RESULTS: Pledge for Pets Radiothon

Allan Fee, Mommy, Daddy & Me

Hey everyone, it’s me, Nikita!  It was all about the pets… from every shape and size, doggie, kitty, bunny, or birdie, the 2011 Pledge for Pets Radiothon came to a close on Saturday, May 14th.  Jen Toohey and Allan Fee from Q104 were the on-the-air radio personalities that hosted this event at the Cleveland APL and helped raise donations that totaled $124,745.52!  That is absolutely outstanding and this money will go to such a great cause, helping all of the pets in need that can’t help themselves.  You see, all of these pets at the APL were either rescued from horrible conditions or were surrendered by their owners because they could not take care of them any longer, and all of your donations will help with their much needed medical care, food, water, and electricity for the building, and so much more. 

EVERY animal needs a second chance for love and a good home, EVERY animal at the APL has a story behind them (just like I do, as I was adopted from the APL and got a second chance for love & a good home), and their stories are heart-breaking as you listen to them.  You want to adopt them all, you just do, as every pet that the great people at the APL takes care of, they get attached to them so quickly, which is understandable because they are pet lovers with great big hearts!  I could not be happier with my new home & life with my Daddy & Mommy, and I got that chance for happiness the day I rode home with them & was sitting on my new Mommy’s lap.  I was going home…. to somewhere I would be loved, cherished, taken care of, played with every day, fed, and always knew that a spot would be saved for me at the foot of their bed for me to snuggle every night when I closed my eyes.  Pure happiness is what I got!

"Uncle Dave", Me & Daddy

Daddy, Mommy & I made a surprise visit to the APL on Saturday to check out the Pledge for Pets Radiothon.  We met a nice guy from the APL in the parking lot and he remembered me when I was a little puppy and said that he remembered me “smelling like fish”. (not sure what all that was about, but why did I smell like a fish? ) We also got to meet Jen Toohey and Allen Fee from Q104 (we even got to meet Glen Anderson on our way out, he’s the funny song guy at Q104) and Glen’s little cutie of a daughter even got to pet me!  When we walked into the room where the Radiothon was set up, I heard a voice say, “Nikita“! 

My APL Friend

Man, everyone knows me at this place!  I got to see all of my favorite APL friends, from Judy Hunter, to Sharon Harvey, my Foster Mom Brea, Uncle Dave (Dave was the nice guy that helped Daddy & Mommy adopt me, that’s why he has a special place in our hearts) and many others that just reached out and hugged me and was surprised at how big I got.   We hung around for awhile to watch the Radio Show live and it was the neatest thing that we ever experienced.  Some of the “Phone Bankers” that were taking the calls for donations even wanted to meet me, so I gladly strolled over to them, strutting my stuff (of course) to receive lots of hugs from them.  I even passed out lots of my blog cards to everyone that I met, so that they can now follow me and watch me grow up!  (One cannot have too many friends, or followers)  I even donated $1 and 2 puppy treats in a little bag to one of the Phone Bankers (even though I sniffed the bag a few times and kinda wanted my treats back), but I wanted everyone to know that Daddy, Mommy, and I personally collected for the APL a total of $174 + my $1 = $175 and we did our part as a Pledge for Pets Captains.  Every little bit helps and I wanted to personally thank all of the people who donated through our First Giving link for the APL – WE APPRECIATE YOUR DONATIONS & GENEROSITY!  

All in all, it was a great day for the APL, as your generous donations will make a difference in the care and welfare of a pets life, and ultimately….finding them a “Forever Home“.  Thank you APL for all that you have done for me, you will forever be in my heart!

Warm Puppy Kisses to you…
Nikita

4 thoughts on “RESULTS: Pledge for Pets Radiothon

  1. Goose pimples are when geese get acne! LOL Yeah, we all had a great time at the APL and I was happy to see all of my friends there, and even meet a few new ones! Just glad that Mommy & Daddy did not leave me there! ha ha One guy in the parking lot asked us when we were walking in if “we were dropping off or picking up?” I think he wondered if I was being surrendered – – HECK NO, my Mommy & Daddy love me waaaaay too much to do that! Hey Harmony…..don’t forget to send me your picture so I can put it on my blog! Woof Woof!

  2. Woof Woof back at ya! Thank you again for your donation too! It was a really neat experience to see behind the scenes for the Radiothon and meet the radio personalities. Everyone remembered me and was surprised on how big I got – and they all said I was so soft! One lady wanted to know if I used conditioner on my fur! LOL Tell Harmony I said “Woof”!

    • My Mommy says that my fur feels so soft too! That is, unless it gets stuck in the fibers of her clothes, and then she yells OUCH! She says that my ears feel really soft! When she pets my ears, it feels sooooo good; I get goose pimples!(At least that is what my Mommy calls them. What are goose pimples? And, do geese get ‘human’ pimples?) Anyhow, I’m glad that you and your Mommy and Daddy had a great time, and that everything was a BIG success! Woof Woof for now! Love, Harmony XO

Hey! While you're here, leave a comment!

