Blimps to Ice Cream Trucks – Things that Dogs Bark at

It amazes all humans what us dogs bark at.  They never seem to understand the reason why we bark at what we do, but we bark, it’s inevitable.  Sometimes it’s funny when we bark at what we see, sometimes we bark to protect, sometimes we bark at things we are uncertain about, and sometimes we bark at silly things, but all in all we are just being dogs. 

For example, I was looking out the window yesterday afternoon and I saw this huge thing in the sky – – so I barked and growled too.  Mommy asked me what I was barking at, and she could not see anything at the moment.  She thought that I was barking at something in the bush by the window, like perhaps a little bird or something, because I was looking up, so she investigated and saw the Met Life Blimp going over the house.  She ran outside to take some photographs of it as it circled the house, did a nose-dive turn in the air as it changed direction, and off it went into the cloud-filled sky.  REASON I BARK:  IT WAS HUGE, IT WAS SOMETHING I NEVER SAW BEFORE, AND IT RUMBLED IN THE SKY AS IT PASSED THE WINDOW. 

This icecream truck absolutely drives me crazy!  Everytime I hear the trucks music playing, I run to the window and bark at this thing.  It seems to go by the house a few times a day and since we have a park right by our house, he frequently stops there to sell his icecream.  REASON I BARK:  I BELIEVE IT IS THE MUSIC THAT MAKES ME GO NUTS.

I also have noticed that I can get my underwear in a bunch (not that I wear underwear, it’s just a saying) when I see anything hanging on a clothes line.  It does not matter what is hanging on the clothes line, like a towel, sheets, or a shirt, I just know that the last time I went outside those things were not there, so I bark & growl at them.  REASON I BARK:  TO TELL THOSE THINGS THAT I AM ON PATROL AND THAT I NOTICED THEY WERE THERE – DON’T MESS WITH ME BATHROOM TOWELS! 

Mommy and I had birthdays in the same week in July, and she got some helium balloons from Daddy.  I did not know what to do when I saw these things come into the house as they were dancing all over bouncing in mid air – so I barked at em!  What else would us doggies do in this case?  Geez, if we have never seen anything like this before, it would be normal for us to growl and bark at them.  They are still floating around right now, but they are getting closer and closer to the floor and drive me nuts when the wind catches them and make them move.  I run over to them (not too close mind you) and growl at em.  I don’t think I would ever get close enough to these things to bite them, because they are a little scary to me.  REASON I BARK:  UNCERTAIN OF WHAT THEY ARE!

There are so many other things that I have barked at including all small dogs that walk by the house, my reflection in the oven door, a pillow case that changed color (Mommy put a new pillow case on this one pillow and I noticed it had changed – so I barked at it), garbage cans by the curb, the gas grill, a paper cup blowing down the street, the smoothie maker (makes too much noise for me – I hate this thing), my reflection in the TV when it’s off, and the upright vacuum.  Those are just a few of the things that I bark at, as I am sure there are many more. 

What do you bark at?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blimps to Ice Cream Trucks – Things that Dogs Bark at

  1. I bark at my husband and my granddaughter and at my cats at times. I rarely bark at my puppy because his bite is worse than his bark!!

    • Ha Ha Ha, now that is really funny! Man, I would never bark at my Daddy, unless he was sneaking up on me and I did not know it was him. You never bark or bite the hand that feeds you! Woof!

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

