Never a Dull Moment Around Here

There is always something going on around here, projects are in the works at various stages as Mommy & Dadddy prepare for Halloween.  We have always wanted to have a really cool entrance on our driveway for trick-or-treaters to walk through, so we sat down and thought about how we could build something.  Mommy came up with the idea of taping boxes together since we always have tons of those around here to create the columns/pillars of the cemetery gateway.  In this photo, the boxes are already taped together and the “top cap” was made too.  She will add a bottom cap too but will finish that last since it has to be filled with weight (like either sand or bricks to hold the pillars up from strong winds).  Next, she painted gray primer on the pillars.  Looks pretty good, eh?  Now that the columns are done and painted, she is working on the “CEMETERY” sign that will go across the top of the two columns.  The cemetery sign will also have lights in it so the sign will glow at night.  I will post some more phots as we progress with our cemetery entrance.  What do you think of it so far?  Like we have said before, making Halloween props does not take a lot of bought items, but it does take a lot of creativity.   

I also had a little visitor the other day – his name is Lord.  He is a three month old Husky that our wonderful contractor, Mike, brought over to show us.  (Isn’t Lord adorable?)  Mike had to bring Mommy more sheets of wood because all of the Wood Tombstones that she has been making, are flying out the door on eBay!  We have had a great response to our handmade wood tombstones, and Mommy has had to make more to replenish the stock.  If any of you have an interest in purchasing one of these tombstones, you should place your order soon, so you can have time to paint them before Halloween!   You can view the tombstones here.

Mommy spent considerable time yesterday “mending” all of my toys that were in the “Pet Hospital” on top of the fridge and I was so happy to get them back!  By the time Daddy got home from work, I had all of them all over the house and it was hard to walk from the piles of plush squeaky toys.  I still have to learn how to put my toys away, but I don’t see that happening any time soon.  LOL  (Thanks Mommy for fixing my toys

Hey!  Did you know that Daddy’s pumpkin is now turning ORANGE?  Yep, it is!  We have been watching it slowly turn orange over the last few days and soon, it will be ready to pick.  Daddy is so proud of that pumpkin, and he should be.  He definitely is going to plant more next year!  If it weren’t for those darn deers eating the main runner back in August, we would have had more pumpkins for sure.  We are just glad that this one made it.  It just amazes us that on 8/10 it was only a little tiny thing with a big huge yellow flower on top of it, and now, we think it is about 10-12 pounds!  We will have to weigh it when we cut it off the vine to see how much it actually weighs. 

Aren’t you all glad that today’s Friday?  I am sure that Daddy is, as he was a little under the weather this week.  He has been fighting a cold all week which makes it tough to go into work every day, but he did.  What a trooper my Daddy is!  Just think Daddy, you can rest all weekend and get better and I’ll be sitting right by your side or snuggling with you in bed while you rest. 

I hope you have had a fun filled week like I did & a great weekend!  Wet kisses to you, Nikita

2 thoughts on “Never a Dull Moment Around Here

  1. Hi Nikita; it’s Harmony! Your Halloween decorations sure look awesome!! And, your Daddy’s pumpkin looks BIG! Don’t forget to take out the pumpkin seeds and prepare them for eating! (That is for your Mommy and Daddy to eat them; they are not doggy treats!!) Lord does look adorable! I wonder how he got his name? I have been catching up with your blog today. We have not had telephone service and internet. Mommy and I have been waiting and waiting at home for the telephone repairman to come. And wouldn’t you know it, the only time that either Mommy, Daddy, or Christopher was not home(They were at church.), the repairman came! I barked and barked trying to tell him that they were not home, and that he was supposed to call Daddy or Mommy on their cell phone first before he came, but he was not listening to me! Daddy ended up getting a phone call, so I guess he finally understood me! There was a short in our telephone wire somewhere in the ground between the green miniature Washington Monument box in our backyard and the utility pole all the way down at the end of our street. The man said that probably an animal, like a squirrel, chewed through the wire. Wait until I see that squirrel!! WOOF!! Instead of digging up the ground(I could have helped with that!)all the way to the utility pole at the end of our street, the repairman disconnected our phone from the bad wire in the “WM” and reconnected it to a good unused wire in the “WM”. (All at no additional charge; Mommy and Daddy are happy about that!) Now, we have telephone again(and telemarketers; Grrr!!), and internet(and Christopher can be at home to work on his college papers; Ruff!!; and I can keep in touch with my friend Nikita; Ruff!!)! I hope that your Daddy is feeling a lot better today!!! My Daddy was ill a couple of weeks ago, then Christopher was ill, then my Mommy was ill! My Mommy was healthy until as she said, “I let my guard down!” I am not sure what she means, but I think that it had to do with her worrying about Uncle Gary and Uncle Peter and all the flooding where they live! Everyone SEEMS healthy again, but I am kind of tired today. I did a lot of swimming yesterday, so I am one pooped pooch today! I think that I will go and take a nap right now before Christopher comes home from school, and Daddy comes home from work! It is so wonderful to be able to read your blog again Nikita!! Luv Ya Nikita!!! Woof, Woof!!! Harmony XO

    • HEY HARMONY & FAM! GLAD YOU GOT YOUR WIRE ALL FIXED AND YOU CAN KEEP UP WITH ME ON MY BLOG NOW! DADDY IS GOING TO USE HIS PUMPKIN SEEDS TO PLANT SO WE CAN HAVE MORE PUMPKINS NEXT YEAR. HIS PUMPKIN IS GETTING REALLY REALLY ORANGE RIGHT NOW AND SHOULD BE ALL ORANGE ANY DAY. IT HAS BEEN REALLY NEAT TO WATCH IT GROW AND TURN COLORS AS WE NEVER GREW PUMPKINS BEFORE. WE WILL DEFINITELY DO THIS AGAIN NEXT YEAR AND WE’LL HAVE TO CAGE THE PLANTS SO THE DEER WON’T EAT THEM! GLAD YOU STILL HAVE NICE WEATHER IN PA TO GO SWIMMING – THE WEATHER HAS BEEN QUITE COLD HERE THE LAST FEW WEEKS, SO NO SWIMMING FOR ME! (I HAVE NOT GONE SWIMMING EVER BEFORE, SO THAT WOULD BE A NEW EXPERIENCE FOR ME IF I DID) TELL CHRISTOPHER I SAID HI “WOOF” ! KEEP IN TOUCH & DON’T FORGET TO EMAIL ME HARMONY’S PHOTO SO I CAN DO A BLOG POST ON HER BIRTHDAY! PUPPY KISSES TO YOU ALL….NIKITA

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

