeping them away from my fairy garden.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

