Should Pet Owners be Required to Take a Test to Own A Pet?

Basking in the morning sun from kitchen window

Have you ever been out somewhere only to notice that a pet owner has left their dog in the car on a HOT day?  What did you do?  Did you just go about your business and not do anything?   I hope you didn’t.  I hope you picked up your cell phone and called the police to report this incident like a concerned citizen should.  I know that I don’t go with my Daddy & Mommy on car rides on a hot day when they have errands to do.  They know better NOT to leave me in the car on a hot day.  Parked cars are deathtraps for dogs: On a 78-degree day, the temperature inside a parked car can soar to between 100  to 120 degrees in just minutes, and on a 90-degree day, the interior temperature can reach as high as 160 degrees in less than 10 minutes.Animals can suffer brain damage or death from heatstroke in just 15 minutes. Beating the heat is extra tough for dogs because they can only cool themselves by panting and by sweating through their paw pads.

If you see a dog left alone in a car, take down the car’s color, model, make, and license plate number. Have the owner paged in the store, or call local humane authorities or police. Have someone keep an eye on the dog. Don’t leave the scene until the situation has been resolved.

Pet owners should be responsible, plain and simple.  Think first before taking your dog with you in the car.  By doing this, you will save your pet’s life! 

And, pet owners who walk their dogs around the neighborhood, should always pick up after your pet when they go on someone’s lawn.  This is a law in most cities (I know it is in ours), and not to mention, if you are the person who finds doo doo in your yard and you don’t even own a pet, it is frustrating.  Pick up the poop, it’s the law!  Don’t forget when you grab the leash, to also grab some bags!  I know that my Mommy yelled out the front window at some young girls one day who let their dog “go” in the front yard – then they started walking away.  Mommy yelled at them to pick up the doo doo, and they said that they did not have any bags on them, so Mommy ran out and gave them a bag and told them that they should carry bags with them to pick up after their dog as the city has ordinances on this.  I bet they will never forget this incident. 

As far as a required test for new pet owners, if a test of this sort would be required – – what should the test ask?  What questions should be on the test?  How do you enforce the new pet owner to carry through on being a good pet owner?  These are good questions and I would love to hear your feedback on this.  I can only speak for myself, but I know that my Daddy & Mommy treat me like one of the family and never put me in harms way.  I still remember the day that I got off my leash (accidentally) and Mommy was so scared and panicked that she would not catch me, she did – now that is a responsible pet owner, someone who cares and loves you.

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

