The Hungry Deer

There is definitely an over-population of deer in our community, as we can tell by the herds of them who graze all over the neighborhood in the dark of night.  Last night was no different, while we were all enjoying a good butt-kickin game of Wii Life, I jumped up from my nice dog nap as I sensed something was wrong outside.  I ran to the window and went absolutely nutso!  Deer were in the front yard walking towards the front porch where we have our pumpkins, and over the weekend they started to eat the front of Daddy’s homegrown pumpkin.  My barking and growling detered them last night to save Mommy’s pumpkin, but I am sure they will be back.  We just can’t believe that once the deer started munching on Daddy’s pumpkin over the weekend, that by the time Monday morning arrived, his whole pumpkin was GONE!  Nothing was left….they ate the whole entire 20.4 pound pumpkin!  WOW!  Once I saw the deer out in the yard last night, I did not take any more naps, because I knew they were lurking in the shadows of the night, so I waited and waited for their return.  And return they did!  When Mommy and I looked out the kitchen window we could not believe that a deer was standing right there in front of the window now eating the red berries off the bushes!   Darn deer!  What amazes me is that the deer almost ruined the growth of Daddy’s pumpkin in the first place, and now, they finished it off…literally!   I hope the pumpkin gave them a tummy ache!

4 thoughts on “The Hungry Deer

  1. WOW, Nikita, this is amazing! I have never seen a deer close up, so this is exciting for me to see your picture! My Mommy, Daddy, and Brother have seen many a deer but not one in our yard. Our next door neighbor said that one day when I was the only one home, a deer was in our yard and jumped over the fence. I did not see it or hear it. There are deer VERY close to where we live. And, two of them, on two separate incidences, made appearances in people’s houses going through the front window! So, be VERY careful!! I’m sorry that the deer ate your Daddy’s pumpkin! It seems that they had it in for your Daddy’s pumpkin from the start! (The story and fate of Nikita’s Daddy’s pumpkin!) I don’t know your Daddy personably, but I know that anything that your Daddy would grow would be DELICIOUS because it was grown with LOVE! And, actually, pumpkin is supposed to be soothing to a tummy and digestive track, at least to a dog’s! Did the deer eat the wax candle or light in the pumpkin? I would think that THAT would give them a tummy ache! And, they would glow in the dark! LOL Lots of Puppy Kisses!! Harmony XO

    • YEAH, DADDY WAS NOT TOO HAPPY THAT THE DEER ATE HIS PUMPKIN. THEY TRIED EATING MOMMY’S PUMPKIN AGAIN LAST NIGHT AND ONLY KNOCKED IT OFF THE PORCH AND INTO THE BUSHES, SO I GUESS THEY COULD NOT GET TO IT. HA HA YEP, THE FATE OF DADDY’S PUMPKIN WAS DOOOOOOMED FROM THE START BY THE DEER. WE HAVE PLANS TO PUT UP A CHICKEN WIRE FENCE NEXT YEAR TO KEEP THEM OUT WHILE THE LITTLE SPROUTS AND VINES ARE GROWING. WE HOPE THIS WILL HELP! THE DEER DID NOT EAT THE CANDLE, AS MOMMY HAD A BRILLIANT IDEA AND ROLLED UP SOME WHITE CHRISTMAS LIGHTS AND INSERTED THEM INTO THE PUMPKIN. THIS WORKED OUT REALLY GREAT AND IT MADE THE PUMPKINS GLOW VERY BRIGHT TOO, NOT TO MENTION THAT THE LIGHTS DID NOT GET BLOWN OUT BY ANY WIND. WE HAVE HEARD THAT A DEER DID JUMP THROUGH THE FRONT WINDOW OF THE KMART BY US ONCE – CAN’T IMAGINE WHAT WOULD MAKE THEM DO THAT THOUGH. OUCH!

      • Maybe the reason that the deer jumped through the Kmart window was that it did not know how to make the front door open by stepping on the automatic door opener, and it wanted to get in to buy Santa a Christmas present! LOL! Hee Hee! Love, Harmony XO

      • LOL, NOW THAT IS FUNNY! OR MAYBE THE DEER HEARD OF THE “BLUE LIGHT” SALE THAT WAS GOING ON. THERE IS A DOG NAMED MAX IN OUR NEIGHBORHOOD WHO ACTUALLY WALKS UP TO KMART AND DOES WALK ON THE AUTOMATIC DOOR AND WALKS INTO KMART!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

