PetSmart HOWL-O-Ween Extravaganza 2011

Nikita's 2011 Halloween Costume as a Lion

The PetSmart Howl-O-Ween extraganza arrived today where I strutted my stuff for everyone in my handmade costume.  Sure, we could have purchased a costume for me, but we thought that we would attempt to make me one instead.  If you remember last year, I was only three months old when I headed out to my first photo shoot at PetSmart in my pink fairy costume with a handmade multi-colored fairy collar with beads and a frilly pink tutu. 

This year, we decided to change things up a little and I was turned into a Lion.  Endless hours were put into the preparation of my Halloween costume this year with many many “fittings” to which I handled them all like a trooper. (the treats afterwards helped too)  My costume consisted of different colored felt that we used for my mane and my floofy lion tail, a tan baby blanket was used for my body which we got at Pat Catans for a steal, and off white fur was used for my chest and my paws.  My mane was created by cutting one inch strips of the felt and metal flower stakes were glued to the back of each strip to make the mane stand up around my neck.  Next, the baby blanket (which worked out perfectly) was fitted to my body by velcro.  The white fur for my chest was then hand sewn onto the blanket, while other small strips of the white fur was attached to elastic that went around my paws.  Then, more strips of the felt were cut into 1/2″ strips and attached to my tail with a scrunchie.  A lot of thought and love went into the making of my costume, and I am thankful for all the hard work that was put into the making of it.  (Thanks Daddy for purchasing all of the material we needed for my costume)

So, now that my costume was done, I got all dressed up today and headed off to PetSmart with Daddy and Mommy to get my 2nd HOWL-O-Ween photo taken.  (Even Mommy sewed on a black bat to her shirt today!) A lot of other doggies and some kitties too showed up for the event.  I even passed out my blog card with a treat bag to all the doggies that I met, so they can stop by and see what I am up to!  I even saw a kitty there today that was dressed up like a squirrel, and that made me laugh.  Great costume idea though, but I don’t think the kitty liked it too much.  Another kitty was dressed up like a pumpkin and they were in a cage, and they certainly looked like they wanted to rip that pumpkin off so badly. 

The doggie costumes were awesome!  I could not believe all the cute ideas that people came up with on what to dress their pets up as.  One was a little fairy, another one was a bee, a cow, a bananna split, a batman dog, and two were sharks! (just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water, eh?)  We had so much fun today meeting all of the doggies and their owners and we hope that we get to see you again next year at PetSmart! 

Shown below are some of the doggies that I got to meet today and all of their awesome HOWL-O-Ween costumes. 

The cutest Fairy at PetSmart!

 

 

 

 

 

Shark Attack

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bananna Split Anyone?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bat Dog

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pumpkin Kitty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The smallest doggie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And last but not least, another awesome doggie having fun!

4 thoughts on “PetSmart HOWL-O-Ween Extravaganza 2011

  1. Thank you for taking such a cute picture of our Lily,” the cutest fairy at Petsmart”. You have a real knack for pet photography! It was a fun day. Lily was tired and taking a rest. The expression that you captured is adorable. All the other pet photos are great, too. Thanks again.

    • Hi Mike, Mary & of course Lily! We had a fun day too! Nikita slept too after we got home. I guess pretending to be a lion was too much for her! LOL Lily was so adorable and very photogenic. Stop by again to see what Nikita is up to! Wet puppy kisses to you!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

