An Encounter with the Jolly Guy in the Red Suit

I woke up today from my warm snuggly bed (had a nice warm spot going), woke up Mommy by smacking her in the eye with my paw and met Daddy in the kitchen for breakfast.  A typical normal weekend day has begun.  I overheard Daddy & Mommy talking, and since I’m a dog, I only pick up certain key words and I definitely heard the words “bye bye”.  Bye bye?  I’m ready!  When are we going and where?  Well, Daddy ended up telling me that they were taking me to PetSmart today to see Santa.

My first thought was…”Oh no, not the guy in the red suit again!”  I remember meeting him for the first time last year when I was a little puppy and that encounter did not go well.  I was so scared of that jolly guy, not sure why, but even the treats he had in his pocket could not ease my fears of him.  Well, this year was no better. 

I was fine when I entered PetSmart, said hello to my friends at the cash register where I normally beg for treats, woofed them down and moved on to see what else was going on in the store.  We entered the area where they were taking photographs with Santa and all seemed fine to me, for now.  I said hello to all the nice girls at the table, snagged a few more treats from them, got a few butt rubs and I was in heaven, until I turned around and saw…him!  Oh no, there he was, that jolly guy in the red suit!  Crap!  Let’s go home I thought immediately, but Daddy and Mommy pulled me closer to him.  Geez, what is my problem with this jolly guy in the red suit anyway?  He was actually super duper nice to me when he met me today and he even sat down on the floor to try to comfort me before we took our pictures.  He tried to calm me down, but my little heart was racing like crazy as he still scared me – maybe it’s his beard that I don’t like?  Well, we tried to get situated to take our first picture and everyone could tell that I was scared as my ears were down and my tail was between my legs and even all the toys the nice ladies were squeaking were of no comfort me. 

Mommy and Daddy stood to the side while all of this was going on, but they were near enough so I could see them, phew…because the sight of Daddy and Mommy was a huge comfort to me.  Mommy even snapped a bunch of photographs of me while all of this was going on, just to make sure that we got enough good photos of my traumatic day with Santa.  Just when I thought that we were all done with photos, Daddy and Mommy joined in and got some photo’s with Santa too.  Daddy snuggled on the bench with Santa and then grabbed me into the photo, then Mommy got to sit on Santa’s lap too! 

Before we left, Santa came over to me and told me that it was nice to meet me and that I was a good little girl and that I should remember that “He” is the one who brings me all of my toys and treats under the tree on Christmas.  Wow, I should have been nicer to this jolly guy, but I do want to thank him for being so nice to me today – He was the “best” Santa I ever met and I hope that he too has a wonderful Christmas & a Happy New Year.  I also want to thank Daddy and Mommy for taking me to see Santa today and giving me all the love in the whole world, as I am one lucky puppy.

Hugs & wet puppy kisses to you Santa!
Love, Nikita

8 thoughts on “An Encounter with the Jolly Guy in the Red Suit

  1. You are sooooo cute!!!! I wish I could get Truble to be good enough to visit Santa. Unfortunately he only wants to “taste” Santa. (I guess he smells like Cookies and Milk).

    • HI AUNTIE RENE! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE CHRISTMAS PRESENT! DADDY BROUGHT IT HOME ON FRIDAY FOR ME. I AM NOT ALLOWED TO OPEN IT YET, SO I DON’T KNOW WHAT IT IS, BUT I AM SURE THAT I AM GOING TO LIKE IT. THANK YOU FOR THINKING OF ME. LOVE YOU! NIKITA

      • You know the song. Better watch out, better not cry, better not shout I;m telling you why Santa Paws is coming to town!!! By Disney

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

